We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Bali Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Bali Suites to your Saves list
Club Bali Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Werkudara 526, Legian, Bali 80001, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Legian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We travel to Bali at least once a year as we love the people, the atmosphere, the food and of course the shopping. We have stayed at several different resorts and hotels over the years and while we have stayed at nicer places than the Bali suites, we have also stayed at worse. With that in mind the bali suites fall somewhere in the middle.
On this occasion we stayed in a two bedroom suite for 10 nights. On arrival the staff where friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our room and were reasonably happy with what we found. The suite was spacious with two good sized bedrooms, the main with a large king size bed and the smaller with a couple of smallish single beds. The main bathroom was small and the shower cubicle was tiny, boarding on uncomfortable but not by any means unusable. The ensuite however was very large with a big spa and plenty of bench space. The kitchenette was also a good size with everything you might expect in a self service apartment. Then lounge and dinning area was a good size with plenty of room to stretch out and relax. The TV was a little small by today's standards but at least the picture was clear. A smaller TV in the main bedroom was much smaller but was fine for watching a movie in bed at night. The water pressure in both bathrooms was really good by Bali standards and there was always nice hot water. Both toilets flushed well and there were no issues with the sewage which is often the case in some Bali hotels. There were three air conditioning units, one in each bedroom and one in the lounge room. They all worked well and were not overly noisy.
As for the negatives, the rooms are very dated although I understand the hotel has renovations planned so hopefully soon the rooms will get a much need face lift. The fridge was adequate size wise but was not all that efficient. The small freezer was iced over and unusable and the door didn't seem to seal properly. As a result it took hours for any drinks put in the fridge to cool down. As for the beds, I personally found the main bed to be to hard but that is just my personal preference. For those that prefer a rock hard mattress you will feel right at home. None of the sinks or showers drained well and found by the end of a shower you were standing in an inch of water that seemed to take ages to drain away.
As for the property itself, it is in a fantastic location. Right near the beach and with the full use of the Jayakarta hotels three pools there was heaps of choice for relaxing by the water. The hotel is right on the border of Legion and Seminyak so there is a multitude of fantastic restaurants and shops within a short walk or taxi ride (only a $2 taxi fair to the heart of the Seminyak shopping and restaurant precinct and $4 to the heart of Kuta). There are some really good restaurants with a few hundred meters of the hotel along the beach and plenty of beach bars and surfing lessons within a stones throw of the hotel. All in all probably the most conveniently located place we have stayed in so far.
In regards to the pools at Jayakarta they are clean and large but there seemed not to be enough pool chairs and the ones that where there filled up very quickly. As for the gym, unless you really can't get through the day without a workout, I wouldn't bother. The equipment is old, the gym is very ill equipped and quite frankly, unsafe by western standards. Use at your own risk.
As for the service our rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaning staff were always polite and friendly. That said, there were some instances of "slackness" on the part of the cleaning staff. For example a room service tray was left outside a room next to ours for nearly 24 hours with dirty plates and food scraps attracting bugs and ants. This seemed to occur throughout the complex and was simply unhygenic Not a huge issue but still unpleasant enough to have to walk past. The cleaning trolleys also seemed to be left in the corridors of a night time with rubbish and dirty linen hanging off them. Seemed the staff just left the trolleys whereever they were at knock off time. When you are paying $200 a night for a room it's not unreasonable to expect the little things like this are properly attended to. Another example of a small but annoying issue was the coffee. On arrival there were the expected coffee tea and sugar satchels that are supplied by most hotels the world over. By the 4th morning they were all used and when my wife went to reception to enquiry if they could be replenished the receptionist said that they were only provided on our arrival. It was pointed out to her that we were staying 10 nights at $200 a night so it was not unreasonable to have the coffee satchels topped up as needed. The receptionist reluctantly agreed but was only prepared to hand over 4 of the satchels with the implication being that she was doing us a huge favour and it would be a one off. Agreed this is only a very minor issue but still, a few minor issues can be just as annoying as one major issue.
Probably the biggest issue for me was the wifi in the rooms. The Internet service in Bali is average at best and to charge guests paying top dollar for accommodation ridiculous amounts for a service that should be free is just plain money grubbing. The wifi is already in place so the hotel is paying for the service whether guests use it or not. In today's age, with all the modern electronic equipment people use nowadays, to charge $2 for 5 mins or $5 an hour for internet access is profiteering, plain and simple.
Probably the only other real negative regarding the Jayakarta hotel itself is the way overpriced food and drinks. We never can understand why these places charge so much that it drives people to eat and drink outside the hotel or to bring in their own food and drink purchased from the many minimarts and restaurants. It's just bad business. If they dropped their prices down to compete with the multitude of shops and hawkers surrounding the hotel, they would surely sell many more meals, snacks and drinks to the guests.
All in all, if you have kids or want to travel with friends and family the Club Bali Suites are in a fantastic location and have reasonable facilities at the adjoined Jayakarta Hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Good Morning Brettmelbourne30. Thank you for making time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us at Club Bali Suites Legian Beach. I want to start by offering our apologies for the aspects of your stay that were not quite up to your expectations. I have discussed in detail, the issues raised; with the property GM and he is working with both his internal team members and the property management at the Jayakarta Hotel to address all of the points raised.

