We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of POP! Hotel Kuta Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added POP! Hotel Kuta Beach to your Saves list
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kubu Bene, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Since it is a new hotel, it is not known among taxi drivers as it is tucked in a quiet lane of Legian.
Most taxi drivers will just drop you off the main road which is bustling with tourists, however from the main road to hotel is easily accessible by foot.

My younger sister enjoyed the stay here as they have a rather kiddy theme.
They have a nice swimming pool and there are some PCs setup in the lobby area for free internet surfing.

Overall, we had a good stay here as it is just 5mins walk to the famous Kuta / Legian beach.
The hotel is situated just right next to the Best Western Kuta Beach Hotel. All the hotel staff are very polite and courteous. That added a great value to our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Missytrez in Singapore,

Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasant for us to know our guest enjoyed staying in POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali.
I believe you had great holiday in Bali and experienced all the uniqueness, simplicity and traditional culture of Bali.

Our colorful hotel will always be ready to provide you a comfortable accommodation with good value and all in one rate.
Colorful ambiance is designed in order to give dynamic, cheerful and energetic spirit to our guest.

We hope to see and welcome you soon in POP! Hotels.
Wish you always have a great day ahead...
Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    132
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
34
73
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room is nice and clean. Air conditioning is only available in the rooms not in the hallway or even the lobby. The location is quite far from the main road which for me not within walking distance. Breakfast is included. There are computers in the lobby, wifi, and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Try to have a pool-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Dhapsoro,

Thank you for your review. Our guest review always be a valuable thing for us to improve our service and facility in the future.

POP! Hotel Kuta Beach is a budget hotel, strategically located 300 meter from the main spot of famous Kuta Beach and Legian street on the other side of direction, that will allow you to spend your time in different ambiance, whether you choose to have shiny day in Kuta Beach or enjoy variety of culinary and Bali night life in Legian street.

We hope that you had great time in Bali.
Our team will be always happy to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and Jakarta.
Once again, thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makassar
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

located near to kuta beach, but you'll have to drive more than 300 m through the small alley to reach the hotel, i think it's not within the walking distance.
i recommend to rent a motorcycle or a car, the alley was big enough for a car.
a lot of parking space.

not so friendly staff.

the room was so smelly, perhaps because of the fiberglass bathroom cabin.
i request to be move to the other room, because i can't stand the smell.

i really don't like their capsule tube like cabin for the bathroom (included shower and toilet bowl) that was very very uncomfortable.

The capsule cabin bathroom was made of fiber glass that consisted of toilet bowl next to the shower without any separation.

The swimming pool was great, they even provided towel service. It was big, and clean.

There were a complimentary light bite breakfast every morning in the lobby.
They provided only coffee, tea and mineral water from the water dispenser.
2 main course which were the local traditional corn rice and fried rice wrapped with the banana leaf.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Vitruvian,

Thank you for your review. any of our guest review and comment always be a big encouragement for us to be better and stronger in the future.
We apologize for any inconvenience happen during your stay regarding the smell you have in your room. We will follow up and ensure that it won't happen again in the future.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide a good room accommodation with limited of service. Our room is designed in a compact, including shower Pod model for space efficiency and comfort of the guest.

Thank you very much, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks a go for three days. As we were a group of 10, it was a reasonable price for 5 rooms booked in advance.

The location is pretty good, the narrow windy lane can be deceiving, but it is only a five minute walk to the beach and 10-15 minutes to Beachwalk and Hard Rock Cafe. Some taxi drivers don't seem to know there is a direct approach to the hotel from Jl. Pantai Kuta and take the long way through Poppies (maybe a ruse to increase the meter but who knows..) so watch out for that.

I made a reservation through their own website and was asked to provide a deposit in advance by bank transfer or a copy of my credit card to debit, I would never send copies of credit cards, and certainly not in Indonesia so be aware of that. I'm not sure of the reason for this stipulation regarding deposits but I found it a bit of a nuisance. Despite paying the whole amount almost two months in advance, upon check in the receptionist could not find any record of my payment and only when I produced receipts and correspondence from their reservation office did he accept it, even then making us wait while he made phone calls to check. I did not find this at all acceptable. A different member of staff did speak to me the next morning and said sorry, and that it was due to a 'system error'. The same 'system error' prevailed later in the day when a new guest was checked into one of our rooms as apparently the room we had did not correspond with their system. Another 20 minutes to sort this out, luckily my friends were not in bed or whatever.

The rooms are as expected from this type of hotel, if you are from the UK or Europe think of Easyhotel, same set up without the orange theme. The rooms are a good size, the aircon very powerful and the beds very comfortable.

The swimming pool, not olympic size but enough for a cool down and splash around. I can imagine the ground floor rooms could suffer noise issues as they literally look out onto it. Wifi is provided free, and worked fine without issues, there are also computer terminals to use in the lobby.

Breakfast is provided as a bonus, basically small nasi bungkus, and tea or coffee. Given that it is effectively free, it is acceptable.

The staff were generally approachable, I would stay here again, as for the check in issues, looking at things from both sides of the counter, these things can happen so I don't hold a grudge, hopefully they will make sure it does not happen again. Next time I will book through Agoda or one of the other prepaid sites so I don't have to bother with bank transfers.

