We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh no!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Cottages to your Saves list
Garden View Cottages
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh no!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I would not recommend this accomm to anyone. The first night I arrived at midnight and was put in what can only be described as an old time losman - with a big hole in the roof that anyone could climb into. It took me most of the next day to demand the superior room that I had paid for. Lots of familes, which meant not a lot of space in the pool, and lots of tiles missing off the pool. A rooster that is so confused it goes off all hours of the night and day. The location was good and central and not very far from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    56
    26
    16
    17
See reviews for
34
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kalgoorlie wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at garden view for two weeks, it is a great place to stay! Staff are very friendly and we kept in touch with a few people from there. They were closing down for renovations but when we went back 6 months later they were still open and we were very dissapointed that we didn't stay there. Breakfast was simple but nice. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, we had a problem with our toilet but staff had it fixed quickly. I would definately reccomend this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel. The staff really made our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We have stayed at Garden View many many times - in fact it used to be one of our first choices. But over the last 18 months - 2 years, we feel as if the Hotel has lost some of it's charm.

The rooms have become dirty with many issues in our rooms during our 3 week stay (leaking air con,air con being turned off by security, doors not locking). The up side to this hotel is the STAFF. They are friendly, helpful and always great you by name.

On a recent trip we noticed (June 2010) Garden View have leased the front bar and a new Nightclub, Sports Bar is going in - this will make the Hotel very noisy.

Great location with some excellent shopping and tour options across the road. Be sure to go and see the girls at Jenny and Pauls'for a massage (EXCELLENT VALUE), Bobbie at La Monde can help you with night life and is an EXCELLENT Tattoo Artist, the boys at Whatever Bali Tours can sort out all of your tours, motorbike/car hire needs - ask for Smiley, and Ketut in the DVD shop will always be honest with the quality of the DVD's.

We probably wont stay at Garden View again, we don't beleive it is good value for money any longer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. Anything that didn't work in the room was fixed straight away (the dvd player only played in black and white). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great prices for food and beverages. This is a budget hotel and you pay for what you get. We got a great time...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We have 3 young chidren and have stayed at the garden view 3 times now, and will continue to stay there over and over again.
If you have any concerns with your room upon arrival, all you have to do is mention it to staff and they will fix it.
We stay in the upstairs apartments and find it lovey, it's new, quiet and clean.
Staff are absolutely gorgeous people who never forget your name, and always laugh and play with the kids.
Location is awesome, 2 min from the beach and shopping at your doorstep.
Keeping in mind this is a budget motel, you really couldn't ask for better value for money!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, nsw
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Just got back and was very impressed with the place considering it is a budget accomadation, we had a deluxe room, aircon worked, bar fridge worked, room was clean as was the bathroom, staff are so friendly and helpful, food was good but a little over priced compared to out and about, We are heading back there in three weeks

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Cottages

Address: Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Garden View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Cottages Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.