We in the process of planning an extensive renovation of the property in the coming year and I am sure that once completed, you will find that not only the location and service is good but the overall look and feel of the property is something that will satisfy even the most discerning customer.
Thank you for choosing Club Bali Suites for your holiday and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to Bali

Regards

Brad Shennan, Exec VP Product Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for five days in the 1 bedrom suite. it was a large room on level 5, not a great view, but our room had two balconies and lot of light.
The Suites are separately managed to the Jayakarta, so breakfast is extra but you do have access to the pool and restaurants, which was great.
The staff were very nice and helpful.
The club suites are located at the entrance of the hotel, so not on the beach side. not very good views, but not too far to walk to the pool or beach.
The room was large and clean with separate kitchen, if you wanted to have breakfast in.
Overall, a very nice room and a good pool/s with lots of shade.
The suites have a pull out sofa for an extra person or two if you are looking to save money.

Room Tip: Ask or the rooms with more light/two balconies... they were on the corner/end and much better layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Good Morning Franca D. I wanted to send a short note to say how great it is to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Club Bali Suites at Legian Beach. It is always such a pleasure to hear that our team were pleasant and over all added to the enjoyment of what I am sure was a hard earned break.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Indonesia

Regards

Brad Shennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My friend and I booked it because the swimming pools looked inviting and it was a stone throw away from the beach.

There was quite a confusion with the transport service Club Bali was supposed to provide for us. We emailed them but there was no reply, when we were at the airport, we saw a driver holding a piece of paper with our names, which we weren't expecting since we did not get a response after several emails to them.

When we got there, the staffs were very friendly, very professional. We were informed there were different managements. Thank goodness we were from the Club Bali management, they are so much friendlier (not going into ugly details).

When we checked in, I must say my friend and I were very pleased with the room. It came with a full kitchen (tho we weren't intending to cook a feast), a mineral water barrel which was very much appreciated. The fruit basket was just an apple though. Didn't have any welcome drink, but the room looked clean and was comfortable.

There was hot water in the shower, good and consistent. WIFI is available in the rooms, but you get better wireless coverage if you surf nearer to the door in the living room (maybe its just our room, but these WIFI signals can be frustrating if you need to get work done while holidaying)

Ordered room service a couple of times. First time we ordered asian food, it was average. Second time we ordered western, food was poor as both our burgers were undercooked. The receipt says no tipping, we didn't have small notes and gave the guy who delivered our food up to us a big note. He took the rest as a tip and left quickly. Shocked!

Went to check out water activities at the reception. One of the staff even came up to our room to confirm it. This bothers me a little bit, but from the friendly and helpful staffs there, I assumed it was over the top good service. Turns out he was sneakily promoting his own business, using the hotel's name to cover it up when I probed further.

I think this hotel needs more transparency in the way money is handled. Have money-related issues settled only during check-out would be good, and let guests know that, so these sneaky little tricks some of the staffs have, wouldn't have us fall victims to it!

The Swimming pool was really nice, though pool side benches gets fully taken up around 9 a.m. In the end, we didn't even go to the beach because the pool area was just so pretty! The beach wasn't that nice anyway.

Couples will have a great relaxing getaway there. Not much of shopping unless you head into the main Legian area. Check out their pictures in the gallery, it looks exactly like what you'll expect there.

Apart from the money issues, I had a nice trip. I hope this was useful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Dumb-Folded. Thank you for making time to share the experiences of your recent stay with us in Bali. We are of course very happy that overall you enjoyed the stay very much however I wanted to at the same time offer my sincerest apologies for the incidents that you mentioned that have shown some downfalls in our services. I am investigating the three incidents mentioned with the assistance of the property General Manager and will contact you directly in the next day or so to follow through.

