We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, yummy breakfast, gorgeous pools & surrounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legian Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Legian Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Legian Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Cottesloe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, yummy breakfast, gorgeous pools & surrounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My two cousins & I stayed at Legian Beach Hotel 16-20 October. The three of us were booked in a deluxe garden bungalow, but we got upgraded to a pool bungalow! We checked in so late due to checking out of another accommodation & going on a trip, so I'm guessing rooms were gone & that was why - not that we were complaining as the location of the room was right at a pool, steps from breakkie & a few more steps to the beach.

The entrance reception area is a gorgeous welcome. Water, lights, seating all nicely set. We received a cold towel on our arrival & were helped to our room with our luggage. They weren't prepared for us to have three people, so we eventually had to ring & ask for the extra bed to be made, extra towels, glass, etc. The extra bed was actually the day bed in the entrance room - my cousin who slept there lasted one night & then we moved the mattress to the floor in the main room.

I made the booking through Expedia.com No troubles & easy to do, even when I reduced the rooms from two to one with an extra bed. My reimbursement was received quickly. The extra 'bed' in the room was $50US per night including breakkie (buffet). We did think this was a little much as we had just moved from gorgeous villas & been charged $35US per night including breakkie. The safe was one of the easiest safes in all my travels that I've used. Wee fridge. Bath/shower room. WiFi was free, but it was rather difficult as every time you wanted to get on the internet you had to log yourself in again. If you did manage to get yourself logged in again (it took me nearly 10minutes once), then the speed was quick. Being in the pool villa we all received a complimentary sarong as well :)

Breakkie was yum. Really tasty & just about anything you could want. Our only negative (the same as alot of other reviews) - if you got there during the second half (breakkie was 7-10) then it was hard to find a clean table & nearly impossible to find one set. You had to find a water glass, coffee cup, etc, etc. And also alot of the variety of foods weren't topped up. There was an omelette station on the main breakkie level & then upstairs (alot quieter & cooler if there was a breeze) there was a pancake & waffle station - yum!!!!

We ate at Lais Restaurant once & we were disappointed in some of the dishes, others were fab! Our cocktail in a pineapple was fun! We sat at the bar a few nights & had a long chat with the barman one night about Bali & it's people, etc. Really nice & easy to talk to. Iced Coffees whilst sitting art the pool on a sunbed whilst overlooking the beach hit the spot!! All the grounds & pools were beautiful. One pool (the one minus the pool bar) was so warm it was like a bath.

Service - some staff were lovely, easy to talk to & welcoming, other staff bordering on rude, arrogant & you feel like you are inconveniencing them. I couldn't decide between average & very good on the ratings.

The location is fantastic. Right on the beach. Close enough to walk to main Kuta if you chose, but there are alot of shops/restaurants/bars just outside as well. A main drag - Jl Legian is just a wee walk. We never went to the spa at the hotel (no particular reason as with their current 50% discount the prices weren't too bad - not as cheap as what you can get elsewhere in Bali, but cheaper than home), but there are many spas just outside. Saka was pretty amazing (opposite supermarket). A Circle K & a supermarket are right there. There is an ATM in the supermarket as well as a Commonwealth Bank on the corner of the hotel street & Jl Legian. Opposite the entrance to the hotel was a money changer we used.

For the right price we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ChampersSunset,

Legian sunset greetings to you and your cousins.

We would like to thank you for your thorough reviews and we have also taken note of areas where we can do better for the convenience of all our guests.

Indeed the GREAT LOCATION we are in is one of the main assets, and thank you for the mention.

We are pleased to know that you have had a wonderful time with us and should you decide to return to our place, please do not hesitate to let us know directly.

Meanwhile, we all wish you a fantastic time ahead.

