We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Damai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Legian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Damai
Save Saved
You added Puri Damai to your Saves list
Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As much as I don't want to share this wonderful find with everyone, as I would like to keep it all to myself, Credit needs to be given where it is due! The staff at Puri Damai are the most friendly, helpful, and accommodating people you could ever come across in any establishment. The 8 One Bedroom and 4 Two Bedroom apartments are beautifully furnished in traditional Balinese style, and the location is central to great shopping, great restaurants, great massages, and a great beach. The garden is meticulously maintained by the beautiful Sadum, and the rest of the staff including Ayu, GusDe, Made, Nyoman and all the boys are always on hand to provide you with anything you require. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom family unit, is spacious, and has everything you need. Not suitable for young children th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarrawonga, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Your own piece of paradise hidden amongst the bustling shopping district of Legian. Not only is Puri Damai an oasis of beautiful gardens, wonderful apartments and first class staff, it is only about 500 metres to the beach if you wish to go. You have a clean refreshing pool and yet great sized apartments which are cleaned daily. The great thing is only 12 apartments in this central Legian location. The best bonus is the amazing staff who welcome you each year with a friendly smile and also remember you by name. The only place to stay in Bali where you are one of the family. Bagus Bagus

Room Tip: Four great sized family apartments and eight single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have recently stayed at Puri Damai. I stayed with my 18yo daughter and a friend. There was more than enough room for 4 people and VERY affordable. There is a good sized pool ( that manages to stay cooler than most in Bali). Staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in Villa 11, as we are smokers and didn't want to annoy anyone. We found this Villa is very private as well. Our villa was cleaned everyday (spotless) and the garden is beautiful. The internal stairs up to bedrooms in villa's are very steep and there is no handrail, maybe not great for older people, but there are rooms available on ground level. Great location for restaurants, down the lane to the beach, in between Jl Padma Utara and Jl 66 so heaps off shopping options. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Villa 11 probably the most private, but it's not a big place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Puri Damai with a group of girlfriends. The location is great for shopping/food/massage and a short walk to the beach. For a busy area the villas are fairly quiet and most relaxing. The rooms are large, beds are comfortable, and the outside lounging area is a bonus. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Only drawback is no restaurant on the premise but that is ok as there are plenty of cafes nearby. The kitchen is well equipped so can cook your own. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned from our second stay at Puri Damai and in the four years since visiting Bali we were delighted to find this property has remained a tranquil hideaway nestled on the border or Legian and Seminyak. Close to shopping, restaurants and the beach, the location is ideal for our needs. Both Gus De and Ayu Giri ensure guests are comfortable and well looked after. Puri Damai thankfully does not cater for loud, noisy guests. It is well suited for couples or families that want a peaceful retreat from the frenetic world located outside its doors. To sum up our experience - Peace. It does not mean to be in a place with no noise, trouble or hard work, but to be in the midst of all these things and still be calm in your heart. We will be back again, sooner rather than later.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with husband and 3 teenagers and loved our 2 bedroom massive apartment.We were absolutely amazed when we arrived and couldn't believe we had the whole 2 storey building that was all for us !! Downstairs is an airconditioned media room,separate large kitchen with a huge fridge (which we mainly used for drinks) and a small bathroom with a large undercover living area with a table and chairs.Upstairs are 2 lovely large bedrooms,each with ample storage and 2 bathrooms with another huge covered area with another table/chairs and a daybed.
Puri Damai is in a great location,just off Double 6 and only a short walk to the beach.Lots of spa's,shops and markets are right at the doorstep.The gardens are lovely and little squirrels play amongst the frangipani trees.The pool is lovely and refreshing and because there is no restaurant or bar,you can buy your drinks across the road and enjoy them by the pool.All in all,a wonderful small,quiet,peaceful oasis and great value for money !!!!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a folding bed in the second bedroom to accomodate 3 teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in January 2014. Was our first stay at this hotel and are already planning a return after just one day at home. Over the 20 years we have been travelling to Bali, this is one of the best finds. We love everyhting about this hotel. It's small (around 12 rooms), the location is great, the rooms adequately equipped and with a great air con in the bedroom. The kitchen is handy and with a larger fridge rather than the standard bar size. The grounds and pool are meticulously maintained. The staff were terrific and nothing was too much trouble for them. They will even greet you as you return after a day out and help you with taking your shopping to your room. We had a medical drama while there and they summoned an ambulance and helped us enormously at midnight with getting help. Great stay and we will definitely return. Wendy (Melbourne, Australia)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get a great cooling breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Damai

Address: Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Puri Damai Hotel Legian
Puri Damai Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.