We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth consideration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Hot Deal
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth consideration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I travel to Bali at least 3 times a year and decided to test out The Stones in Legian. Overall this hotel is very good, excellent service, great breakfast and lovely food options provided poolside and in the restaurants during the day. I did discuss a few concerns I had during my stay with management and did feel they took on board what I had to say and I will see how things go the next time I stay. People need to understand that this hotel will be considered by many to be located in Kuta so you need to keep this in mind. Access to restaurants may be difficult for some if you wish to walk, as it is not really that close to any restaurants that I would consider going to. Yes you can walk to the Beachwalk, however it is a fair walk to some of the 'old favourites' and as the traffic flows one way it can be expensive (by Bali standards) to catch taxi's). It is not located close to Poppies as some have presumed (including me) although it is in walking distance if you like a long walk. Rooms and room amenities are great and of a high standard. The pool view rooms in the back wing have a lovely view over the pool and some receive the afternoon sun. The back rooms have no balcony and no view however they would be substantially quieter and will be my choice next visit. I did find the pool view rooms noisy due to the entertainment around the pool late afternoon and early evening although I must say most people did not find this an issue. The bath located on the balcony is a little 'odd', advertised as the bath with a view - great if you want to be seen naked by everyone. You have an option to close the curtains and take a bath which I must admit was ok. Room service was one of the issues I raised with management so I am looking forward to some changes in regard to accessing via room service, restaurant menu meals, served accordingly. I am hopeful that there have been some changes with regard to some of my concerns and as such I will not go into these at this time. Overall if you are looking for a great little resort with friendly staff, good food and great ambience in the Kuta end of Legian, this is worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you are overly sensitive to noise and do not mind not having a view then choose the "garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    187
    59
    15
    8
See reviews for
127
304
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Stones is a medium sized resort type hotel on the beach front. However please note the hotel is not close to the beach and most rooms face either the pool (which means people in the pool can see into your room - especially those with the ground floor plunge pools) or the outside of the hotel (in my case the empty lot next to the hotel).

The lobby is imposing but the pool bar and hotel restaurant are miniscule. Imagine 360 rooms coming for breakfast at the same time... Not enough tables for everyone so there was some standing around. The breakfast is huge but the quality is not that of a luxury hotel. Both mornings I waited 10 mins at the egg station for an omelette, the pre prepared scrambled eggs was either empty for most of the breakfast or looked like liquid eggs. The fruits were tasteless which is surprising for Bali where fruits on the street taste amazing. The dinner wasn't much better. Not tasty but also not overly pricey either.

The rooms were good. Clean, functional. However the bathrooms were weird and uncomfortable. There is no separate bathroom. You walk straight in from the outside into the bathroom (make sure noone is having a shower when you do or else everyone outside will see). There is only a curtain separating the bedroom from the bathroom (and toilet) which means no intimacy.

There was no turn down service. And it took them until after lunch to make the room up despite my hanging on the door the sign asking them to make the room up before breakfast.

The pool is big and clean. There aren't enough sun loungers in the sun (part of the pool is in the shade the whole day) but this is the first time in Indonesia the pool was warm. Which was lovely.

All in all this hotel targets large crowds rather than providing luxury service for individual clients. Don't come if you're looking for individualist treatment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristyGD, Director of Room Operations at The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast aspect and will brief the Food and Beverage team accordingly.

We do make up the room daily and perform turn-down service daily between 5pm to 9pm. For the make-up of room, it’s done anytime between 8am to 5pm depending on the guest movements in and out of the room during the course of their stay. We do apologise for missing it out when you left the "make-up" signage outside your room.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4nights and i fell inlove with this hotel. We have our tub on the balcony with the view of the pool. Beach is just few steps infront of the hotel, food was great. Nasi goreng is a must try. Friendly and accomodating staff. We'll surely go back here.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We chose The Stones as we wanted to stay at a luxury hotel before and after our wedding. We were not disappointed! This is a beautiful hotel in a great location on Kuta beach. The service from all staff at this hotel was fantastic. We loved our ground floor room with a private dip pool. It was very luxurious. The staff also make security a high priority with checks of vehicles, luggage and screening of people on entry.

This hotel is on the expensive side but I would definitely stay again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms with private dip pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A very good property with good location just across the beach at legian Bali.Overall experience is good. Staff are curt,property is new and nicely built,morning breakfast was excellent.Local flee market as well as good mall known as beach walkers mall is hardly 10 mins walk for those who want to shop branded stuff.

Room Tip: If you r couple or newly married prefer ground floor rooms because they have small pool inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We try to go to Bali at least once a year. Normally we stays at Nusa Dua area, but this time (June 2014) my husband wants to try The Stones Hotel at Legian area for 5 days.

We are so lucky because we got upgraded and the bed room is square and big. The only thing is not really my favorite is the bath room is too many glass door, make it so hot during the day, although the bath room is very beautiful and big. One of the Air Conditioner was leaking but they manage to fix it very fast.

We enjoyed our stay at The Stones, not only the hotel but also surrounding area is very happening and you can walk to the near shopping area nearby.

The food at the hotel also very delicious.

The only thing we find little bit annoyed, the security at the Stones Hotel is little bit too much for us as a guests hotel, we perfectly understand that they concerned about safety. Other than that everything is very good.

It's really nice place to change for us. We love the swimming pool and little garden with hammock very relaxing.

Room Tip: Get the big room, the first level with the jaccuzzi bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This Hotel is like an oasis in the middle of Legian, not far from Kuta. The beach is opposite but did not have time to visit it. There is no need to ever leave this Hotel. It has everything you need. Beautiful rooms/fantastic pool/great restaurant. If you do want to leave for a bit of shopping, not far to walk down to Kuta to all the shops! They have a nightclub on the main road that looked like fun! Great stay - would definitely revisit this Hotel next time I go to Bali!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#3 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#5 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#5 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.