We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vilarisi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vilarisi Hotel to your Saves list
Vilarisi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Melasti / Lebak Bene 15X, Legian, Bali 80361 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I bought vouchers from Groupon and got a very cheap price for 5D4N. The staffs were really polite when replying my e-mail.
The building looks old, but having elevator is already a good point. The room is very spacious, aircond works good. Actually I have nothing to complain. Just a little thing that they should add in the room like hairdryer and face tissue (I borrowed the staff's hairdryer until I checked out from the hotel, thanks :) )
Breakfast... well.. It's quite boring for 5 days eating almost the same thing: bread, fried noodle, or fried rice. If they can add something different, I might rate this hotel a little better.
The location is good. It's not that far from Kuta beach and Jalan Legian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    64
    50
    32
    19
See reviews for
28
34
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

OK, let's start with the positives. The location is great - right next to the arts and crafts market, 500m from the beach, around the corner from the Legian Rd shopping strip; the room rate is cheap; and the staff very friendly and helpful - always happy to point you in the right direction for finding a restaurant/shopping/tours etc.
Now to the not so positive, the rooms are old, old, and old. We booked two rooms for five nights at Vilarisi hotel and although the sleep quality wasn't too bad the condition of the rooms left much to be desired. We stayed on the third floor (definitely ask for a higher floor if possible) and were in rooms away from the street, so it was nice and quiet. The rooms were spacious and sparsely furnished. But the hotel definitely needs an update/renovation, the tiles in the bathroom were old, grouts are dirty, bathtubs had stains/scratches, the bed sheets are worn and had stains, the furniture was really tired coupled with a tiny (no bigger than most - and definitely smaller than some - computer monitors nowadays) TV.
Normally my view is, if you pay for a 2 star, you shouldn't expect the services/quality of a 4 star (or even a 3 star, for that matter), vice versa, if you're paying the rate of a 5 star you would expect no less in service and quality than other 5 star equivalent hotels. Basically, I believe in value for money. So given the room rate of Vilarisi, I would say that it's not a bad little hotel. BUT, given the local environment (i.e. cheap hotels everywhere), unfortunately, I have to say some of the other reviewers are right - there's better value to be had for similar prices (or slightly higher prices). If you prefer a fairly modern room with better facilities then don't book this hotel, you will be disappointed. If you are normally happy with a budget-style room and not normally fussy about room/hotel condition, I'd still recommend that you look around. In other cities, finding better accommodation might mean a $40/$50 difference in price, in Bali it means $5/$10. So, if you are slightly fussy about rooms, or could potentially be fussy about rooms, spend the extra $10 and book elsewhere and save yourself the headache.
Lastly on the hotel, the restaurant is worth a mention. The staff are very friendly and the Indonesia dishes are very good with reasonable prices. Legian/Kuta areas are very touristy and therefore prices of everything is inflated in terms of local standards. After trying a few restaurants around the hotel, we found that the restaurant at the hotel was actually the best value. The grilled fish is definitely worth a try and the Nasi Goreng Vilarisi and mixed satays are both very nice.
Finally, a tip on travelling in Bali. Bali, like most south-east Asian cities, prices for almost everything are rubbery. So do shop around and do haggle with shop owners, but don't be overly focus on getting 'the best price', because there's always better value around the corner/across the road/on the other side of the island. Given the price of most things in Bali, the difference between a reasonable price and 'the best price' (if there is ever one) is often only a few dollars, so save the time you have to work around to find the best deal and the stress of all the haggling, pay a few more dollars and enjoy the island instead - it's such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

very old out date hotel need big reno on build new one
stuff are not helpful, big hassel booking in , book though
agodo and had to get in contact the room was triple book
there was another couple with the same truble booking
they allso had same truble as me , with getting in contact
with agodo the would not help it was ok for agodo to triple
book room , but not to fix the problem , i would never book
room with agodo again, pool tiles where all falling off, pool
had bug in it

Room Tip: dont book this hotel or book any hotel with agodo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

just stayed for 10 days ........this place is a must for a budget hotel....the service,food,rooms,pool and once again the service i would recommend this hotel to anyone.ask for abdul at reception this guy knows everything u need to know in bali .all the staff will go out of there way to help you whatever your request.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed twelve nights in deluxe room .
Would recommend room facing pool ad so much quieter than the front, and second floor and up,ground floor basic and noisy.
As a couple we found the rooms exactly what we needed good aircon, spacious , peacful with the best locality you could ask for. Breakfast little basic but what do you expect for when u paying about fourty Aussie a night.
The staff are friendly and will go out of there way to help.
Parking for the scooter downstairs, mini mart across the road and cheapest clothing and touristy stuff three shops down . We went everywhere else but found the cheapest stuff right at our doorstep. We paid five hundred for twelve nights with breakfast but don't expect flash resort amenities at this price, safe for valuables at reception..
As always you get what u pay for!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have stayed here numerous time while in Bali. Hotel is A bali style hotel, with big rooms and aircon, fridge unlimited hot and cold water available on each floor. we stay here mostly because of its location. Only 5 min walk to Legian beach, excellent and cheap massage place just around the corner(serenity Day Spa) and cheap motor bike hire downstairs. awesome choice of eateries within 5 min walking distance. You can here the street noise from the room but its not bad. Shower can be pretty average but staff are super friendly. Breakfast is good and restaurant serves very cheap meals. Hotel doesnt offer airport pickup service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel located in a very strategic place, just meters away from beach, the thing is the room quality, somehow it was a bit dusty and can't keep away from the street noise, so order second or third floor room to stay(a bit) quiet. Oh and ask to clean the room first before you check your room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilarisi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilarisi Hotel

Address: Jalan Melasti / Lebak Bene 15X, Legian, Bali 80361 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilarisi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Vilarisi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilarisi Hotel Legian
Vilarisi Hotel Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilarisi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.