Legian regards,


Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    394
    137
    73
    51
See reviews for
303
435
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights, upon arrival we were told they did not have any vacancies in the superior room we had booked, so we were being upgraded at no charge to a poolside cottage. What a wonderful start to our first ever holiday without the kids, this was a 21st wedding anniversary present to ourselves. The room was large, luxurious and very clean. Staff were always friendly, they had a big smile for everyone and nothing was too much trouble, and the breakfasts were amazing, you name it they had it, and plenty of it. We received a free meal on the Saturday night as compensation for the renovations that were going on at the time, this in no way affected us. The location of the hotel is great, central to everything, we didn't need to walk more than a few blocks as everything we needed was so close, shops, restaurants, beach. All in all a wonderful stay, we could not fault it in any way and would definitely recommend Legian Beach Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Poolside cottage worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tania K,

Warm sunny greetings to you from us all and thank you for your recent stay. We are happy to learn that you have had a wonderful time with us.

We appreciate your compliments to the hotel and to our team and thank you for emphasizing the GREAT LOCATION that we are in, indeed it is a privilege for us all.

Once again, thank you! and we look forward to having you again with us.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Legian Beach Hotel on October 18th for 4 nights.
When we arrived we weren't welcomed with any sort of happy greeting which was a shame because we just arrived. The reception staff weren't very pleasant. We had to wait 4 hours until our room was ready - the man serving us didn't even offer us to use the facilities at the hotel yet rather told us to come back.
When we did come time to check in - it took 20 minutes and 3 people. They always forgot to give is our pool cards which meant we couldn't get towels for the pool so had to go back to reception which took another 10 minutes.
The room we stayed in was beautiful and the grounds were Amazing! Pools were nice and big. Overal we loved the hotel the only thing that's needs improvement is the service as mentioned by most people writing there reviews. I have receeived much better service down the road.
Make sure you ask for a bungalow room :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Ashiib,

Sunny greetings to you and thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in Bali.

Let me assure you that the arrival experience you had was in no way reflected our welcome standard and is not what we are known for. I apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered due to staff member who handled you did not follow our culture.

On the other hand, I am glad that you enjoy the GREAT LOCATION of the resort and have had a wonderful time with us.

When you plan to visit us again next time, please feel free to let me know directly and we will be more than happy to show you our Legian Culture.

Once again, thank you from us all.


Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is a very good place to sleep in one of the most famous and nice part of Bali Island. Hotel is beach front even if there are no hotel sundecks and umbrellas. Hotel offerts only the pool and if you go out you have to pay for a sundeck by yourself.
Breakfast is good even if the choice of fruit is so so like as ham and cheese. Bar is nice and opened till 2.00 am.
Wifi connection, when work, is good.
Anyway service and staff were perfect and polite.

Room Tip: My room was 142, on the entrance street, quite noisy due to bath plumb and external people coming ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Oraclepilot,

Bali greetings to you and thank you for staying with us and giving us your reviews on your recent holiday.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and have also enjoyed the great location that we are in.

Indeed, regarding the sun loungers at the Legian beach, they are all managed by the local authorities and unfortunately beyond the reach of the hotel. We would love to provide them free of charge to our guests if we are allowed to place some at the beach.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the variety of fruits which we serve, our Chef is now looking into it and see where we can improve.

When your next holiday schedule pops up, please do not hesitate to let us know directly as we all look forward to having you again with us.

Meanwhile, have a wonderful time.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My family of five have just returned from 10 days at The Legian Beach Hotel. Excellent place to stay. I don't normally write reviews but I thought this hotel deserves one. We have three children aged 9, 7 and 6 and we all all loved the Hotel/resort. After reading some of the negative reviews we were a bit apprehensive about staying here when we made the booking but, all our fears were put to rest as soon as we arrived. The lush gardens, the new restaurant and Buffet area, large pools, all were a great way to start, spend or end your day. Great food, service always with a smile, and the atmosphere was terrific. Hotel facilities which included two pools, beach access, plenty of eating areas, developed gardens and the family room we had were enjoyed by all. Rooms were really clean, beds and pillows comfortable and serviced everyday. We viewed the Garden Cottages and they looked terrific for a couple to stay in. The prices inside the Hotel for food and drinks are very reasonable. The only negative points we had were one of the two air conditioners in the family room was broken but that was replaced the very next day with a friendly Balinese smile and the occasional noisy tourists in the next room, but that can happen anywhere. Close but not too close to the shopping district ' Legian Street '. My advice is ignore the negative comments and stay here if you like to relax and shop all in the one day. The spa is nearing completion so when this opens it will add to the experience. Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday. We will be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from Melasti street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Robert M,

Sunny greetings to you and the family and thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your detailed reviews so that all audiences can have a better view of our hotel.

