We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Damai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Legian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Damai
Save
You added Puri Damai to your Saves list
Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Bonnet Bay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely, will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

All good, had a great stay here. Right through from the booking to check out everything went smoothly. Great staff, everything was offered and in working order, is an oasis that's right amongst everything you will need during your stay. Everytime friends and I used the pool it felt like we were the only ones staying there, it suited me perfectly as i'm not a big fan of the 'larger' hotels and as a solo traveler don't consider the villas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed in this excellent place for 6 nights. They now have a policy of no children under 16 but because I booked almost a year in advance we were able to say with our 17,15 and 13 year olds.

We had the smaller of the 2 bedroom units and this was more than enough space for us all. great bedroom with king size bed and ensuite for us, twin beds and ensuite for the girls (all upstairs) and downstairs in the separate airconditioned TV room they put a roll out bed for our son. There is also a separate toilet downstairs so very handy.

Staff are wonderful. They even did the dirty dishes that I left in the sink each day, which I didn't expect them to do! (made me feel guilty so I made sure I left them a tip to say thank you).

The location is wonderful. The actual street is quite small and quiet but its a very short stroll to double six and a longer but still easy walk to the beach front (just turn down a little alleyway next to Puri Damai and follow all the way to the beach).

Excellent choice for family accommodation for those (like us) who prefer not to stay in hotels and resorts.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I have stayed in Puri Damai, 2 times. I like it because it's small and feels private and quiet. Negative, for me the bathroom, its basic and there is absolutely no place to put any toiletries.

The only drawback for me is the price. Last year October I paid $ 47 for a 1 bedroom appartement. In October I paid $ 58. And the price is $ 69 at the moment. I am a bit disappointed about their pricing, its getting less and less attractive....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I'm a return visitor to Puri Damai & it's just as good. The garden has grown & is even better. Ayu Giri is still the most gracious & lovely hostess & the staff just as welcoming.

The owners are emphasising now that it is not a party place but a haven of peace & relaxation which is wonderful . ( The guests are now restricted to babies under 2 & people over 16 which cuts out the over excited & over active kids who are most welcome in other more appropriate places ).

A home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Puri Damai (meaning house of peace) is a charming little gem tucked away behind Legian Beach. The staff are very helpful and welcoming and definitely make you feel at home.

The apartments are cleaned daily and very comfortable. I particularly enjoyed having a kitchen and living area, which is useful when you feel like preparing a meal yourself or just relaxing back reading a book.

The pool is small but adequate and the gardens are lovely. The street where Puri Damai is located does get a bit of traffic (therefore noise) however it all quietens early evening.

It is worth noting that Puri Damia do not accept children aged 2 - 16 years and they also have strict house rules regarding drinking/drugs and loud disruptive behaviour. This is a place for people wanting to relax, not party. I will definitely be back, hopefully every year!
There is also a home delivery service available from Made's Warung (same owners) and I can highly recommend the Cap Cay (seafood or chicken) and the salsa with corn chips is amazing!! Whilst this is not a 5 star resort, the quality is excellent for what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is a place that you have to be, cause is like to be at home, the staff very helpfull, all that you need they could find for you , Mrs Ayu Giri is so freindly , so nice that you cant forget all his nice atention , She is very kindly person !
God bless all this people !!!
Thank you for all !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Booked Puri Damai through their website and thru e-mails with Ayu Giri. Ayu was always very helpful & accommodating of all our requests and inquiries through e-mail, even giving me tips on how to go about our itineraries. Something that’s always much appreciated!

Puri Damai is exactly what it says it is: a boutique losmen. Charming little apartments surround a small courtyard with a garden & a cute pool. It’s a very small property which makes for a very cozy & quiet home for a few days.

We booked a 1-Bedroom Studio that we just fell in love with! It really felt like we had our own little apartment in Bali as it had a small living area (with a huge daybed that was just perfect for reading), a small kitchen & dining table and a lovely little bedroom. Inside the bedroom, we had a very comfortable bed, a small desk, and even a TV. Bathroom was okay, we had the usual shower-in-a-tub. My only issue was with the bathroom’s wooden door which, I guess due to the moisture inside the bathroom, had a lot of mold on it so it was a bit icky so I think they should do something about that. :| Other than that, everything else was pretty clean.

We loved the pool! It was quite a small pool but it was perfect for quick afternoon dips! My son absolutely enjoyed the tiny kids’ pool, too, right by the sunbeds so that turned out to be great as we were able to enjoy just lounging on the sunbed while our son hung out in the kids’ pool.

Back in our ‘apartment for the day’, we were able to utilize our kitchen / dining area when we ordered delivery from Made’s Warung (same owners so they had a big menu on our desk when we arrived so we had to order!) which turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. It was the one low point of the place: the food. We ordered the ½ Gado Gado, ½ Nasi Campur; the Tri-colored Ravioli; the Balinese Black Rice Pudding w/ Banana; a Mango Lassie; and an Avocado Juice. The Black Rice Pudding was the only thing that was still warm when it was delivered so that was great and we really enjoyed that as a nice afternoon snack. The others though were very disappointing. Both the Gado Gado/Nasi Campur & Ravioli were cold already when it arrived so we really couldn’t enjoy it anymore. The Mango Lassi tasted great but that, too, was no longer cold as it should be when it got there so it wasn’t as refreshing. Our bill for the food came to around Rp180,000 / $20 which we found a bit pricey for such a disappointing lunch. :( After eating, on our way out to Uluwatu, we asked if we could have the dishes taken out since we were worried it would attract flies & rodents if we just left it there but was told that housekeeping hours were over so they couldn’t clean that up anymore (which we thought was a bit unusual since that was before 5pm and it says on their website that housekeeping hours were until 5?) so we had to wash that ourselves, too. But no biggie! Just added to the whole ‘having-our-own-apartment-feel’! :p

That evening, though, we ordered take-out from Ketupat and was able to use our kitchen again to reheat the food and enjoyed dinner back at the apartment. So our kitchen, complete with stove, plates & all utensils needed, proved to be very useful during our stay!

We spent the next morning at the beach which was a 10- to 15-minute walk from Puri Damai through Jalan Double Six. Lots of nice cafes in the area like Tekor Bali, great for breakfast. Loved Puri Damai’s location since the walk from the beach turned out to be through many interesting shops selling anything from Bintang singlets to dresses to kids’ clothes to lovely wooden, handpainted accessories. Same goes for the little sidestreet that Puri Damai was on. Right across Puri Damai were a handful of small shops selling batik, souvenirs, etc. There’s even a small affordable spa (Eden Green) right across the street, didn’t get to try it though so can’t vouch for that!

Overall, we loved Puri Damai. We had fallen in love with our little apartment and were very sad to leave after only a night (since we were booked in Ubud for the rest of our stay in Bali). We would, of course, stay here again on our next visit to Legian! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Damai

Address: Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Puri Damai Hotel Legian
Puri Damai Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.