All in all, a good break.

Room Tip: choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying in POP! Hotels Kuta Beach Bali. It is great to know you enjoy staying in our hotel.

To make easier in payment process for our guest, we are working now to get the online payment system in our website, hopefully we can finish it soon by this semester.
At the moment, our online reservation system request a valid credit card number for verification. The one night charge will be automatically charged to your credit card 3 days upon your check in date, so the guest doesn't need to go to ATM or bank to do bank transfer for deposit.

Your input is highly appreciated. It is our commitment to give best solution to our guest, to be easier, efficient and safe for any transaction made by the guest.

Once again, thank you for your review and input.
See you soon in POP! Hotels...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was excited when I arrived at the hotel, seeing such a fancy building. It has a nice swiming pool, free wifi and PC at the lobby for public use. Rooms are fancy as well with an in-flight kind of toilet. But the toilet is not lockable. Staffs are all friendly. I even requested them help me to call for a McDonalds delivery, they agreed with warm smile. Also, they provide morning bite. As it is called morning bite, only 2 types of Balinese food, coffee and tea are provided. Or if you want to try something else, there is a restaurant nearby named Totemo. I highly recomend you guys to try out that restaurant coz its cheap and foods are nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest in Kuala Lumpur,

Many thanks for your nice review and choosing POP! Hotel as your place to stay. It is a pleasant to know that you have good staying experience in our Hotel

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel, established in 2010 as a good place for our smart and eco friendly traveller and good value of money. We always put the high standard of product & cleanliness quality to be a top priority given to our guest.

Thank you very much for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and Jakarta.
See you soon ...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As the taxi wound its way up a VERY dark alley, I started to question my choice. However, I soon changed my mind. The most important point to note about this hotel is that it is very cheap. With a cheap hotel, there is an expectation of shoddiness, but I felt that Pop Hotel Kuta was more than adequately clean and well presented. The decor is a bit barking - my friends and I had a peculiar fondness for the startled monkey picture on the lifts - with a tendency toward a headache-inducing lime green, but spotlessly clean. The reception staff were polite and helpful, and the public areas neat and tidy.

Our rooms were compact but clean and cozy with comfortable beds and an actual duvet (not sheets as seems to be standard in budget accommodation in SE Asia) and a TV. The bathroom felt like being in an aeroplane. A grey plastic aeroplane, but I honestly don't go on holiday to spend large quanities of time in the bathroom, so therefore did not care.

We didn't use the pool, instead favoring the beach - a short and reasonably pleasant stroll from the hotel - but it looked nice, though not many people were using it, just a few random men in small Speedos, which might explain why nobody else was using it.

We also didn't have breakfast in the hotel (choosing instead to sleep off the excesses of Kuta nightlife), but it appeared to be standard Indonesian breakfast fayre - ricey spicey.

The location was excellent, suspended betwixt Legian Beach and Kuta's best nightlife-wise.

My only complaint would be that the internet was painfully slow. Painfully. I gave up and went to the internet cafe just down the lane instead.

All said, it suited our purpose perfectly - a clean spot to shower and rest our heads. I would stay here again (but not on a romantic break - too green, too many pictures of monkeys).

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool, which was fun for laughing at big men in small trunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jay,

Many thanks for your nice review and input to POP! Hotel Kuta beach Bali. It is a pleasant to know that you have good time staying in our hotel.

Our hotel bring the concept " Good night sleep for smart and eco friendly travelller". Monkey image in our lift is part of our eco green campaign to save the trees and forest that become the habitat for the monkey in the world. We have done some internal action in the hotel too, by reduce the paper used, planting the trees, provide rubbish bin along the beach, which we believe that small green action can bring big result in the future if we do consistently. We hope our little monkey image can bring awareness to the better green environment.

Hopefully you had great days in Bali, and staying in POP!, can help you to refresh your days.
We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and Jakarta.

See you soon...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A basic hotel that has a small pool, a few computers, free wifi and very helpful staff. the place is always spotless, the beds are comfy and the rooms have aircon. for the price this place is really good, and its only 10 minutes walk (or less) to the beach. If you are on a budget and want aircon then cool. an Indonesian style breakfast of rice and spices and a coffee self service. Westerners are in a minority in this hotel but that suited me fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Matt,

Many thanks for your review. Great to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali.
Hope you really enjoy your day in sunny Bali island, and refresh you once you come back to your country.

It is our priority to give a comfy accommodation with good value of money and basic needed of our guest in the hotel.

Hope we will see you soon in Bali, we are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, either in Bali, Yogyakarta, Bandung and Jakarta.

Enjoy your day ....

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to POP! Hotel Kuta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Kuta Beach

Address: Jl. Kubu Bene, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Kuta Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the legendary Kuta Beach area in Bali, POP! Hotel Kuta Beach offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure.All POP! Rooms include comfy Double Bed, innovative Shower Pod, Free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV, free Morning Bite and complimentary bottled water.Property FeaturesOutdoor Swimming PoolLift / Elevator/ Non-Smoking Rooms/ Free Parking/ 24 hour Reception/ Non-Smoking Property/ WiFi Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your POP! Hotel Kuta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.