Indeed LOCATION LOCATION & LOCATION is one of our biggest assets. It has made many many guests keep on returning years after years and I believe many will too.

We are so glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay and should your next holiday trip is planned and dates are set, please do not hesitate to let us know directly so that we can make arrangement for your family.

Thank you for the compliments which I have shared with all my team which have also made their day.

Last but not least, may we all wish you a wonderful time ahead and we all look forward to your return.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 12nights and loved it. On arrival we were told our room was not ready, but if we were happy to wait they would upgrade us, which we did, and loved our room. Very clean, and having a DVD player for the kids was great. Breakfast was lovely, I would recommend getting there early. One small negative we felt was after coming from Bali garden in Kuta and enjoying cheap drinks and lovely reasonable priced food around the pool, was a disappointment here as it was way over priced, especially with children who want a drink every 10 min. 1/3 of the price else where, my advice to legion beach is if you lowered your prices more people would order around the pool, rather than walk 30metre to the beach for a coke, as everyone was doing when we were there. We come to Bali a couple of times a year, and will definitely think about coming back here , the location is amazing, as are the grounds and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Simon R,

Unsurpassed Legian Sunset greetings to you and the family and thank you for staying with us.

We are glad that you have had a memorable stay in our Deluxe Garden Bungalow and thank you for sharing your stay experience with all audiences.

We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding drinks prices. Due to the fact that our authority imposes high taxes on beverages, making it rather difficult to bring down the prices. We are however now discussing it how to make that possible.

Once again, thank you and should you your holiday calender pops up, please feel free to let me know directly to make all the necessary arrangement.

Meanwhile, may we all wish you a wonderful time ahead.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Everything we expected and MORE! came to legian beach resort and spa on recommendation from a work mate! It's a fantastic place. Good price and facilities excellent. Centrally located easy access to Kuta and Seminyak. Spent 8 nights in a very comfortable garden bungalow. Nice bed and bathroom. Beautiful gardens. Pool areas are great. Right on the beach front. We dined at all the restaurants, and they offer 3 different styles of food. Indonesian was our favourite. The teppanyaki night is a lot of fun! All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We looked at a lot of he other places in close proximity, and we were glad we chose the Legian beach resort.
We booked directly with the hotel online and paid about $200 - 220 per night. It's worth it!
Will come back next year. The only thing that I would like to see is a little cheaper spa prices. Even tho they offer 50% discount, we found a place (green spa - see review) that was amazing and a very good price.
If you are contemplating where to stay and want something on he beach close to kuta and 5++ star then I would highly recommend this hotel! Tiramakasi!

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow. Garden bungalows are not much different from the beach ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Greg D,


A warm greeting from sunny Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us and giving your kind reviews. I believe your recommendation will be very useful for others to know.

You are absolutely right about the GREAT LOCATION that we are in and indeed it has benefited many others too.

Also, thank you for patronizing all our restaurants. Many others have also voted Lais Indonesian Restaurant as their favorite dinner venue.

Thank you once again and should your time to return pops up, please do not hesitate to let me know directly to make the arrangement for you and the family.

Meanwhile, have a wonderful time ahead.



Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
E:generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legian Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Legian
#9 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#12 Family Hotel in Legian
#12 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#14 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legian Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located absolute beachfront, with a wide range of facilities and leisure options, Legian Beach Hotel embraces families, honeymooners and business travelers. The 118 single-story cottages and 100 guest rooms, including 23 family rooms and 5 rooms that cater for disabled travelers, are set amid a landscaped tropical oasis dotted with coconut palms, shady trees, and sweet-scented flowers. The traditional architecture utilizes local materials from Bali and neighboring Indonesian islands, red tiled roofs merge with romantic alang alang thatch, while breezy, lazy gazebos melt into the natural beauty. The vista of the dramatic coastline and the rolling surf is spectacular, while the fiery sunsets viewed from here are the best in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, AsiaRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Legian Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Beach Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legian Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.