We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sttayed many times...value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Cottages to your Saves list
Garden View Cottages
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sttayed many times...value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Ttis trip ( our18th) to Bali, we had friends with us who had never been before.

We choose GV because it is cheap good value for money. Staff are friendly, pool bar is great to meet others and hear their travel stories.

Breakfast....eat o ly if you have too! There are so many other options to eat close by that are cheap and yummy!

Ynot bar is a great addition to the complex...easy to waste a few hours in there!

New restaurant out front the fine dining one....a few people got Bali belly so beware.

Go across the road and see Paula at Paula and Jenny salon, cheap massages!

Next trip booked a
For Feb 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    26
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

great cheap accom, really clean rooms & serviced everyday. The swim up bar was awsome, even served us real late at nite, Great size pool, staff very friendly. Would recomend to all on a budget

Room Tip: Couples would need to upgrade to a superior room with king bed, average room had 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa,India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was referred to this place by a regular and was sceptical of the place due to its location and comparatively bargain rate.The entrance was also a little eerie and almost missable , but once e got to the place we were pleasantly surprised ! The Pool was huge and clean, and we met a load of regulars that raved about the place, the location was 5 mins from the beach and 10 mins to the main Kuta street , but still quiet enough to be romantic in the midst of the madness that is Bali during Lebaran, The rooms were basic , the A/c was a little too cold and was tough to tone (which is a good problem) , the breakfast was nice , ample parking , service was average , but considering the place was very safe and secure and good access to very good bars and the Brilliant "take "overall defintely a place , worth coming back to everytime!

Room Tip: leave the room early and spend loads of time by the pool...simply awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 19 nights in September 2011, and honestly cannot fault it. Breakfast is great if youlike eggs, but I substituted for banana pancakes every morning and was very happy. It is right in the thick of things, straight out onto a busy street, Y!! Sports bar at the entrance and Pavone fine dining backing on to the resort. We stayed in a Superior room, which was fantastic, but I thnk next time a standard room will do, after all, you are only there to sleep. Clean sheets and towels every day, which is better than home. Real value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth (Tasmania), Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Before booking with Garden View Cottages I was abit cautious about staying here after the bad reviews. I thought, its cheap, its close to everything so why not. We arrived here at midnight and the staff were very friendly and had a choice to stay in the standard or deluxe room. There wasnt much of a difference so we stayed in the standard. It had everything we needed and it was clean. The towels maybe old but atleast they are clean.
The loaction is perfect it is close to everything, best choice.
The pool was clean and it also had a bar which was awesome.
The staff were friendly.
Our rooms got cleaned everyday.
This place is extrememly cheap - so if your expecting something nice like these last reviews book else where because i had a great time.
Food - I actually enjoyed the food, I came to Bali to try the traditional Balinese food, it was delicious, better off eating balinese food then eggs on toast as I can do this at home - or go else where otherwise.
People who made bad reviews seem to expect high expectations.. ur in Bali - A third world country, hostels and hotels I experienced in Aussie were by far WORST!!
If your a traveller and want to experience something on the cheap - this place is awesome :)
Thank you Garden View Cottages

Room Tip: Excellent Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of Legian . The superior rooms are the ones to stay in .Very roomy and clean . Only negatives are breakfast is not soo good as others have stated and you only get 1 pillow each and that pillow is quite old and lumpy , otherwise the pool and pool bar and rooms are great and good for the price.

Room Tip: choose a superior or deluxe room , they have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I cannot believe all the negative comments about this hotel! We (6) of us have just returned after a 10 day stay. 2 deluxe rooms and 2 superior. Firstly this resort is very very clean, the staff are fantastic. Our rooms where cleaned daily, and yes towels might be a bit old but so are mine at home. The grounds are very well kept, and pretty. The pool bar was always a buzz. Happy hour from 3-5 with music and plenty of atmosphere and cheap! Breakfast was great, not 1 complaint from any of us or any other guest. Made and dedek made it very enjoyable every morning. We have all been to bali many times and we found this to be 1 of the best. If your looking for 5 star then stay elsewhere, but for us it was perfect. And the price was great too. We all booked thru bookings .com no problems at all.

Room Tip: Dont go for standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Cottages

Address: Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garden View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Cottages Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.