We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but small and walking alot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alam KulKul Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Legian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but small and walking alot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked a deluxe room here for my honeymoon via agoda. The room is clean, the price is reasonable, but can not use wifi in the room. Very Small swimming pool, far from the downtown, have to walk alot. Have to walk 5 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    182
    64
    23
    18
See reviews for
111
161
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Merredin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Alam Kul Kul for a girls trip to Bali, we had a quad room and an alam room. The quad room was very spacious, nice big bathroom. And the alam room was similar but it had a balcony. Both rooms did however have a distinct mouldy smell.
Two nice pools, although the smaller one did look like it had seen better days, but all in all the pool area near the bar is a lovely spot to sit and chill.
Breakfast was a feast!...Although I couldnt get my head around having curry or casseroles first thing in the morning. But there was a huge selection of foods, and the omelet was really nice, lots of fruit and bread / pastries to choose from. The juice isnt real juice, it tasted like cordial.
The hotel is in a great location, directly across from the beach and a stroll away from the markets, lots of restaurants all within walking distance.
The staff are extremely helpful, we asked for a later check out as our flight wasnt until 5pm, no problem, all sorted in 5 minutes.
The major down side to this hotel is that the restaurant and bar are very over priced, its a shame because the food is quite nice.
I would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend it for others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My partner and I booked in for a week at Alam Kulkul in November 2012. We found our room to be clean and tidy, very comfy and had all the amenities we required. The staff were amazing, very friendly and willing to help. The location was great, just opposite the beach and not far from the shopping vicinity. The Restaurant poppas was wonderful, never meet such friendly staff. We even booked again the next week later. Overall a great place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay, clean rooms & beds, nice pool, staff were helpful, the quadra rooms were good but one bathroom for 4 people was not practical. The breakfast not bad, no cheese which was wiered. Hhh. Location along the beach walk but you have to walk at least 15 mins to reach Legain street or the shops.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here. It was very quiet as hotel extends deep from the road. The foliage on the grounds is very nice. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I just had basic room and found it clean and ok. It wasn't amazing but served the purpose. Location is good if the beach is what you are after. Overall I was satisfied. The only thing I would do different was not book airport pickup with hotel. They charge 15usd per person and you can get taxi for 6-8 bucks for the carload.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

You heard me right, not bed bugs but the terrifying scabies!!! Someone wrote in the review that he and his family were bitten by bed bugs in this hotel room but I assure you that mine was definitely bitten by scabies as it has spread more and more under the skin of my back and also hands each day. The itch was really unbearable and made me can't sleep and it spread wider and wider everyday. It took me exactly 21 days to heal after seeking treatment from physician.

I made a complain to the receptionist and all she said was it's just mosquito bites!!

Room Tip: Don't ever come to this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at Alam KulKul. Had room only so can't comment on the breakfast etc. it was quite quiet and our party of 4 had the garden pool to ourselves most days. Rooms are clean. We had a room just near the garden pool which was good for easy access. The gardens are lovely and was amazed at the number of fruits growing around us. We picked lemons off the tree to add to our drinks! Hotel is between the Pullman and The Stones. There is a new shopping area attached to new nearby Sheraton called Boardwalk which has a cheap eat street on the top floor. Had chicken and rice with bottle water for under $5. On the other scale Sheraton offer full buffet breakfast for 100k rup++, as a special to walk ins....which is nice now and again. Close to poppies 1, which can be accessed through new Boardwalk and 10 minute walk to Matahari store and supermarket. Road is very busy out the front as one way and main one used to travel to Legian etc. Staff were very helpfull and always smiling. Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#15 Spa Hotel in Legian
#15 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.