We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bedbugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sayang Maha Mertha to your Saves list
Sayang Maha Mertha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Legian
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bedbugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Poor ventalation, rooms were extremely hot, oh and there was bed bugs!!!!!! A lot of bed bugs!!!!!!!!!!! Complimentary breakfast was really good, you got a lot for a free breakfast. Pool was nice, well taken care of. Close to everything. Transport everywhere, you cant wait two feet without finding transport. About a 3 minute walk to a surfing beach with really good waves. If it were for the state of the rooms it would be a goodhotel, but thats the only reason you book a hotel . Would not recomend this place to anyone until they clear the bugs out of everyroom and figure out a way
to properly ventilate their rooms. Read a lot of reviews, I dont know how anyone didnt notice the tiny blood dots of the sheets, small tiny black bugs you might just brush off because you are so used to seeing cockroaches, smaller bugs no longer have an effect on you. But they get into your things and follow you to every other hotel you visit and continually bite you while you sleep, or even wear your clothes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Sales and Marketing at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Yacklej,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback.

I'm appreciate to read that you notice, our pool was nice, breakfast was really good and the hotel near by the beach.

However we apologize, in your bed room was bed bugs and tiny blood dots of the sheets, we have taken notes of your feedback and shared it with our team, to take appropriate action.

I hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive

Best Regard,
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    46
    34
    44
See reviews for
24
55
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this place but it was cheap and in a decent location. The room felt really stuffy and there is no character at all. The property is a bit run down but for the price, I suppose it's a decent place to sleep. The staff is also not the friendliest. Wifi is only available in the common area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Our thanks to you have to stay at our hotel and we were very happy to receive comments and suggestions from you about the condition of our hotel facilities. we will continue to make changes to better the facilities and services that would be better as our mission of guests are families that we must respect., and we hope that if you or your friends come back to our hotel to get better service in accordance with the wishes you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is so convenient to every thing ,it has a pool a great little bar,
the food is always freshly cooked ,the rooms are clean ,the water is slow running but always hot, nice staff ,I have stayed 7 times now , lotts of fun, al ways new faces coming and going and very good value for the money not luxury but middle of the range or you can go cheap as, and for so little, cheap is fine.

Room Tip: ask to see your room some are very nice for such a fair price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

For a low budget hotel in the middle of Kuta, it was a decent place. Rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Off the main streets so you don't have too much traffic noise. Fruit, toast, and tea breakfast included with more available. Free wifi in the common areas, worked fairly well (though it cut out from time to time, which I've experienced off and on throughout Bali.) Feels fairly safe for such a crowded area.
Downsides: No power points in the room. Area is messy and crowded (not the hotel's fault but matters when you're staying there). Rooms are small and a bit dim but still have enough light leakage that it can interfere with sleeping if you're sensitive to it.
Overall: Worked well enough for my wife and I to get into Bali, see a few things, and get our feet on the ground. Wouldn't go out of my way to stay here but if you don't need much it's a perfectly fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Our management and staff Sayang Maha Mertha to thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you during your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your suggestions and impressions to us as a reference to improve the quality and the quality of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The shower flow even slowly than my pee.
The towel looks very dull and smelly.
B'fast is very poor,only two slices of toast.
And the customer service no friendly at all, its look like we owed them for life.
NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your comment on our core apologize for the dissatisfaction of our service to you and we will follow up on your comments and if you wish to come again to our hotel or also include other guests staying at the hotel we did not find the same problem as what that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coron, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If u want a luxory hotel than pay a luxory hotel price.. If, instead, you want a basic but clean place whit pool, wi fi and free breakfast (though not a king breakfast) , that's the place for u. There were no animals of any kind, and in Bali guys this is not obvious if u are on a budget, trust me. Then if staff is not the kindest i don't care, i want a place to stay, not new friends at the reception. Though with me they ve been all right, even got a discount on the fare they showed me, remember to bargain in south east asia, for everything. We got a room on the 2nd floor with balcony and wi fi worked in the room! What u want more for 5€ x person?
Ah pool is ok as well, some bottles around (left there by customers who could just walk to the bin) but is no big deal for me. Maybe i've just been more lucky than other people but to me its wortg the try

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Sales and Marketing at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear FeTHErico,

On behalf of Sayang Maha Mertha, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel.

We are budget hotel in Legian Kuta, it is indeed delighted to read that thoroughly enjoyed your holiday during your stay at Sayang Hotel. It was our pleasure to know that you were happy, even basic room but clean whit the pool, wi fi currently available at Restaurant and Swimming pool area, good to know that you able access it from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sayang Maha Mertha in the near future.

Best Regards,
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect much given that it was a budget option but even our modest expectations were not met. The room was clean but very sparse with no redeeming features. The pool was ok but the seating area around it was covered with empty bottles, plastic wrappers, cigarette butts, etc. Cancelled our second night and booked somewhere a little more expensive. Definitely worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear LovechildIII
we apologize for the inconvenience you are disturbed by the presence of litter and butts rokak pelastik that is in the pool area. and we say thank you for your assessment. we will pay attention to what you convey, so that later on you and the other guests feel more comfortable in the pool so that your holiday more enjoyable.

Regards
Made Sumerta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Address: Jl Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayang Maha Mertha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.