We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to recommend this one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Cottages to your Saves list
Garden View Cottages
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at a deluxe room here at the Garden View Cottages for a week in June 2011 and would be happy to return here again.

We booked online with Agoda and when we arrived there was no booking for us (not the hotel's fault)... luckily they had a deluxe room for us to go into though only with a double bed (I was holidaying with my sister, I love her, but didn't want to share a bed with her for a whole week!). The reception staff quickly got us an extra bed at no charge, they couldn't have been more accommodating.

The room and bathroom was very spacious and clean. Beds comfortable enough, but the pillows a bit flat and over used. The bathroom towels were BRAND NEW, so new they had never been washed, they were snow white & fluffy, but no bathroom mat which really was needed once the floors were wet from showering. The aircon was great as was the fridge. The room had a TV (not a flat screen) and the reception on it was not the best, this didn't worry us as we didn't really want to watch it. The room also had a DVD player. The room also had a great little balcony to sit out on. Water jug for drinking filled up each day. Rooms cleaned each morning, but they did leave a waste paper style bin outside our room door/steps to be collected later in the day... that was a bit strange we though!!

The hotel has FREE WI-FI available around the reception area. Does not reach to your room but plenty of places to go and sit and access the internet.

We did go and check out the standard rooms and they were shocking, most definitely would not stay in one of them (may appeal to the super duper budget no frills traveler but not me!).

The pool was nice & clean and had a swim up bar. The pool side loungers had seen better days though! The hotel gardens were beautiful and clean. We always found the staff to be polite and friendly.

We had breakfast once at the hotel. It was very basic indeed. The coffee was excellent but the food was below average and over priced for what you get. I'd skip brekky at this hotel and go to one of the many excellent restaurants closely situated to the hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent. Close to the beach, shopping and food and fun bars. The bar at the front of the hotel (the Y sports bar) is a great place to drink, listen to music or watch just about any type of sport. They have to die for slushies and were in the process of building a swim up pool bar. The Y bar also has free wi-fi and spotless toilets!.

So overall I'd say this hotel is excellent value for money (if you're in a Deluxe or Superior room). Great location. Clean and friendly!

Room Tip: Recommend the Deluxe room or Superior room only - give the standard room a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    26
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our first time stay at Garden View Cottages and also in Legian. My husband and I found the hotel to be in an ideal position. The staff were lovely, couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed in a deluxe room that was very roomy, but quite basic. The room had a king size bed, fridge, tv and dvd player. The room was very clean and air conditioning very good. The pool area was good and quite clean although it was lacking in lounges around the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

my husband and i have been to Bali about 15 times we stayed at
Garden view Cottages Legian as all our favorite hotels were booked out. I dont know how people can write that this hotel is clean and the staff are friendly there are so many better hotels for the same price. First the front desk were very rude and not welcoming we got to our superior room it was ok lots of room. Fridge was so rusted that you could put your finger through the door went to get into bed and the sheets were not clean had blood on them made them come and change them but there was always stains on every set of sheets the pillow must of been at least 20 years old all lumpy, the towels were all stained i know in bali that the white towels can look a bit grey but these were disgusting. Also i have never been to a hotel not even in Bali where the staff walk around smoking and drinking and playing pool. the grounds were dirty after cleaning someones room they would throw the rubbish on the ground outside the room and this would stay there till the next morning. One morning at 8am we were sitting on our balcony when the staff had cleaned someones room where they found alcohol in a bottle and one boy drank what was left in it. Hence i had to call reception at 2pm as our room had not been cleaned. The shower you had to turn on and wait at least 15mins till the hot water came through. Yes some people might tell you that this hotel has been renovated but i would not tell my worst enemy to stay here it is the pits

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

After a less than satisfactory experience at another hotel in Legian, we shifted to Garden View. I had stayed there a couple of times several years ago, since then there has been renovations and I recommend the hotel on the basis of clean, spacious superior rooms and friendly staff. In Particular, the reception staff who bent over backwards to fit us in for an unexpected 9 nights and appeasing me in my desparation to change hotels.

Room Tip: Superior romm recommended for US $10-15 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I read the reviews on trip adviser prior to travelling, and to be honest I wasnt expecting much - but it was cheap and in a good location and had been recommend by a friend.
There was quite a mix of ages at this property, from groups of surfers, to elderly couples..I didnt really see any families to be honest though, i think it would be fine (especially because the rooms would be spacious enough!)
I stayed in the lead in 'Superior Room' as well.

GOOD POINTS
- Great central location in Legian, but set back off the street so you are not affected by traffic or noise
- Basic, but clean and comfortable accommodation with AC
- Great service! Our rooms were cleaned every day ie. new sheets, new towels and floors washed every morning
- Great value for money!!!!
- Pool area was very relaxing and had a swim up bar as well
- Staff were always friendly, outgoing & helpful
- This accommodation has a great location to shops, bars and is just down the road from Legian Beach, and within walking distance to Seminyak shopping area as well (which is a lot more hassle free) All in all a great experience!! :)

The only thing I didnt like was the fact that the windows couldnt be opened and the windows had no fly screen - and that is just because I dont like AC. On check in, the hotel staff had a bit of trouble recognising the booking.com reservation page. They can only charge your card in Rupiah not USD as booked on booking.com. So this can take a bit of fiddling around, and at 11pm when we got there, you never care what they charge you just want to get into your room :)

Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Suprisingly a Pleasant and Relaxing Stay

Knowing it was a lower star hotel I was a bit dubious in staying however, the staff and the hotel grounds made it absolutely lovely to stay in.

When we first checked in we were informed that the pool was being renovated and wouldnt be ready for a couple of days, we werent informed of this through the travel agent so it was a bit disappointing but due to this they placed us in a superior room.

The rooms were spacious and always clean and comfortable. Great air conditioning too! Friendly staff always made it pleasant to walk through the grounds.

When the pool was up and running we had full use of the pool bar facilities and it was fantastic!! Great atmosphere and the food from the restaurant was up to standards too!!

All in All ... it was a great experience especially since it was my first time over in Bali and once again the staff were always happy and smiling and willing to assist whereever possible!


:)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was the last minute booking I made but they had rooms on the Easter weekend. The price was a lot lesser than most hotels in the vicinity of Legian beach in Kuta. The hotel is on the side lane from the main road leading to the beach, which is good because you dont want to hear the music and noise from nearby restaurants when you want to retire back to your room. The rooms are little cottages, have AC, spacious room and spacious bathroom. The place also has a pool, pool bar and wifi like any big resort and it is 2 minutes walk from the beach. What else can you ask for? I am surprised the hotel is not so popular in terms of booking. Seems like people want high priced rooms to believe the room is good. I needed to cancel 2 nights booking and head back home for an emergency and the hotel manager agreed and spoke to the booking agency to refund also. I am more than happy to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel on the side lanes to get great vs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Cottages

Address: Jalan Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Cottages Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.