We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay Again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jayakarta Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jayakarta Bali to your Saves list
Jayakarta Bali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay Again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading some negative reviews on here I was dubious about staying but was hoping for the best. We went as 3 families and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the Apartments and whilst appeared a little tired on first look, within a day it felt like home. The air con was freezing (which was amazing after a long hot day of shopping), the beds were soooo comfy and the pool area was fab. The breaky was yummy with plenty to choose from. The staff were all quite friendly, always greeting us when we walked past. It was walking distance to fab markets and amazing restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    330
    252
    129
    91
See reviews for
323
266
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deniliquin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our family recently stayed here after my husband and I stayed in October 2012. The location of this hotel is perfect....a 20 minute stroll along the beach and you are at kuta discovery mall...close to shops for supplies...central to shopping....taxi costs $2 to get into kuta square....we loved it here. Yes it's not a 5 star hotel like in Australia however the staff are friendly and helpful and the security guards on the front gate are very helpful. I had an address for an orphanage and the security guard organised an English speaking taxi to take us. Yes some rooms are further away from the pool however we spent a night in a room next to the pool and it was quite noisy at 7am with children swimming so we were glad we were further back. The apartments were big enough for our family of 4. Room service was delicious and the pizza bar was fantastic for a snack during the day. We didn't eat at night this time and chose poco loco which is a 2 min walk away, the deck which was on the beach side and other places along the beach. I walked the beach side at night to get supplies a few times and found it very safe. A must for any1 is the great bloke on the beach side cooking corn.....yum yum!!!! And if you take kids I took my 10year old to dilip on the beach to hire surfboards off him....my son had never surfed however he went out for 30 mins helping him get up. People need to remember its not 5 star but when you look at the beautiful 3 pools...the location and the staff it's wonderful. We will stay here again as the kids loved the pools, it was reasonably priced and housekeeping were very helpful. Can't wait to go back here!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hi all, we booked the hotel apartments, but was not really to our liking. The staff were very understanding in helping us find alternative accommodation in the 300 block. Everyone at this hotel goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and greet you with a smile. The room was comfortable and cleaned daily.
A great location with only a short walk along the beach front to Melasti street and plenty of restuarants as you walk out. Room service was excellent and the food is well priced in the pizza bar. More people would spend time at the swim up pool bar if the prices were lower for grog.
Will go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland, australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Jayakarta late last year. I go to Bali every year and have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels. I found it to be a great hotel, I was a little worried because some sites say 3.5 star and i had read not very good reviews, all I can say is it's a typical Balinese style hotel. Beautiful swimming pools, lovely gardens, buffet breakfast.Nice staff.Security checks at gate, The beach is straight out in front of hotel We had two deluxe rooms side by side each other as requested. I could not fault it.
What I will say is that my mum had read reviews that a particular area of rooms were terrible, and when she heard we were going to be staying in those rooms, she started to pipe up and say no we are not staying in those rooms. I told her to calm down and not to go off until we had seen our rooms. So when my mum opened her door, she could not find anything at all to fault, She had to swallow her words, sha said it was lovely, so don't believe everything you read.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Whilst the Jayakarta Hotel itself was ok, needed a bit of a makeover and the staff needed a good injection of the Bali hospitality and friendliness they are famous for, the treatment we received after our possessions were stolen from our hotel room was really quite disgusting. Firstly I would like to point out, there are signs all over the Hotel clearly stating they take no responsibility for stolen valuables and we put our passports and money safe and sound in the safe deposit box. Unfortunately we were using our phones and cameras (being on holiday and all) so they were left in our locked room whilst we went downstairs to the pool. We returned to our hotel room to find our valuables gone and our suitcases rendered useless. There was no sign of forced entry. We were about to return home and determined not to let this ruin our holiday and having travel insurance we reported the incident to reception and security and requested a report to provide our travel insurers. The immediate reaction was that this had never happened before. We returned with security to the scene of the crime and everyone appeared to be helpful and genuinely concerned right up until I again asked for a report for my insurers, stressing that we in no way held them responsible. They simply refused to give us a report saying the items were stolen from the Hotel, stating the reason as " The Police always advise to say it didn't happen in the hotel room". I'm not sure when the police always advised them of this considering it has never happened before?? They procrastinated, went as slow as possible and were as difficult as possible watching the clock tick away knowing we had a plane to catch. They made us feel like we were the criminals. They advised reporting it to the police was not an option as it would take 5 - 7 hours to get served and we would miss our flights. Only when we advised we would miss our flights if necessary as the stolen items were worth more than our plane tickets could we finally extract a report from them, although they were adamant they would not acknowledge it happened in the hotel room despite the fact it has already been established that is exactly where it happened. We were searched and I admit, and a meeker person would have been somewhat intimidated. We asked to use the phone (as ours had been stolen from their hotel) to call the insurance company to ensure we had everything we needed. We were advised it would cost some excessive amount a minute to which we replied, "we have money.. give us the phone." We finally got our half hearted, sketchy report after raising our voices (over 2 hours later) and starting to raise the attention of other guests. as I said, we had insurance and the phones, ipods etc were all passcoded and locked so the burgulary did not terribly phase us, but the aftermath with the staff felt like a bad episode of "Locked up Abroad".

