We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magani, magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magani Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Magani Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Magani Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Magani, magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a find? This hotel lived up to its high ranking. It is in Legian and the promotional picture would suggest that it is on an unused road with no buildings around it. Nothing could be further from the truth but this cross between a boutique resort and modern hotel enhanced our break in Bali fabulously. The staff is attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble: requesting tall glasses of iced water with lime at poolside was met with a smile, lounge delivery and no charge.

The rooms (we were upgraded for free to a spa room on the 4th floor for the last week) were fabulous. Everything was there, everything worked and there was twice daily servicing (including a mozzie spray in the evening). The only negative comment is that there is a paucity of available power points. If you have a lot of things that need simultaneous powering, get a power board! The wifi is complementary and throughout the hotel although it is that annoying Bali wifi with a web-based login page that requires restarting every time you turn your device off and sluggish speeds with limited bandwidth.

The hotel feels like an isolated boutique resort. It is only when you leave the building that you really know how busy and noisy it is out there.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (MozzarellA: a chain with another branch on the beach) but people seemed to be having a good time there, particularly sitting on the first floor balcony overlooking the bustling street below.

Staff is extremely friendly and it is impossible to go anywhere without an apparently genuine greeting of good afternoon or whatever. Someone not staying here remarked that this hotel has the friendliest security guards in the world!

Highly recommended in Legian.

Room Tip: Seems like higher is better. Getting a spa room is worthwhile: they are huge and the spa bath works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    116
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
102
245
30
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our company recently held a sales workshop over 3 days at The Magani (27 people all up). The rooms are lovely, very modern and contain everything you need. The service levels were amazing, and ensured our conference ran smoothly. The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The meeting facilities are terrific, with lots of small touches like multiple flower arrangements included for no extra charge.
Eka (hotel sales executive) was amazing to deal with in the lead up to the event, highly professional and patient with requests and changes.
The Magani is a great value hotel in a convenient spot, and I would highly recommend it for corporate events too.

Room Tip: External facing rooms don't have a view of the room, but are quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, thoroughly enjoyed it! Such a relaxing time either lounging by the pool or at the beach which is a dry short walk away. The location in general is very good actually for bars, restaurants and shops. We also had massages in the spa which were lovely and very good value for money. We ate in the restaurant a few times too - once for dinner and twice for lunch. Some things are not good value in that the portion size is small. Water is also quite pricey in comparison so have a 'healthy' drink instead!

The room we had was great - good size, had a DVD player and the bathroom was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just over a week ago my husband and I were in Bali for a delayed honeymoon. We had booked a few nights at a hotel in Legian but had to check out on the 10th as there was no accomodation available that night in our hotel. So we decided to stay a few nights at the Magani before we moved on to Seminyak.
So glad we did.
I made mention in my booking that it was our honeymoon and the staff at the Magani went above and beyond to ensure we had a stay to remember.
We received a welcome drink and towel on arrival. Which was lovely and the staff were so welcoming. They asked about our wedding and even asked to see some of our photos. We were delighted to find out we had been upgraded to a premier pool room.. Then when we entered our room we found 2 swans made from towels, petals, flowers and a cake to wish us a happy honeymoon.
The staff always went above and beyond.. Nothing was too difficult.
Breakfast each day was lovely in the restaurant. You can't go wrong with a Mozarella though.

My only regret was that we didnt have enough time there to truly enjoy our private pool. Thanks again to all at the Magani. We will hopefully see you all again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Everything they say about the Magani is true. We had a girls trip booked, and had 2 rooms, with 3 beds in each. The standard rooms are not huge, but clean and roomy enough. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of legian. Easy walk to everything, plenty of restaurants, shopping etc. The biggest asset is the staff. They went above and beyond to ensure all our needs were met and more. We travelled with my 8yo girl and the pool staff played with her all day one day,they arrived with balls and pool toys to keep her entertained and allowed me to relax and read my book. Even asking would she be back tomorrow for more games. It's true the shower and pool drainage system needs to be looked at again, causing flooding in both areas, but this wasn't enough to mark them down. All the little touches make the Magani memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was horrified at how much i didn't like Legian when we arrived. Lucky for me we had decided to stay at the Magani and didnt have to leave the hotel if i didnt want to. We booked the Magani as it was ranked no. 1 on trip advisor but i was apprehensive however we weren't disappointed. The staff are super attentive and our room was well equipped with a fresh fruit platter, nice and clean and overlooked the amazing pool area. The Breakfast is also really great with plenty to choose from and amazing grainy bread like they have in Aus :) I honestly cant say a bad thing about the Magani we organized a driver to the airport through the hotel and he was also lovely and helpful. Everything you want! Amazing pool, gym, spa, bar and restaurant and of coarse a nice comfy bed!

Room Tip: Opt for Pool view. 2nd floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I have very little to say about the hotel that is negative. It is surrounded by shops, bars and other hotels. It's a 2-3 minute walk to the beach so is super convenient. The rooms are large and well appointed and kept very clean.
The staff are very good and on arrival and departure, make a special drink. Both of which were delicious.

There were a couple of things that are very small that I would change about the hotel. I'm not sure why big hotels insist on putting water softener in the water. Neither my boyfriend or I like it as it feels like you're bathing in unclean water. Also, the music at the pool is loud and very repetitive. We stayed at the pool for a few hours one day and heard a Jack Johnson album at least 3 times!

Overall, if you want to stay in Legian, this hotel is very nice and is good value for money. My recommendation is that you avoid Legian altogether. It's cheap and trashy and full of bars with cabaret type singers 'entertaining' customers. I wish I had skipped it and gone straight to Seminyak where the bars and restaurants are more tasteful. You pay more for accommodation but its definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magani Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magani Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#1 Spa Hotel in Legian
#1 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Family Hotel in Legian
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magani Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on lively Melasti street in Legian, Bali, The Magani boasts 108 rooms including 67 deluxe rooms, 7 deluxe suites, 20 premier rooms with private plunge pool, and 14 Magani suites with private outdoor Jacuzzi. All rooms are equipped with chic décor, king size bed, plasma TV, walk-in shower bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities and safe deposit box. The Magani is equipped with international hotel facilities.The Magani Hotel & Spa is meticulously designed to indulge the mind, body and soul of the hectic-living urban travelers This city boutique resort concept accords the highest level of service of its kind by offering a chic lifestyle transformation.THE MAGANI affords a fine urban product of its style on a smart location. A personalized genuine friendly service by its amicable staff is proven to be the paramount asset in sustaining client’s patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Magani Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magani Hotel And Spa Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magani Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.