We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sinar Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sinar Bali to your Saves list
Hotel Sinar Bali
Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and was quite impressed here. All rooms are poolside and the pool is great. Small enough that it's easy to meet the other guests and the staff. Nice and quiet as it's back from the nearest street (Padma Utara), down a short but safe lane. As usual in Bali, the bathroom was average, the lighting poor, but for the money the room was quite good. The position is good, most other hotels around it are much more expensive because of the proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 9 days in October/November, had a bungalow all rooms are old but clean,
all face the pool, so it is a hop, step and jump into pool. Pool was always crystal clear & plenty of sun lounges. Gardens were well mainained. Breakfast was fruit, juice, coffe, tea, & 2
types of hot food, you could order also. Staff were great. 15minute walk to Jalan Padma,
If you are on a budget this is great.

Room Tip: Bungalows are more expensive but bigger. Single person would find rooms adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We travel to Bali two or three times a year and on this trip, because we were on a budget decided to stay at the Sinar Bali hotel.
The room was basic,but the mattress was comfortable and we had hot water for our showers.
Breakfast was basic, but you could order anything else that you wished,and at reasonable prices.
The Staff were fantastic and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable,
Our room opened out onto the fantastic pool,the gardens were really nice.
Great location, we have stayed at a number of different hotels in the past, from 3 star to 5,
But we found this Hotel to be great value and and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Sinar Bali Hotel is in a good position on Jalan Padma Utara right amongst the shops and a short walk to good restaurants and the beach.

It can be quite hard to find because it is tucked down a driveway next to the Amaris Hotel. All that is visible from the road is a blue sign.There is a hotel with a similar name - Grand Sinar Indah, that is also in Jl Padma Utara (a couple of bends before) and when we arrived at midnight the taxi driver tried to drop us off there. I knew that it wasn't the right hotel and insisted he keep driving, so he asked someone and we eventually found it.

I had booked a standard room for my daughter and myself the first two and last few days of our Bali trip. The first time we stayed in room 9 which is on the ground floor. The room was quite small and the furnishings were dated which I expected for the low price, but it just felt a bit grubby. The sheets and towels were stained and grey, but smelt clean. There is a small TV and fridge in the room - no tea or coffee making facilities or room safe (safety deposit boxes at he front desk).The bathroom had a shower with shower curtain, basin and toilet - no bench space. It was also very dated and a bit grubby. I think all rooms look out on to the pool

Breakfast is at the open air restaurant - juice, tea and coffee, bread, butter and jam for toasting, two hot dishes eg sausages and potatoes, and sliced pineapple papaya and watermelon. I noticed quite a few of the other guests took their own cereals etc. We had one room service meal - it was basic but OK. There is free WiFi at the restaurant.

The pool was a good size with a kiddy area at one end. There was no depth markers that i could see but I'd guess it was 1.5m and the shallow end and at least 2.5 at the deep end. There is a swim up bar, but i never saw anyone drinking there and it didn't look as though they had any drinks there anyway. The only person I saw there is a lady who does manicures and massages. The gardens are well tended and quite pretty.

We stayed in Room 1 for our second stay. It's only a few metres from the restaurant and was quite noisy from about 5.30 am. We were only there for 2 nights so i couldn't be bothered moving, but if i was there for longer I'd ask to be moved further away.

The hotels biggest advantage was its staff - they were all cheerful and helpful. The property is quite small and felt very secure. There is a man located at the entry who watches all the comings and goings.

I would normally go for something a bit more upmarket, but was trying to keep my costs down for this trip. If your money is tight then it's probably Ok, but next time I'd prefer to spend more and get more.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant (eg Rm 1 on the ground floor) will be noisy in the morning for the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a budget hotel but it really doesn't feel like it. We had two rooms; one for my husband and I and one for our teenage daughter. This arrangement worked beautifully & recommended for anyone travelling with teenagers! The hotel surrounds, pool & restaurant are all lovely. The rooms were a good size and clean, the bathrooms are a little dated but perfectly usable. The location is good, nice and quiet but close to everything. It's only a $1 taxi ride to Jl. Padma & Garlic Lane if you can't be bothered walking. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall staying at Sinar has been fantastic. The pool is beautiful. Our bed was comfortable and big and the room was clean. The only real thing that needs some work was the bathroom. It was old and the basin was leaking. But it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from 6 day stay in a superior room, first time at cheaper Bali hotel and very happy. Although the bathroom very small, had hot water for showers. The bed was very large and comfortable which is not always so in hotels. Each of the ground floor rooms and bungalows surround the pool and only about three steps away. The air-conditioning and TV worked well and the rooms were clean. There were always deck-chairs available. The breakfast had small choice but adequate and tasty, if you wanted something else it could be ordered for small cost. The garden, although small, cleverly displayed a relaxing atmosphere. The staff were friendly and being a small hotel you met and spoke to most of the residents giving a friendly environment. Very good value for money and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The bungalows would give more room if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sinar Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sinar Bali

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Legian
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sinar Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sinar Bali Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sinar Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.