We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new backpacker. Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KAYUN Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added KAYUN Hostel Downtown to your Saves list
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
182 Legian street, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice new backpacker. Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We original went to the 1st Kayun hostel but found out it was full. We had no idea this new one existed. They drove us down the road closer to all the action and dropped us off. When we arrived they had no space in the dorms for the 4 of us so they gave us a 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the same price. IT WAS FANTASTIC. Aircon ran all the time. Beds were huge and comfy and quiet. Everyone has their own huge locker. The Batchroom smelt but so does every bathroom in bali. The shower was terrible. But so is every shower in bali. But well worth putting up with for the room.
The bar has cheap food and beers and does coffees. The Jacuzzi is very cool and they are pretty good at disregarding open times. Such as when they let us in there at 4am.
When the girls we were traveling left they let the 2 of us keep the 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the rest of our stay.
The staff were fantastic and very chatty. They were even a bit concerned that we either came to breakfast and drank beers or if we slept in to late. The bar is open 24 hours and is dirt cheap. Mini mart is just across the road with a Commonwealth Bank ATM which was super convenient for us.
Would recommend and stay her again. If I could I would stay here again right now.

Room Tip: Hope for a 6 bed dorm to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here in June 2014, really friendly staff and well laid out rooms with private bed compartments. Wifi only works in the reception area but the plunge pool and cinema area were great for some downtime. We hired a driver through the hostel to take us to visit 3 temples. Only downside was the aircon was so cold on the first night that it gave two of us a cold but the staff turned it down a bit for us the next day and it was fine.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed first of all in the original Kayun down the road, and I must say, its downtown counterpart is a vast improvement on it. The original Kayun had problems with water (It's now fixed as far as I know), but was much more lively. The downtown branch is exactly how it appears in the photos, the jacuzzi and chillout lounge are beyond the call of duty for a hostel, and extremely welcome after a hot day on the beach/surfing. Breakfast included, and the Australian next to me rates it as the best hostel breakfast he's had. Beer is cheap. Staff extremely friendly, and will help you with anything you need doing - booking tours, drivers, finding birthday cakes..! I found the staff were not so approachable in the other Kayun, so essentially, if you're between the two, stay here! Location is the best of any hostel in Kuta. 5 brand new computers and the staff will print your boarding passes - very grateful for it.

Things to improve - needs to be busier! I think people don't know about this place yet, but it picked up a lot towards the end of the stay and we met some great people. Slightly pricey I guess but it does feel like a hotel. Upstairs showers are pretty dismal but the ones downstairs are a dream, and the best we came across in Indo.

Altogether, I would not hesitate to stay here, and would happily go for drinks with the staff.

Room Tip: Group dorms and 4,6 & 8 private dorms are the same price. All rooms are equally well done with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect. I couldn't ask more. The location, the environment, the service and best of all the price. It's in the centre of kuta and it's 3 steps away from a nice clubs and beach. I meet so many people here that are adventures and active. The staff are helpful. Thank you kayun. My vacation wouldn't have been the same without you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KAYUN Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KAYUN Hostel Downtown

Address: 182 Legian street, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayun Downtown is the big sister of award winning Kayun Hostel. Once again bringing you the highest standards of quality, extraordinary design and ultimate friendliness. Located in downtown Kuta on Legian Street; it is steps away from the famous clubs, bars, and Kuta Beach. Everything is accessible and we provide an easy base point for you to explore the island and to meet other travelers. At the hostel, you can meet friends from around the world in our large common area, enjoy free WiFi anywhere in the hostel, dine at our cafe, or relax in our small plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your KAYUN Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KAYUN Hostel Downtown Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAYUN Hostel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.