Again please accept my personal apologies for these short comings and we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort in the future

Regards

Brad Shennan
Exec VP Product Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The front desk manned by Miss Sri, Kerta and Deny are always friendly and they go out of their way to assist at all times. Nothing is too much of an effort for them. I have known Miss Sri for a number of years now and can always rely on her to be pleasant and extremely helpful. I look forward to seeing them on my next visit. Julie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Julie S, Thank you so much for sharing your satisfaction with the service during your recent stay with us in Bali. It is always pleasing to hear such positive recommendations of our team and on behalf of the Staff and management, we look forward to being able to welcome you once again in the near future

Regards

Brad Shennan
Exec VP Product Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked these suites through a travel agent and paid about $AU150 per night for the one bedroom suite. Suites are quite spacious and relatively clean and comfortable. Bathroom in our suite was tired, the bath leaked as the drainage was not adequate and the shower pressure was really weak. There was plenty of mould in the grout and the bath towels had seen much much better days (some of the towels we were given were actually grey from overuse - but always CLEAN). Beds are comfortable and although the entire apartment was quite dark it did make for excellent sleeping. Beware the "late check out" as this is only offered as a request and the hotel can deny this at any time - or decide to charge you $US60 to delay check out from 12pm to 6pm. Our friends had a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms which was much nicer then ours - more light in the room itself, all furniture was new and kitchen and bathrooms had been renovated it was actually quite nice(yes their ensuite bathroom was as pictured in the hotels advertising). Staff are very friendly and accommodating and the use of the Jayakarta hotel facilities was good too as they have 3 pools and its right on the beach (decent surf break too). Oh and despite what I think I had read from other people we could not hear any noise from our room whatsoever, and beware the elevator door (which you will know what I'm talking about if you've been) it doesn't seem to sense if there is something or someone in the door way and closes very quickly - barely gives enough time for one person to get out let alone a family and bags! Had one of the children in our party get trapped in there on the first night and she didn't use the elevator for the rest of the trip.
All in all in my opinion I have stayed in much nicer rooms for less but hey it all depends on what your dollar is worth to you (if $AU150 is a drop in the ocean to you or whether its a weeks wages).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Anneastascia, Thank you for making time to write about your recent stay with us in Bali. It was nice to see that in the main, you enjoyed your stay and that overall you found the staff and service to be good. I do however note that aspects regarding your room were not acceptable and you will be pleased I am sure to know that the property is currently being upgraded with all most the issues mentioned being addressed. The one issue we are to a large degree stuck with is the lack of natural light in some of the one bedroom suites which we are still working on a solution to. The work on the rooms is in progress at present however due to the high demand during May, June and July, work was suspended however we expect to have all completed by the end of September this year. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and be able to show you the changes made

Thanks once again for making to time to share your experience

Regards

Brad Shennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed in the 'Club Bali' part which is far away from the pools and beach (still only a 5 minute walk). We had 2 adjoining 1 br apartments which weren't outstanding but were comfortable and adequate. The pools are huge and really good, the location is great, just across the road to legian beach which is much better than kuta, and some really good beachfront restaurants just to the north. The only real downside for me was the restaurant and drinks in the hotel were really overpriced by Bali standards. I wasn't disappointed but I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear toscanunan,
Firstly I would like to start by offering our apologies for the aspects of your stay that you found not quite as expected. It is good to hear that overall, you enjoyed the stay and found the location to be outstanding and the rooms and service to be good but we are always aiming to improve and your comments are greatly appreciated.

Hotel restaurant & bar prices are always on the high side and in a destination like Bali that offers such a great range of food and drink choices with great value prices, the in house restaurant offers the convenience of not having to travel too far but the question of value for money is always one that challenges. We normally recommend our guests try some of the local restaurants and there is some great ones with in an easy walk of the hotel. We will pass your feed back on to the Jayakarta Hotel who owns and manages the Restaurants on site.

Thanks for making time to write about your recent stay with us in Bali and we hope you have taken away, some great memories of your holiday.

Regards

Brad Shennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The staff provided an excellent help to my lady boss when she missed her flight, Ms Dayu went above her duties to help her to contact the airline and ensure that she has a room and well
taken care of. Thank you Ms Dayu, great job, keep it up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Exec VP Product Development at Club Bali Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Doris N. Thank you so much for the positive feed back and it is great to hear from someone about how our team assisted so much to sort a very difficult situation for a guest. I am sure you will be pleased to know that Dayu has been recognized for the exceptional effort she made

Regards

Brad Shennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Bali Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bali Suites

Address: Jl Werkudara 526, Legian, Bali 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Bali Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Bali Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bali Hotel Seminyak
Club Bali Suites Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Bali Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.