We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food excellent view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Jalan Arjuna 88X | O-CE-N Bali by Outrigger, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 138 Restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food excellent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night and the seafood platter was excellent for the $20 we paid. Service was also fast and efficient. Will be back on Tuesday night for the Buffett.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
2 reviews
“must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great for afternoon cocktails with sunset view over Legian Beach. Great service and buffet breakfast was fantastic also. Would go back there the next time i am there in bali

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely food, service ok, Cold Bintang!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited here for the BBQ night. Sadly the chef could not get the BBQ working so they cooked inside. Steak was cooked to perfection and sides were lovely. Not cheap by Bali standards and the service is only ok but the view is great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible Christmas Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

After spending Christmas Eve at a buffet dinner we decided to branch out to other areas of Legian and find somewhere offering a Christmas dinner. At $AUD48 it was pricey but compared to what we would pay at home it was reasonable. We booked a day in advance, for 2 people, and paid a 400,000INR deposit.

When we returned the following night, right on 6pm, there were many empty (but reserved tables) with a great view of the beach and the sunset. We were seated as far from the buffet as possible so we asked to be moved closer. We were told the tables were reserved and the best they could do was inside. We accepted and moved. When we left around 8:30pm there were still many reserved tables empty.

The food tasted OK but there was nothing Christmassy about the event other than the inflated price. Some of the advertised items were not available (spring rolls and Christmas pudding being the notable absences).

Then at 4am the food poisoning / Bali belly kicked in. My friend and I eat very differently but we can only put it down to the potatoes au gratin, sucking pork or tempura vegetables. Or the ice in our cocktails. This bar is a big enough establishment that the ice should not have been a concern. When my friend returned this morning to retrieve a lost jacket she told the staff and reports they really couldn't have cared less. Seems it's an everyday occurrence at the Deck. I just wish I'd paid less for the experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Deck Fish and Chips poor value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have been eating here a long time now and have watched the prices increase 25% a few months ago and the portions decrease. (Barrimundi and Chips)
Used to be the best for Value and quality but after our last visit we will no longer be dining at this place any longer.
The nature of the product is there will always be some variation but after buying 3 potions as mentioned above and the size of the fish would have been a half of what we would normally expect.
What a shame as we used to really enjoy the food here.
Luckly there are now plenty of alternative Fish and Chip shops in Bali to satisfy that urge...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.