We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, excellent value for money, homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champlung Mas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Champlung Mas Hotel to your Saves list
Champlung Mas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Melasti | Kuta, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Perth WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent value for money, homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

3rd visit to this hotel and just as impressed as ever. want 5 star go pay for it, want fancy
linen go pay for it, no bed bugs in 12days I was there, maybe they were on holiday to!!!!
Staff friendly and funny, always willing to help. Love the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    45
    23
    50
See reviews for
55
59
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canning Vale, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

This hotel is a crap hole, and our expectations are not that high. For the price the rooms were quite dirty and the linen was very worn. We only used the room for a few hours just so we had somewhere to hang out while we waited for a midnight flight. In the short time we were here we got eaten by bed bugs.

If you are staying there NYE be warned, the owner admitted to us that he is way overbooked. We asked how he is going to deal with that and he said that he will just put people in rooms until it is full and then he will just offer to pay for a taxi for them to go to a different hotel. I for one would not be happy to arrive in Bali at their busiest time and try to find accommodation when you thought you were safely booked.

There are plenty of better places around than this. Not sure why travel agents are still promoting it as the 'over booking' thing seems to be common (discussions with friends have uncovered others who have turned up only to be told they are full).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The worst experience - we had confirmation of price via email and phone 7 months in advance and on check out they charged us almost double, we had to pay over $200/night.Aust. For that we could have been in 5 star, not a crappy 1 star if you were being generous.
They also double entered room tab and tried to charge us double, but didn't have the receipts to prove it. They said we spent 10 million on bar and food and it was only 4 million when you added up the receipts. They entered the original and cardon copy when adding up, and used the excuse of confusion between shifts. We paid in cash and then they refused to give us receipts. We had to call tourist police to help us out. Then evetually after arguing with all of management (Bangli- Manager, Carlos- Front Desk manager , Rolex- night manager, Katot-Administrator) and screaming for over 4 hours they admitted their error and gave us the receipts. Absolute professional Con-artist.
If staying here be very carefull. I strongly suggest you find somewhere else to stay. They made our holiday a nightmare. I am still worried they may charge my credit card with false charges, and am considering cancelling my card.
I need a holiday even more so now just to get over the stress of our experience at Champlung Mas. I have never experienced such trickery and rudness in my whole life, and we have travelled all over the world the past twenty years.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this place is without a doubt the worst I have stayed in. We had

constant problems with the air conditioning, the sheets were dirty, towels old and the drains in the bathroom would

drain slowly sometimes filling the room with a sewerage smell. My husband got sick from the dining room and my son

got an ear infection from the pool. Constant compliants to the Manager led to him hiding in the office and

stonewalling from the front desk staff ( which i think they have plenty of experience in).Basically the owners are

not maintaining the hotel and the staff don't care or more realistically unable to do anything about the problems

this hotel has. The ladder in the pool broke on the third day of our stay and was not fixed during the remainder of

our stay. I could go on and on about how bad this hotel is but I am sick of the whole experience. The final insult

was they tried to overcharge our food and bar tab but after several hours of stonewalling and re-adding they had to

admit they had made a mistake, what a crock, one wonders how many people they do this to. IMPORTART Tip: dont pay

your bill on the last day, pay the day before so you have enough time to dispute it. Also get a signed and dated

reciept and keep it in a safe place. Better still stay somewhere else. It is a budget hotel but one expects a clean

comfortable room and honest staff. When we go on holidays we expect to relax and chill out not spend time trying to

get problems in our room fixed and arguing with front desk staff about simple addition with our hotel tab.We need

another holiday just to get over this experince. In Australia or most countries in the world this place would have

