We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Sunrise from Alam Kul Kul!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Alam KulKul Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 61 hotels in Legian
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love the Sunrise from Alam Kul Kul!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4days. Helpful staffs, delicious foods, clean rooms everyday, in front of Kuta... Next to Pullman, a walk away from Beach Walk, Hardrock and Sheraton. The tour agents at the hotel were great too. Saves me the time to find one. Here are some of the

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    173
    62
    23
    17
See reviews for
105
152
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from this resort with my family and it was just amazing. Family room on the 2nd floor with 5 beds, clean room, and yes friendly staffs. I'll definitely come here again. Walkin distance to the right is where you buy the cheap clothes and also cab down to legian shopping area. Opp the resort is the beach!! Love the location of the resort!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend Jan and I have just returned from a wonderful ten day break in Bali, staying at the Alam KulKul Hotel in Legian where Jan's family had stayed previously for a family wedding. We both had a wonderful stay with utmost attention to detail by all staff. Most evenings were spent dining at the adjoining Papa's Restaurant with great music to create a warm ambience each time. We would definitely stay there again, and our thanks to Nathi for her warm and friendly customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for a week in the family room with my two sisters in November 2012 and had a ball. The hotel was nice well kept and serene. All of the staff were friendly greeting you if they walked past.

We stayed in the family room which was kept clean and welll maintained throughout our stay. We did however have the same experience as other travellers whereby two staff on two different occaisions told us it was their last night before going on leave (obviously looking for a tip) The family rooms are also up several flights of stairs so if this is a problem for you look elsewhere. We also had a problem with an airconditioner that did not seem to be working properly however because it was still working a little it took several days to get it fixed.

The pools were nice however there is no swim up bar just a poolside bar. Plenty of sun lounges everytime we went down for a swim. The free Wifi in the lobby works well however we paid the $1.50 per hour to have it in our room.

The location is fanatstic! Accross the road is the beach and a short easy walk is Melasti street which hosts several bars, restaurants, and market type shopping (Ketut's fixed price shop is just off of this street) It is also only about $2 for a trip into Kuta (Matahari's)

All in all a relaxing hotel which I would stay at again

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem do not book the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we were upgraded to Alam villa and became part of Alam club which entitles u to free wifi/ coffee/beverages and snacks. Highly recommend Alam villa, beautiful outdoor bathroom, very large comfortable clean rooms. From what I saw from Alam lanai rooms they look just as spacious and clean.
This is the first time my partner and I have stayed at Alam KulKul and would definatley stay here again. It's great location meant that we were out of hussle bustle of kuta but could easily walk to kuta and legian.
The two resturants that are part of the hotel served fabulous food for good price! Well worth checking out!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at the Kulkul as we normally stay in Kuta ..... what a lovely suprise! ... Grounds were amazing and the second pool felt like our own for most of the time there.
Breakfast was lovely and had the best omelettes i think i had ever had and the pastries were great.
Our Family room was spotlessly clean and it was great to come back to our room after a swim to find it all made up again.
My Mum and Dad stayed in the Alam Villa and that was also fantastic.
Out the front was Papas restaurant and the food was lovely and definitely not over priced like we had heard with the average main meal around $10 Aus. The staff were lovely and gave my two children bread to feed the fish with.
Thanks for a wonderful Holiday ...... I would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Alam Kulkul. I suppose we had been spoiled by spending 5 days in Ubud at the lovely Maya Ubud which was stunning in all respects. We paid AUD40 a night more at the Maya than Alam Kulkul but the difference was light years apart.

First of all I am not sure what criteria the AK uses to claim that it is a boutique resort. It is a pretty ordinary hotel albeit the rooms are all on one level. We had an Alam Villa garden view villa with no view of a garden and no where to sit outside.

All in all the AK is very tired and in need of a good makeover. The staff do their best with what they work with. The bath towels are thin and fraying. The breakfast very ordinary with a luke warm buffet of not very good quality or interesting Indonesian food and the normal omelettes etc. the breakfast coffee is Nescafé dispensed from a machine. Kopi Bali is available on request. Anything else is an additional charge.

The so-called Hospitality Room - part of the package of additional benefits - is very very sad. A colourless room with a pathetic water feature. It provides a nescafe coffee machine, some cold drinks and selection snacks such as cold fried mini spring rolls, sandwich quarters with tomato lettuce on white bread and a flan made with custard and canned peaches ... I could go on ...

The gardens and pools are not well maintained with plants that need deadheading etc.

For the price it is not value for money. My advice is to give it a wide berth. It is budget hotel standard for top mid range dollar.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Legian, Bali 80030, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#15 Spa Hotel in Legian
#15 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.