We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip To Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alam KulKul Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Legian
1 review
“Our Trip To Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

A fun filled trip with my kids. All I can say is the hotel AlamKulKul was Excellent. Very grateful to the GM Aru who is a family friend for his hospitality and generosity.
I will definitely go back to Bali again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    189
    65
    23
    17
See reviews for
119
165
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed in a family room with separate beds for our 2 boys and with simple furnishing. Pool was small and run down. The worst experience was to be bitten by bed bugs! Though our request for change of room was granted, we dare not return again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

This was my second time at Alum Kul Kul, and I was even more impressed than before. The Kuta area is quite busy, but this hotel is a quiet refuge in a good location. Although the rooms are nice, the restaurant is good, and the pools are just right, the thing that impressed me most was the staff. The Guest Relations person named Fina who checked me into the hotel was very helpful and gave great recommendations about the area and Bali in general. Every special request for travel assistance and information throughout my stay was greeted with the perfect mix of charming island hospitality and perfect efficiency. I write for a magazine and travel all over the world, so I am not easily impressed. Thanks to Fina and the staff at Alum Kul Kul, I felt very welcome and just wish I could have stayed longer.
Also, the guys at the pool bar created a nice atmosphere with fun music, and the Jamu Spa is one of the best in Asia. The beach is just across the street, and an ATM and several stores are a short walk. I was also impressed with the included breakfast. You can get a traditional Balinese/Indonesian breakfast as well as a huge array of western dishes, pastries, a fresh fruit. No matter where you go on Bali, stay here for at least a few days.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I organised a retail therapy trip for myself and two friends. I had been to Bali previously and to Papa's cafe which I love and thought the next time I will stay at the Alam KulKul. I booked a quadruple room which was very spacious, the beds very comfortable, the only downside was the windows. They were frosted so we had no view. I did have a look at a villa with the see through doors to the toilet and shower, nice but I think I will try the Lanai rooms which are located near the swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a cocktail evening put on by the hotel and this was very nice and we were able to meet with other West Aussies staying at the hotel. We won a free dinner to the Alam restaurant during the quiz time. The hotel is opposite the beach and very local to markets and other restaurants. Only a short taxi ride into Kuta so location excellent. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed at the`Alamkulkul in a Villa room and we were very happy with all this resort had to offer. The room was a good size with the outdoor sunken bath shower a nice feature. We received fruits and biscuits daily. The Villa room also allows access to the Villa Club where there is free softdrinks, snacks and internet.
Happy hour at the bar on the balcony was free drinks, with a choice of three cocktails made from a local spirit (Arak Attack, Arak Pinacolada and Arak Capriosca, all delicious) also Bintangs and local wines on offer for free. The main pool area was nice, but not huge. The garden pool also looked nice, but we only used the main pool due to the pool side bar.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and willing to help out in any way they could. After checkout we left our bags at the resort while we filled in the rest of the day, with our flight home not until 10pm. When returning to get our bags all hot and sweaty, we asked if it were possible to take a shower somewhere, they were more than happy to hand over the keys to another villa.
Would definately recommend the Villa room to others, but I cannot comment on the other rooms that other reviewers have complained of.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Authentic Balanese accomodation consisting of low rise rooms and bungalows, some nestled around the 2 small pools.
Well worth the upgrade to the alam club rooms, which gives you access to the delightful air conditioned club room by the reception.Complemetary soft drinks and local snacks assisted by smiley staff.
Beach is just across the busy road, kuta town and legian bars are 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Beautifully decorated, big, clean rooms
Bargain at US$100/night
Lovely staff
Stunning gardens
Fantastic food and service at the restaurant - would definitely recommend the set menu for lunch and dinner but the breakfast is limited
Walking distance to tourist areas
The pool looked a little small but we never swam in it - I think its more suited for adults than children
Massive bath
Most impressive collection of complementary toiletries I've ever come across - they provide everything you might ever need
Complementary bottles of water were very handy
We didnt notice the construction work at all

We're already planning our next trip to Bali and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#13 Spa Hotel in Legian
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#17 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.