closed a long time ago.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Having stayed at the champlung many times before, it seemed the only choice when booking 20 people to stay there with us, we booked through the biggest travel agent in nsw and thats where the problems started!!!!!!
We arrived on 13th june only to be told they had no rooms available, even though we had been in contact with Carlos (manager) since staying there in January when we met our wedding planner and made all arrangments.
As I have stated already I have stayed nurmerous time before with no complaints what so ever, but to arrive with 20 wedding guests (half the wedding guests) and to look at your bride to be standing there, wedding dress etc in hand and be told "sorry no rooms" is very upsetting.
After 4 hours of refusal to leave the reception area and countless mobile calls back to australia, ONE worker "wira" took control from carlos and after a while we where promised our booked rooms the following afternoon.
The first night was spent at a small place down the road 'sidio house', small clean comfy.
Wira went far beyond his job discreption to assure we were looked after as he could see our situation with our wedding set for 19 june up at ulawata, the attention he gave to my wife and I along with all our guests will never be forgotten, if it was'nt for this man who knows what would have happened.
As a result of this mans efforts our entire party (40) people took him and his wife out to dinner on our last night and as a result we have now established a life long friendship and are returning soon.
I would have no hesitation in employing Wira if I owned a business.
And only because of this man I will return to Champlung mas.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — constant double bookings by staff
  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

After reading previous reviews I was a bit hesitant about booking this property. I have worked in the hotel/hospitality industry for the past 6 years and have also travelled extensively around the world and have a pretty good idea of what to expect!

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Champlung Mas. The guy who checked us in even made a joke about being fully booked! (Wasn't too funny at first!). The room was clean and very spacious. Yes the tiling work in the bathroom was questionable but your in Bali, what do you expect! We alway had hot water and if we needed anything they came straight away. The room was cleaned daily which was also a surprise from this budget accommodation.

The pool bar was awesome, the staff always friendly and would let us change the music if we wanted. Drinks were reasonably priced as was the food if you didn't want to venture out.

Great location! Will definitely go back again!

A note to those than commented on the breakfast size - us aussies are used to piling an obscene amount on our plates, so compared to us their serving was small, but was enough to get you through the morning!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed again at Champlung Mas for the 6th time the past few weeks. Agian it proves to be a home away from home for me and my family. One needs to understand that it is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for! We had a loverly stay here. Nothing much ever changes at Champlung Mas, the staff are all fantastic especially the Reception staff who are always willing to help and make your stay as brilliant as they can. The resturant staff are also loverly and always willing to help. The breakfast (american) consists ofa choice between fruit or fruit juice, eggs anyway you like, bacon or ham and toast coffee and tea there is also an indonesian breakfast. You can also get pancakes if you ask instead of bacon and eggs or you can have double toast. If your a tea or coffee drinker ask for a pot of it as it is better quality.

The rooms are quite basic, yet just enough. each room has a private terrace and a small garden (downstairs room) or a balcony for the upstairs rooms. We were originally in room 26 but were asked to change for the second week of our holiday becuase they were working on the pipes and were worried that we might end up having no water in that room so they moved us to another room which was nicer and freshly painted. they were very apoligetic for the move which was no issue for us and the boys all chipped in and helped us pack and unpack in the new room.

The location of the hotel is great it is very close to the beach and the main streets. It is however a little bit of a walk to the main supermarket but there is a smaller one up the road on jalan legian which stocks everything one will need. There are the legian markets at the end of the street that champlung mas is located on and the beach is also just down the road. Night clubs are also in walking distance.

There is a pool which has just got new tiles, there is a massage area, a swim up bar and a pool side bar. We were there during the grandfinal and the staff were more than happy to put it on for the aussies in both the bar and the resturant a few of the staff joined in watching it which was fun.The pool area offers free towels and magazines to read (they are behind the counter you need to ask for them) later in the afternoon the towels may run out, so youll need to get your one from the room or supply your own.

This is such a fantasic little hotel, everyone is friendly and really make your stay even better =) its really hard to say goodbye when you leave as you just wish you could take them home with you. Feel free to ask any questions you may have ill be happy to provide more information.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champlung Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Mas Hotel

Address: Jalan Melasti | Kuta, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champlung Mas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Champlung Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champlung Mas Legian
Champlung Mas Hotel Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champlung Mas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.