We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for a few nights.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Serangan Inn II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manggis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serangan Inn II
Silayukti, Manggis, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Manggis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok place for a few nights.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed there for a night on the way to Gili Trawangan. Big room with two nicely sized beds and a private bathroom on the balcony attached, only cold water & fan, for 150k including breakfast, which consisted of a poorly cooked pancake and a small cup of tea. Friendly staff. Nothing extraordinary but it's overall a good place to rest for a couple of nights on your way somewhere else. Free wifi with decent speed. PadangBai is a nice little settlement, didn't expect so many dive centres though. Nice snorkeling at the Blue Lagoon, and if you have to get tickets for the Gilis ask the staff at the reception we payed 400k return with a good company.
A bit noisy at night time because of the pub downstairs, but everything went quiet after 11pm.

Room Tip: Go upstairs, away from the noise and it's a bit fresher with nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were met off the bus by the owner who said he could do us a double room with breakfast for 150,000Rp. This was a fan room with cold water shower but I actually found it very comfortable. It was very clean and quite basic but had everything you needed. The staff and owners were very friendly and incredibly informative which we appreciated as it was our first trip to Bali. The breakfast was perfectly adequate, although a little odd, with us eating omelette sandwiches with both sides of the bread buttered! :-) We actually bought out round trip ticket to the Gilli Islands with them aswell and despite being a little nervous that once they had our money it might not turn out great, it was actually very good. We stayed with them on our return journey also. Agree with other guests that it can get a little noisy with the bar at night and then the infernal racket of the cocks crowing at daybreak but don't let that put you off. Highly recommended. Oh and make sure you get to visit the black beach, tiny slice of deserted heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs rooms as you walk in and I heard murmerings from other guests that the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights instead of going straight to Trawangan, and it was a great decision! Dont miss the white sand beach or the tiiny reggaebar next to the hotel! The room was cheap with okay breakfast and okay everything. You hear all the sounds from the bar next door and the cooks will wake you up but well, its a cheap room so you cant really complain!

Room Tip: At the 3 floor! Nice breakfast views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for a night 2 person to a room at 300,000 Rupiah. Initially, the owner wanted to charge us at 400,000 for a night and she put it down to 300,000 as she said since the driver is a friend of hers, 300,000 was ok.

The location was good, great deal if you were at the top floor spacious with aircon, 10 minutes to the blue lagoon and accessible trips (boat) to Gili island. The deal came with free wifi, breakfast with a choice of crepe or toast/ coffee or tea.

However, couples of bars across the streets were in live band "mode", playing till 11pm or so. Kind of noisy in a sense where ferryboats sound their regular departures from 5am onwards? and religious ceremony announce first devotions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cockerels crow, scuba tanks hiss and clank, ferryboats sound their regular departures and religious leaders announce first devotions, and still no sign of the sun. Padangbai is a vibrant, bustling little port-town. I stayed here for most of July and looked forward to every eating experience,whether restaurant, warung or barrow. Being a watersports destination, after an exhilarating day, with most people anticipating the following morning, Pandangbai is fairly quiet by eleven, when the electronic music is stretching its final chords. Either enter the local rhythm, or use the ear-plugs any sensible traveller packs. Reminiscent of the Kuta and Sanur of old, Padangbai is a well-placed base to explore awesome Karangasem.
On a small rise, and adjacent to the seaside accommodation, Serangan Inn II (#2) has sweeping views over the town and port from the spacious balconies rooms open onto. All ceremonies, rituals and assemblies tend to move along the sacred way of Silayukti.
A range of immaculate rooms are on offer for less than thirty euros, and come with the expected Balinese breakfast. Putu and the charming people running this family concern are impeccably attentive and responsive to guests needs in this relaxed and friendly hotel, and are certainly part reason I'll be there again next year.
Padangbai warrants more than an overnight ferry-stop. A longer stay allows genuine interaction with the welcoming people of a town existing in its own right and providing tourists with easy opportunities to mingle with daily aspects of the Balinese reality. The Gilis are probably good too...

Room Tip: Not all rooms have satellite tv or A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, NT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As we arrived in Padang bai it was our first time. The driver stopped outside this hotel, we didn't know there was a main strip on-wards. We had a look at this hotel and we liked it very much!
Hot and cold water, air-corn, two good sized beds,view off the beach. The deal came with breakfast as well, which was nice pancakes, fruits and hot tea or chocolate!! For 2 people it was $300,000 RP which is $30 for two people.
Myself and dad didn't even notice the loud noises unless we where outside at night but we just closed the door and herd no noise and plus we kind of had a couple of drinks off arak on the beach with a nice guy who owned the little sandy drinking area area :)
This hotel is great, walking distance from everything in the village!!
I am staying here again!
The family are very nice and will help you when needed!!
The rooms are cleaned everyday as well!!
This is a good home stay!!
Close to everything but good distance from everything!!
I would recommended this hotel to anyone when they go!!
Great family service and help when needed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

After a week on Nusa Lembongan we headed to Padang Bai on Bali ("is that canoe supposed to be our boat across the open seas" haha thats another story!). While looking at one guesthouse we got chatting to Putu who's family runs the Serangan Inn II up the hill. My wife went and checked the place out and thought it looked like great value with nice views over the town and beach. However looks can be deceiving, what we didnt realise was the noise at night. There are a couple of bars across the street that play to about 11pm or so, however on the first night there was an important religious ceremony happening down the street that went to 5am so sleep was poor. On the second night the bars across the street finished about 11.30pm but after these 2 nights - we were tired! So when Putu told us the next morning that they had to refill the water tanks on the top floors (where we were) and it would be noisy we asked that it be stopped by 9pm. When we came home from dinner a little after 9pm we asked could it be stopped and they promised us it would be within an hour. Unfortunately at midnight the sound of loud waterfalls was still going, I had to wake Putu's father to stop it and he clearly wasnt happy - but either was I. The following morning we checked out.
I think we were unlucky in that the ceremony and the water re-filling wouldnt be regular events (the bars across the street are), but they should have stopped the water situation (it had been going all day).
In terms of the rooms - they were old and basic but very large and clean. They were supposed to have hotwater but it didnt tend to last more than 1-2 mins.
Brekkie was a basic offering (jaffle/pancake) but good to be included.
Its a shame to have to give a basic review especially as young Putu was a nice guy who clearly tried hard but our 3 day stay just didnt gel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serangan Inn II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serangan Inn II

Address: Silayukti, Manggis, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Manggis
Also Known As:
Serangan Inn Ii Hotel Padangbai
Serangan Inn II Manggis, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serangan Inn II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Serangan Inn II to your Saves list