We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel and Magnificent Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Getaway for 2
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid Hotel and Magnificent Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I go to Bali quite often and usually I stay in the pool villa in Seminyak area as privacy is what I need when I am on a holiday. So it was a new attempt to stay at a hotel where there are public areas with other vacationers.

I stayed for 10 days this time and I have to say that I enjoyed every second of it!
It is a big hotel but it was not crowded.

The room is very spacious and clean. Daily turn-down service was impeccable!
The room service was delivered in a paper box, Chinese style which I found very cute!
I love to listen to music all the time and BOSE iPod dock came in very handy!
Espresso machine in the room, what else can you ask for!
Bathtub on the balcony is quite something! Around 5pm they have a DJ on the rooftop of the pool bar and a saxist from time to time and it was the best time to take a bath! Listening to chill-lounge music with beautiful sunset! (too bad the convention centre blocks the beach view! Otherwise you could enjoy Kuta beach sunset from your own balcony!)
Big pool, the sun beds in the water, the pool bar, hammock, cabanas, everything is just perfect!
Must try “The Bucket List” with Bintang at the pool bar, the prawns are awesome!
And the location, location and LOCATION! It is so easy to walk to Seminyak or Legian, day or night. Definitely more convenient than when I stayed in Seminyak.

I was really well taken care of and I cannot thank the staffs enough for making my holiday amazingly fabu-licious! 

Would I come back and stay at The Stones again? Heck yeah!
I strongly recommend The Stones! It's worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    186
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
125
304
35
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a new hotel under Marriott's Autograph Collection brand. My type of design - fuss-free, clean, modern and refreshing. Never regretted the decision to stay here along with 2 other friends and indeed the hotel did not disappoint. Upon reaching the hotel, we were impressed by the very big lobby. Checking in was a breeze and we were also served popsicles as weather was humid . It was easy to converse with the staff as all of them speak good english and were very helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was big, spacious and very clean. Other amenities includes the big gym room with the brand new equipments, a big lounge room where you can surf the net or read and there is also a swimming pool with cabanas. Not forgetting to mention the dedication of their very own Director of Rooms, Christy Gunadesa, and Executive Chef, Christopher Smith, for leading great talents in the property. Overall it's a SUPERB HOTEL and i really enjoyed my stay there! The Stones Hotel Bali certainly stand out from other cluster of brands in the Marriott chain. Well done..!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Firstly, I did have very high expectations of this hotel due to the reviews, but I can definitely say I was NOT disappointed! This is by far the best property I have stayed at in Bali, and at the moment on the top for the best I've ever stayed at anywhere!

The rooms are immaculate, very modern with great amenities, we stayed in a deluxe pool view room with the bathtub on the balcony and it was a great bonus. The rooms are cleaned every day without needing to be asked, the room service is fantastic with a great twist that has the meals delivered in packaging so you can take your food down to the pool/beach.

The reception staff are incredibly friendly, with a nice welcome and there is also very tight security which makes you feel super safe.

The pool is the most amazing pool I have seen yet!! It is huge, with day beds and cabanas to relax on all day long. There is heaps of room so it's great if you want a bit of privacy.

The buffet breakfast is hands down the most interesting and delicious I've seen at any hotel. You have the diversity of heaps of different cuisines, even ice cream for brekky?! You can also indulge in a cappuccino, iced coffee or mango smoothie free of charge at the brekky bar. I think this is a winner when most hotels only offer terrible instant coffee.

The location is the one little thing I would change, its about a 20 minute walk from the heart of town, but a good walk after all the food you will eat at brekky. Plus it's directly across from the beach!

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this property, as a travel agent we do have high expectations of hotels and the service they provide, but I without a doubt will forward my clients onto The Stones, so they can experience what I have!! I can't wait to go back :)

10/10!

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe pool view with a private balcony with bath tub and day bed. Definitely go for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We decided to stay here at short notice and it was the best decision we could make.

From the moment we arrived the friendly staff made us feel welcome and at home. The security on arrival ensures your safety whilst staying here is guaranteed.