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked out holiday through Escape Travel. It was a very affordable package so I was not expecting the Grand Hyatt but was thinking more along the lines of a Country Comfort Hotel or Flag Inn. It was NOTHING like the web pictures. Dark, dreary, and just so sad. The only thing missing from our room was the outline of a dead body. The room itself was clean, and just so miserable. The pictures, the beds, the bathroom, all just so ugh. After check in (service was neither here nor there) my family and I went to the pool to consider our options and have a drink. The pool was clean but the pool area on the whole was miserable. We had a couple of very expensive burgers what using the Wi-Fi to book elsewhere. We lost out on the accommodation costs as it was prepaid but as the hotel we went to was not much more and was FABULOUS, so we were not too fussed. Would recommend that unless you are hiding from the law or need a secret location to make bootleg liquor, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayakartaBali, Sales and Marketing Manager at Jayakarta Bali, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ruthyroo1974,

Thank you for your time to write a review toward our resort during your stay recently.

On behalf of The Management and Staff, we do apologies for being on lack servicing you and it will be great opportunity for us to serve you better in the next visit to our resorts.

All of our team will be aware and happily to create a better way to serve you and your family,.
We are all looking forward to welcoming back at The Jayakarta Bali, Beach Resorts and SPA

Best Regards,

I Wayan Waras
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There have been a lot of negative reviews for the Jayakarta but hopefully my review will help you decide for yourself.

The hotel itself is the typical Bali style building which is the reason you go overseas for a holidy. If you want western style stay at home. The location is fantasic for the beach, great restaurants, night life and shopping for those inclined.

We have stayed 4 or 5 times at the Jayakarta both with and without kids for periods of up to two weeks. If you do your research the best rooms are located in the area known as Residence A. All the rooms and suits are privately owned and for the most part by Aussies or Kiwis. Although privately owned you have full use of all the hotel facilites and your rooms are made up daily.

Because the rooms are privately owned the cleaning staff are very helpful and you get to know them ocer your stay. They are bound by hotel policy can offer you advice and recommend tours and provide all important local contacts.

Only once did we have a problem with our room but as the owner provides a mobile number one text back to Australia and local staff were there within minutes to correct.

Don't let the negative reviews put you of the hotel. The pools (3) are great as to is the gym and the beach front bar.

One critism is the cost of meals in the main hotel restaurant. For us this isn't a problem as you are surrounded by so many great resturants and that is one of the attractions a late afternoon walk to select a place for the evening meal.

Do your research and google Residence A and you will have a ball.

If you stay here you must visit Raymond Beach Bar. Walk straight out the gate on the beach side and cross the paved walkway and get onto the beach. Raymonds is on the right. The best way to spend the afternoon.

Room Tip: Book a room or suite from Residence A. Dont go Residence B or mainhotel. Room 6522 great for familie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jayakarta Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayakarta Bali

Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#25 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayakarta Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jayakarta Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
Jayakarta Bali Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jayakarta Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.