We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Hotel And Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Padma Utara Legian Kaja, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Hotel And Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Niksoma for 9 nights.
What a lovely smaller property compared to others we have stayed at in the past. Location fantastic could walk to all our favorite restaurants and shopping spots together with close proximity to some great waves.

Cannot praise the staff of the Niksoma enough, just wonderful, warm people who always did whatever they could to ensure we had everything we needed.

Would definatley recommend this hotel to couples and families.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    129
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
263
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Rooms: Our family of 4 stayed for 8 nights in 2 standard rooms. The rooms themselves were kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and any problems that arose were quickly addressed by very friendly staff. The bathrooms need some rennovations as the tilework is not finished off, otherwise ok. The rooms are cleaned everyday and our package included free breakfasts and 1 piece of laundry / room / day which was very handy. At night the new sheets are turned down and they also spray for mosquitos in the room . A little cake is left beside your bed and it was a lovely touch.
Pool: 2 pools.. both excellent and the views are magnificent as you are right on the beach...( this hotel has the best location !) clean towels are given whenever requested and the pool staff are very attentive.
Food: We found the breakfast buffet very good indeed..it had lots of variety. We had lunch around the pool most days and the quality was excellent compared to other places we had tried along the strip.
Staff in general...I can honesly say I have never come across such genuinely lovely staff in all my travels..the front desk staff would go out of their way to organize taxis, recommend restaurants , book restaurants etc...where ever you went in this hotel you were always greeted with the nicest , friendlies smiles and greetings ( even the ground staff ).
All in all we would have no hesitation in going back...
WELL DONE NIKSOMA for making our family holiday so wonderful....Andrew & Carolyn H

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom not 100 % finished
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Niksoma in 2006 + 2007- both the September holidays.
When our driver dropped us off, driving through the dirty little alleyway, we were horrified. But, once we got to the beachfront, we were ABSOLUTELY blown away!
It was stunning.
I cannot put into words how friendly the staff was-We were treated like royalty. The staff are like our family now. Even the security guards shared conversations with us, every time we entered and exited the hotel. After our first time staying there, we went back the next year. The man at the front desk said "Oh Hello, You've returned, welcome back". HE REMEMBERED US.
This stay was UNFORGETTABLE!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Liked — THE SERVICE
  • Disliked — i got a rash from the chlorine they put in the pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

My 16 year old daughter and I recently spent 4 nights at this beautiful hotel. The hotel and pool area are simply stunning, the views across to the ocean breath taking. We were very happy with our deluxe room which was clean, stylish and we loved the little treats left for us, when our beds were turned down at night.For all its beauty I must say the most impessive thing about this hotel is the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and amazingly they seemed to know our names which is a lovely touch.I stayed there 3 years ago and was impressed yet will say, after this trip,the Bali Niksoma is even better and I am planning to return in December!

  • Liked — The pool is outstanding but I would have to say the Staff.
  • Disliked — The phone connection on the calls home... not the Niksomas fault !!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Based on the positive reviews written for Bali Niksoma, I stayed there with my hubby for 1 night. We had booked 4 nights at USD 195 nett per night but checked out immediately the next morning cos I was very disappointed with the hotel for the price I paid!

On my last trip there, I had paid USD180 nett for a 1 bedroom villa at the Kayana, which was fabulous. This time round, we wanted to stay near the beach, which was why I picked Niksoma. But boy, was I disappointed...

We chose a Junior Suite at Niksoma. On arrival, was initially quite impressed by the pick-up at the airport (paid USD 15 for one-way transfer though). But when we were brought to our ground floor suite (all 4 J Suites are on the ground floor), I was sorely disappointed.

The bedroom area was small, and room had a musky smell. Furnishings were old and look like they have not been well-maintained. Bed was rather creaky. Only thing nice about the J Suite is the spacious bathroom. It had 2 vanity tops/basins, and the one I used was clogged. Had to call the technician to come and fix it. The room felt more like a low class bungalow/chalet than a 'junior suite'. It did look like the picture on the website, except that furnishing were old and in need of an overhaul.

My husband and I did not sleep well cos the air in the room did not feel 'clean'. Hubby kept sniffing the whole night. Had a blocked nose. Might have been allergic to some dust mites in the room or something.

The next day, we decided to shift to another hotel cos we could not imagine staying another 3 nights there. They offered an upgrade to their suite (also on ground floor), but we had already lost confidence in the quality of the rooms, so we declined that.