Checkin was swift and the ice block and refresher towel had a very nice touch.

We decided on a premium pool view room and the plunge pool was fantastic especially after a day out on the streets.

The gym is well equipped and is open 24 hours. The pool side swim up bar is excellent with happy hour nightly from 5pm - 7pm. Recommended are the mango daiquiris!

The restaurant is fantastic and the staff again make it extra special. We had Indonesian on our first night and it was superb.

In our room we enjoyed all the extra special touches such as the Bose iPhone sound system and the illy espresso coffee machine.

The bath robes and slippers were nice. Bathroom had a rain shower with marble floors and walls whilst the main room had a non slip floor. Curtains ensure you can have privacy whilst enjoying the plunge pool.

The nightly entertainment is great. The sax player, the Balinese dancers. The flame performance and the DJ were just some of the highlights.

Overall the stay was great and we would have no hesitation in staying here again and again. Worth every dollar and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at The Stones four times over the period of a few weeks and was quite impressed. Undoubtedly an outstanding breakfast spread with the only negative being that it's totally non-pork products.... and I won't be staying at this hotel again because of that and because of the absolutely, totally excessive metal object security screening. If I can't get pork at a 5-star Marriott hotel in Bali (for crying out loud!!) then I'm not returning; simple as that. And the absolute inanity of subjecting every single person to a metal detector wand body sweep simply because the staff (from the head of security down) aren't trained in how to properly adjust the walk-through metal detector is really just beyond belief for a hotel of this class. Finally, the location of this resort is both advantageous and disadvantageous. Because the local and provincial governments choose to not properly manage traffic flow, parking and vehicle types throughout the Kuta / Legian district, the area is destined to remain a nightmare to negotiate (except for those few hours between 3a.m. and 7a.m.). The result, for premium guests of the hotel, can often be very uncomfortable and long commutes to and fro.

Now, having got that off my chest, the pros may (for you but not for me) outweigh the cons.

The rooms are lavishly appointed; WiFi Internet is very good and easily accessed; staff are knowledgeable (for the most part) and friendly (without reservation); dining is of the finest available for the price and you'll even be surprised occasionally; the spa is excellent; the pool refreshing; the sunset entertainment entrancing.

Enjoy The Stones................just keep in mind where its located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was there recently for a short trip to unwind and rejuvenate and the hotel fulfilled my aims. Security was tight which was reassuring. Front desk staff were welcoming/warm and the general arrival feel was immediately relaxing. At the reception, i got a peek of the pool and immediately wanted to just "rot" there. The room was simply awesome - got a room with a bathtub in the balcony with privacy curtain. Wow! Changed and went to the pool to relax and it was just that - relaxing, hugh pool with swim up bar (where i had a couple of drinks). Got back and tried the bathtub and there was music from the two piece band by the pool (dont forget to draw your curtain). Breakfast was at the cafe by the pool with choice of outdoors/indoors. Food was sufficient - try the porridge. Didnt look appetizing but when you have it, you want more - I did. Warning - the chilli is super spicy but was GREAT!. Staff was quick to attend to you and get you your requests. You can relax again by the pool after breakfast with a choice of daybeds, sunbeds, hammock between trees or soak in the warm jacuzzi. Now doesnt that sound like a holiday with good product and good service? I will be back very soon. Thanks to all staff who made my stay so relaxing, enjoyable and rejuvenating. Special mention to Christy whom I met while there and who helped make my stay what it was - GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: make sure you get one with bathtub in balcony. May cost a bit more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Stones with a couple of friends during our short weekend getaway. The design of the hotel and room, not forgetting the breakfast spread are just fabulous. Though it was only a short trip, it was an enjoyable and unforgettable one. What makes the place so special and outstanding is the great service that the staffs have delivered. The genuine smile and friendly greetings each day makes me feel so welcomed and it just brightens up my day even more. Thumbs up for Christy, Chef Chris and their wonderful team. You guys are awesome. Will definitely be back again. Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#3 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#5 Family Hotel in Legian
#5 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.