We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, really bad smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik to your Saves list
Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Patih Jelantik 188, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Neo Legian Jelantik)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Legian
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff, really bad smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This would be a 4-star review if it weren't for the bad stench. Overall, it was a pleasant stay except for the really bad smell coming from the hallways. We stayed there for 7 nights on the 5th floor, and the moment the elevator doors opened, we were greeted by an awful stench of waste water/plumbing that filled the hallway. It's obvious that they try to mask it with air freshener, but that really doesn't help. We had complained a few times, and the staff installed an air purifier outside our room and that helped with the stench. However, the next morning the air purifier disappears and we will have to call again to complain for them to grudgingly come and install it. And it went on and on until we gave up and lived with the smell. If I didn't pay for the full 7 nights already I would have switched hotels. Apart from that, the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. If you don't mind the stench, it's a good hotel that's just a little quieter from the crazy Kuta ambience and lets you easily travel to Seminyak or other areas without having to go through bad traffic.

Room Tip: Choose a less smelly room. Level 5 was really bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ikram K,
Thank you for your review and Honest comment. Without your valuable comment we will never know how to improve our quality service. We will do buck up our service by fix the floor drain and waste water/plumbing that filled the hallway, this will ensure the bed smell problem. Hope it will not reduce your intention to return again someday. Thank You
Regards - Bayu Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was a good stay here at Hotel Neo, as we booked it twice during our SE Asia vacation. We found it a bit smelly in the bathrooms on both of our stays (different hotel rooms), but the beds was good for being SE Asia, the breakfast was excellent and the AC was a lifesaver. Overall, good hotel for the price. Very close to the main road and shopping and great to have a 24h store just infront of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jessica B,
Thank you for your review and great comment. We will do buck up our service by more maintain the floor drain in the bathroom for our guest satisfaction. Hope it will not reduce your intention to return again someday. Thank You.
Regards - Bayu Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, staff is very friendly & helpful. My room was clean, tidy & nice. Include wifi, hot shower, minibar, TV & safe box. Location wise, strategic. Breakfast have to add on. Great stay here at this hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Shafri S,
Thank you for your feed back, it's a Pleasure for us to make our guest always Happy. For sure we will improved our service in breakfast, and you will find a Good breakfast for your next stay.
Thank you, Regards
Bayu SUTEJA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

There was alot of work with the road outside the hotel, traffic jams.
The room was ok, but to be a new hotel I think they made it as cheep as possible. The staff was friendly. The pool is a lie of the pictures, there is not enough room for more then one person in it. And the picture of the hotel outside is also fake.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear hanskrs, Thank you for your feed back with us and apologize for the inconvenience cause government project in front of our hotel. Neo Hotel is the budget hotel managed by Archipelago international and we can't change the size of standard room but we have the higher size of room in Suite.
I hope that this experience does not deter you to return stay with us and may we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali. Thank you
Regards,
Bayu SUTEJA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I booked this hotel 3 months ago through Agoda. Before I come,I had email to remind them, but never reply. When I reached, the staffs told me to wait a while and told us our room was broken. They need send us to other hotel. We was so disappointed as we book so early and the driver who send us to another hotel told us now is Indonesia School Holiday so their room was FULL. So it is not the broken incidents as told by the front officer. the dishonest of the hotel staff makes me very upset and I miss out all my schedule that I plan to do nearby Hotel Neo. They should tell me earlier so that I can find other hotel.They spoiled my honeymoon plan, I will not go for Hotel Neo anymore!!

Room Tip: Never Stay with them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mic0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mic0614, Thank you very much for your feed back with us and apologize inconvenience happen when you will stay in NEO Kuta Jelantik for 1 night . There are misunderstanding information deliver to you when your driving other hotel by our staff due to the road congestion information happened and sure we have some room problem that we not confidence providing to you. We will ensure this quality of our service for future guest satisfaction.
Thank you , Regards. Bayu Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

There are is plumbing issue with this hotel. It smells. That is the major set back. Location is good. Walking distance to shops, food, entertainment, beach & more. Rooms are decent in size with strong showers. Price is friendly but the smell is terrible. You can smell it once the lift door opens. I was staying at level 5. No swimming pool. Parking only fits 2 cars and difficult to wait because it is at a busy street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdLing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mr/s. EdLing77, Thank you very much for constructive feed back regarding smell in corridor 5th floor that issue came from Plumbing, we will do the project for ensure the smell reduce in 5th floor and improve our service in the future. Again,Thank You and Appreciated. Regards,
Bayu Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is located in Legian. Great for those who love to party. Loud music, crazy people & lots of extra entertainment such as Maryjane, Hash, Magic Mushrooms, Pills & cheap one night stands.

Massages in this hotel are worth a try.Swimming pool is very small. Please use the double lock for extra safety & choose rooms with windows. Air cond does not seem to be to cold at night so please request for a room change if you experience sleepless nights.
5 Monkeys is 10 minutes away for those who enjoy burgers, hotdogs & chilled beers. Supermarkets such as Indomaret,Minimart,Circle sell Bintang beer 24 hours a day.Cheapest Bintang is 28,000 ribu.(2 usd) Great location for those who enjoy body & foot massages as well as body scrubs. For those who enjoy nature, please go as far away from Legian.

Ubud,Lovina,Jimbaran, Uluwatu, NusaDua,Sanur are lovely places to enjoy beach walks, stargazing & great for honeymoons. If you want to buy souvenirs, you have an option to bargain in the streets or go to Krisna or air Erlangga which is 20 minutes by bluebird taxi. Only use bluebird taxi's in Bali as others will charge you randomly. Please keep small notes for taxi rides as taxi drivers will take advantage of this situation.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors & request for rooms with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neo_Kuta_Jelantik, Hotel Manager at Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Rajiv777, Thank you for giving us Hotel No.1 as your feed back it was pleasure and happy that you satisfaction stay with us. We will do the maintenance AC services by ensure the quality for our guest satisfaction in future. We are the Neo Brand from Archipelago International as the budget hotel. Wish you will stay with us in your next visit. Regards, Thank you
Bayu Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel NEO + Kuta Legian
Hotel NEO + Kuta Legian
#12 of 72 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#11 of 72 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#25 of 72 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#34 of 72 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
MaxOneHotels @ Legian
MaxOneHotels @ Legian
#41 of 72 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#13 of 72 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik

Address: Jl. Patih Jelantik 188, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Neo Legian Jelantik)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Legian
#16 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel NEO - Kuta, Jelantik has been designed from a guests’ perspective and is ideal for guests on a budget while still offering features and amenities usually associated with more expensive hotels such as LCD TV’s, DVD players, mini bars, tea/coffee makers, hairdryers, vanity mirrors, complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi and IDD telephones. Designed in a modern contemporary style befitting the new trends in hotel design it offers uncluttered open space that creates an atmosphere of relaxation and revitalization in a trendy but reasonably priced environment. What separates Hotel Neo - Kuta, Jelantik from the competition is that extra dimension of design with facilities and services that guests really want and appreciate.Designed and run as a user friendly destination, the hotel strives to cater to the world’s growing population of discerning travelers who want to spend some quality lounging time in interesting and stimulating surroundings. All NEO hotels are non-smoking hotels which means absolutely no smoking anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing