We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this property for three nights Dec 7/8/9. I was thrilled that a hotel of that size could have such an intimate feel. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. There is not a person you walk by that does not raise their head to make eye contact and smile and say hello. They also surprised me by remembering the drinks we liked while poolside. I like early morning beach walks and everyday the breakfast staff would tell the others in my group what time I had gone out and if I was coming back to have breakfast with them...something I didn't even ask them to do, but it was a nice feel to know they were watching out for me. Christy, the director of rooms, is a wonderful asset to the team. Whenever we had questions or sought advice, he was happy to oblige even doing some research on occasion to find the information for us. I went to the spa two days in a row, it was lovely, quiet and their techniques very good. They really take their time with you. The rooms are very modern and roomy...and you get a plunge pool or a bathtub on your balcony...how cool is that? Also, the many shallow areas in the pool allow for lots of sunbathing and you can follow the sun as the day passes. All in all, a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this property as it is modern, sophisticated, relaxing oasis when compared to the hustle and bustle of the Legian area of Bali.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    226
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
144
386
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Checked into The Stones a few days ago, and everything has been wonderful. True, it's only been open five days but I have no doubt it will be a big success. The look of the place reminds me in many ways of Miami. The cabana feeling of the drapes and chaises on the terraces especially. The lobby is a massive play of coordinating marble and enormous pieces of petrified wood act as sofa benches. Little touches like gemstone groupings under the reception desks also remind me of Miami - that is, playful kitsch.

The rooms are simple, light and modern. The beds are very good. The bathrooms are efficient and beautiful. Separate roomy glass cubicles for the toilet (all marble, a high seat and Asia style accompanying hose) and shower (with two shower heads) are extremely well thought out.

The food in the restaurant is good, and room service is fast and also good.

The staff is a delight.

A fantastic addition to Legian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Fact:
-Next to region beach
-In the heart of the tourist region (not sure if this is a good or bad thing, depending on you) --> easier to walk around than other places in bali since it for tourist, however it is impossible to find local foods.
-Free internet
-60,000 from airport to hotel
-70,000 from hotel to airport
-2 bottle of water per day is free



Pro
-Brand new hotel (president of Indonesian came to the grand opening on Dec 12/12/12 and left at noon - lot of 12s..
-A special brand of Marriott -- which is nice, it allows you to use marriott reward points etc but at the same time unqiue.
-Friendly staff
-Sometimes they have real saxaphone by the pool.
-Most beautiful pool - one of the best.
-Love the bathtub on the balcony (they have bath balls for guest)
-There is also a performance on weekend on the pool (fire dance and barong dances)
-There hotel is a little tuck away from the street, so you dont have to deal with the noises from horrible traffic of the main road.
-You can get laundry done at Douglas Laundry around the corner (about 10 minutes walk from hotel), they charged us 15,000 RPH per kilo (average is 5,000) but since its hotel area, they overcharged, but we are on a tight schedule. However still cheaper than hotel .
-THey have and area for netted swings (forgot what you call them) by the pool side, which is nice.

Con
-Not enough light in front of the sink (hard for me to to put on makeup)
-Phone makes noises in the morning if there is a power outage, happened to me twice
-Bathroom shower hard to turn off
-Need some bigger mug for tea, they only have expresso mugs.
-Breakfast buffet was mediocre not very good compare to other place I have started

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This brand new property is really the place to stay during your visit to Bali should you wish to stay near the buzz.
The large pool is main attraction of the hotel and not to mention the sexy bathtub by the balcony is so cool.
From the Director of Rooms Mr Christy to the Stones Kitchen server to the pool bar server all were very sincere and warm with their service. I am totally impressed with their anticipation of needs and remembering guest names. Each morning during breakfast and our sun-bathing sessions at the pool we were greeted by names.
Kudos to the team at The Stones Hotel especially Christy, Fitri, Surya, Iwan, Riani and the Housekeeping team!!!

Room Tip: Must have the pool view room. Otherwise your stay at The Stones is incomplete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Stones is a brand new hotel managed by the Autograph Collection (a Marriott subsidiary). For the special rate I'm paying (my cousin who's in our party of 5 is a Marriott employee in SF) I'm enjoying my stay so far. The hotel's located on Jl. Pantai Kuta, at almost the north end of it (the south end was Hard Rock Hotel). It takes about 30 minutes to leisurely walk from one end to the other. The entrance of the hotel was this entertainment complex with restaurants and lounge pools facing the sea. Pretty cool place to hang out for young people it seems. I haven't spent any time there, so can't say much bout it.

The atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxed, with the most of the staff wear shorts and flipflops. Service has been decent tho. Everyone I made eye contact with greeted me with a smile and was happy to help, tho I have to say they're not as attentive as the staff in some other 5-star hotels I've stayed at in Bali.

What I love about this hotel:
- the property is brand new. in fact, yesterday was its grand opening night, so everything is in great condition.
- the pool. It's huge with sun beds scattered all over. There's also a small island with palm trees and hammocks tied in between. A nice place to chill during the day.
- the bathtub in the patio. I don't use it (I shower, I don't take baths) but it's a cool and fun idea.
- ice cream selections in the breakfast buffet! lots of tropical fruit too. And nutella for my pancakes.
- the location is quite convenient. It's right across from the beach (however no beach view, FYI), and the Beachwalk, this new hip open air mall with plenty of decent eat, is only a short 10-15 min walk.
- the espresso machine in the room. Beats the regular electric pot.

What I don't love so much about it:
- supposedly all Marriott hotels are smoke free. Yet the several times I was in the lobby, people were smoking everywhere and the staff did nothing about it. Disappointing.
- the location. Yes, it's convenient for walkers, but if you need to get in and out by taxi, Jl. Pantai is notorious for traffic during random hours of the day/evening/night. To be fair, the hotel can't do anything about this. This is just the con of all hotels located down Jl. Pantai and Jl. Legian.
- The lobby, tho big, isn't the best place to be in if you need to wait for your room or wanna meet up with non-guest friends. There isn't much place to sit, and the few seats that are there aren't exactly comfortable.
- the tight security. I have to put all my belongings through an Xray machine and the guards would do a body scan with their little hand held sensor to all the guests who walk into the lobby. I know this is actually a good thing that they're keeping the hotel safe, but I find it a bit of a hassle.
- the crowd. There was this conference going on during our stay and there were TONS of people. At night, the pool area was closed because they used it for a function for this event. Not cool.
- the pool's really dark in the evening that hardly anyone would want to swim after 6pm ish.

All things considered, it's a decent place to stay at. Is it recommended? Yes to those who appreciate a large pool and are looking for a 4-5 star hotel to stay at in Jl. Pantai (Kuta area). Would I stay here again? Only if I get a really good deal like I did this time. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. I don't know what's the view of the rooms across the hall, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The room is nice n the staff there really friendly n helpful.the only thing is about the breakfast , Many flies fly over the foods and I hope will be improve soon. Will bring my family stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just coming to the end of a 5 night stay here and it is a really beautiful hotel. A couple of points to think about, as I don't swim or even sit around pools I booked a standard garden view, big mistake on my part The pool is the centre piece of this hotel. You have to see it to believe it. Many people got an upgrade but sadly not me!! I inquired and was told 50 usd per night. Shame because I was a single with a double booking. The included breakfast at where I lingered for a long while each morning was very nice and the staff very keen to please in every possible way. Happy hour by the pool each evening was also enjoyable. There is a brand new Sheraton opening very close by which will be competition for this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.