We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The rooms were spacious - perhaps the space could have been utilised better - especially in the entrance area, but it all worked. The bath on the balcony was a novelty and well worth a try! The restaurant was good - food to a good quality and not overly pricey for a hotel of this nature. We indulged in happy hour a few times. My only gripes were people smoking in the pool (and leaving their ash in the water) and in the lobby area when the hotel advertises a smoke free policy. The spa was amazing and the massages absolutely amazing - as was the tea we got on arrival at the spa. Staff were all very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    225
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
143
386
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mother Earth
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked here for 5 days. On the first day, our pick up from the hotel did not look for us. We had to call the hotel for them to see us. When we arrived, the security was full on everytime you enter. Two barricades then you have to put your stuff in the security machine then get checked by the security personnel like the airport TSA. It does not feel like a holiday. Afterwhich they found scissors in one of the big luggages and they want us to open and find the scissors at the lobby in our big suitcase. We cant believe it!
Then i arranged a chocolate birthday cake for my boyfriend. They charged me 36$ for a ridiculous looking small cake. Less size of a saucer.
It took them a day to prepare it.
We also ordered a la carte for brekky and we ordered banana pancake. They served us 3 plain dry round pancake on a little plate. MickeyDs was better in taste and presentation.
Do not order room service as it is junk and circle K is better.
We are on our 3rd day and we wont be coming here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristyGD, Director of Room Operations at The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We do apologise over the incidences that has occurred for the past 24 hours. We have already spoken to you in person and we have rectified the issues that you've faced.

Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights late May 2014. Good deal with breakfast. Arrived late evening and was greeted by tight security at the hotel entrance. Spacious lobby and simple reception. Check in was a breeze and we were walked to our room in a short time. However, the walk was quite long since the hotel layout is an L-shape and if your room is towards the end, then it will be a good work out :-)

Talking about work out, the gym is 24-hour, and I could not recall whether there is a sauna or not.

Our room is a cheaper one, so facing other hotels and no balcony. For the rooms with balcony on the upper floor, your bath tub is at the balcony and for those on ground floor (Level 1 according to hotel definition), you will have your private jacuzzi/small pool.

A caution though - rooms 117 - 121 may not suitable for those who prefer privacy since they face the restaurant. In fact all these rooms with jacuzzi/small pool face the hotel pool and there are curtains for privacy.

The room is great, as always :-) Thats why I like Marriott. Good pillow, big bed and comfortable. There is also the iPod dock - which is great. Varieties of TV channels. Actually we stayed in the room most of the time.

The breakfast is neither too much or too little. Same menu everyday. So nothing to shout about.

Staff are attentive. Trying to be pleasant and as always, they are.

The only thing is a bit of long walk from the hotel to the main Jalan Kuta. As Jalan Kuta is a one way street, taking a cab to Kuta Centre means one big round - in which i think in a bad traffic, walking is faster since you can walk against the traffic.
A lot of people walking anyway.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend? Yes - and pls do compare to other hotels such as Sheraton and Pullman.

Before booking this hotel via hotel search engine, try the hotel website itself. Sometimes the deal is better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights and even in the basic room it was gorgeous! For someone like me who went for the weather an not the sites (sorry but Bali is a hole in general) this is the kind of resort I want and need! Staff were very helpful and welcoming! Only negative I could think of was the Turkey bacon! but i guess that's quite common in lots of places.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

From the arrival at the airport till we depart, it was totally amazing! I have visited Bali about 10 times and I must say that this hotel created a lasting impression! The intelligent lightings at the reception, smart lay out of the hotel facilities, we enjoyed every bit of our stay. Hanging out at the beautiful pool with friendly and attentive service staff makes it a true relaxation area. Love their smart room service take aways we had on arrival with funky outfit staff served on quality disposable containers. The beds are comfortable you don't want to get up! Thanks to the breakfast room, a magnet of a food haven will wake you up with the variety of choices and coffee! They have everything that you need, generous and lavish buffet breakfast! Nothing is too difficult for the staff who are attentive to your needs. We love the spa treatment, very pampering and good masseurs! The gym equipment are well maintained and good space though I think it could do better with a bench press or smith machine that will complete the equipments they have.

Staff are very friendly and they look very happy doing their job. Service in hotels are important and I must say they have outdone themselves!

The only setback is the traffic during peak periods which will take a while to clear! The Bali holiday mood and great hotel stay will compensate for it though.

We will return and recommend this hotel for sure! If you are willing to pamper yourself for a reasonable hotel stay, The Stones is the definitely it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldcoast
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

After getting married in Bali we decided to spend our honeymoon here at The Stones.
After we arrived I put our passports back into our travel wallet and counted our Australian money as we had been gifted a fair amount from our family and friends from our wedding a few days prior.
Not thinking much of it I put the travel wallet back in our onboard luggage back pack where we had kept in since arriving in Bali a week earlier.
On day three at The Stones we decided to change some of our Australian money over,I took our travel wallet out where I had left it and immediately knew money had been stolen.
I counted what we had left and to my absolute devastation realized that $765 had been stolen out of our wedding money.
I immediately notified management and after going around in circles with them for over two weeks they told us they could do nothing for us.
We are back home now and are still so hurt and disappointed that such a large amount was taken and mostly because it was a gift from family and friends for our wedding.
We also had to check out of the hotel and go elsewhere as we couldn't bare staying there any longer.
I still feel it should of been handled a lot better and on the spot,not a simple email two weeks later.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristyGD, Director of Room Operations at The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, Lisa and Tori.

As we have mentioned in our correspondence to you, we have lodged an insurance claim with regards to your alleged theft. We also recommended you lodge a police report which you declined to do.

As advised to you in our correspondence last week, our investigation into your claim included reports & CCTV footage which were provided to our insurers. We’ve consequently also informed you that the Insurers advised that as there was no proof of any fault of the staff of the Hotel, and that you had several visitors to your room, they have denied the claim. The insurers also questioned why the safe located in the guest room, and the safety deposit boxes located at the front desk were not used for any valuables or cash.

Should you wish to get in touch with me further, please email me accordingly, as I would be happy to assist you wherever I can.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited the hotel through highly recommended by a friend on choosing The Stones hotel that is a MUST! A perfect choice with a peace of mind indeed!
The safety and security measures by the hotel officers are commendable, the security team do really make their checks and presence felt as you enter and exit the hotel with metal detectors and bag checks! The warmth smiles by all employees you met and greeted are consistent- you know they had a good training just not the lovely Bali smiles. Registration was a delightful experience! Greeted by cheerful Nabilla, served magic cold towels that expand when it is dip in water and colourful popsicles served, what smart touch and delight! We were brought up to the room by the Nabilla who explains about the hotel. The room is beautiful and very practical and comes with a bath tub on the balcony! Our room were nicely located overlooking the beautiful pool! very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast choices and presentation is very good, great selection and taste! The quality of coffee, latte and cappuccino are perfectly brewed by the baristas and Titus, Ana and Ayu greets you and assist you at the restaurant.
The ristaffel dinner were carefully crafted - from soup to mains and deserts taste excellent, good work by Chef Chris who is friendly and visits diners table! The spa team are a gem, a must try and not to be missed for quality experience! Gym facilities are well equipped and spacious with and Gusde will assist you with training support. Thanks to Christy Desa who assisted us on our stay! Good job to The Stones team!
A definite recommendation and must visit, we will be back!

Room Tip: Pool view room a definite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.