The good thing about the hotel was that they were very accommodating, and allowed us to check out only by paying USD100 as cancellation charges. Would have been USD195, but the supervisor felt rather apologetic for my husband's allergy and hence slashed the amount (without me asking for it). The supervisor also graciously helped me contact a few other hotels in the seminyak area to check for price and availability.

We finally settled on Uma Sapna Villas (near Jl Laksmana or "Eat Street") for USD160 nett per nite for a 2 bedroom villa with private pool and garden(!!). That was an amazing 'upgrade' at a lower price! We loved Uma Sapna for its price and location. You can check out my reviews on Kayana and Uma Sapna which I have also posted.

Overall, though the service staff was helpful, I would NEVER stay at the Bali Niksoma again, not even if it was free! Think they need to do a major overhaul to their rooms and change the furniture and other finishings.

But then again, I think reviews are subjective. It all depends on your expectation. If your expectations are high, and you have been exposed to better accommodation, this would be way below standards. Seriously, for the price you pay, you can get top villas (not at beachside though) wth your private pool and garden in the Seminyak/Kuta area. This is just not worth the price.

But to be fair to Niksoma, we did take a stroll along the beach, and realised that it is indeed one of the top 3 iclassy hotels in that area - after Anantara and Outrigger O-CE-N, I think.

  • Liked — Service of staff
  • Disliked — Musky rooms that were not well-maintained
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We had a ball at this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out we were just in love with the place. The staff are gracious and there's nothing they won't do for you. Breakfasts are brilliant as is the Niksoma's restaurant all-day-menu. Poolside cocktails were a dream (you can't go past their Mojito!). Our room was magnificent, we were upgraded to a Suite after the first night but the Standard we were in was just as fantastic. The small touches unique to the hotel are wonderful (wait til you try the arrival cocktail on check-in and the nightly sweet the house-staff leave after turning down the bed). The pool area is ultra-clean with amenities close by and and the upper pool feels like it's dissappearing into the ocean. Lots of different styles of furniture to lounge on poolside and attentive, friendly service. Beach directly out the front making for an awesome sunset.
Look out for Min, she's the hostess with the mostest and Donni our favourite pool guy (he'll keep you topped up with the complimentary garlic nuts and they are a winner). Not so much for the kids but for couples or groups you cannot go past this place for value, service & style. If you're thinking of spending New Year's Eve in Bali you can't miss the Niksoma's spread either. 25 people worked tirelessly all day to create an atmosphere that was something out of a fairy book. Rave, rave, rave............

  • Liked — The amazing service, food and awesome amenities.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Wow, what a great hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Bali holiday and could not have been happier. It is in a great location on the beach at Legian - a road separates the hotel from the sand, but this is a pedestrian access road only so it is very peaceful.
First impressions were wonderful - a great welcome from staff and we were allowed to check in 4 hours earlier than usual time which was fantastic.
We had a third floor room with a view of the surf - although there were buildings in front, we could still see the water and the surfers which was great, especially when you look at the other hotel choices along the beach.
The pools were great and our 2 kids could not have been happier. The hotel even had "noodles" for the kids to use in the pool. We loved having lunch on our pool chairs looking out over the water. Great basic lunchtime menu.
Despite the hotel being full we never felt overcrowded and could always find a seat at the pool, breakfast etc.
We loved the spa - it was quite pricey compared to some others, but it is only to be expected in this type of hotel.
The staff were absolutely amazing. They were so welcoming and friendly and helpful and made travelling with young children so easy - they absolutely doted on them and all remembered their names. We felt the staff took time out to chat to us, answer any questions and give us insights into their culture.
Do I have any negatives ? Certainly nothing of any consquence. Would probably have been nicer to have more of a mix of nationalities - 90% were Australian like ourselves. We like to be able to meet others from around the world when on holidays. Only other minor one is that it is not really close walking distance to anything other than the street stalls, but taxis are so cheap that this is not a problem at all.
LOVED our stay and will be back definately. We know Bali well and this is in our opinion by far the nicest hotel in the area (in this price bracket anyway!)

  • Liked — Location, pool and staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Padma Utara Legian Kaja, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#3 Spa Hotel in Legian
#4 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Legian Beach and facing to the Indian Ocean, Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort is a 4-star hotel designed in a modern chic boutique concept. Located only a 15 minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport, the resort is close to gourmet restaurants, night clubs and bars in the most famous Kuta and Seminyak Area.Guests can also go surfing or simply laze around the white sands while watching the gorgeous sun go down in the Ocean. Bali Niksoma is also an onsite restaurant called Hitana, a swimming pool complemented by kid’s pool, laundry, dry cleaning, car parking and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Hotel Legian
Niksoma Bali
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.