We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Surfer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bliss Surfer Hotel to your Saves list
Bliss Surfer Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sriwijaya, No. 88, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bliss Wayan Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Noisy Guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

At surface level this is indeed a very cool hotel. There are surf boards everywhere, two iMacs in the open reception for guests to surf the internet, and a nice looking little pool with sun beds around one side.
The downsides though are plentiful enough to keep me from returning.
1. Noise
At the moment there is a large group of tourists here from Hong Kong who have pretty much taken over the hotel. They shout from table to table at breakfast, they shout along the corridors at night, and they scream and shout into the early hours of the morning playing drinking games.
2. Breakfast
An absence of bliss due to the other guests, but also please be aware that the breakfast is designed for Asian tourists with lots of rice, noodles, porridge. The juice pretty standard fare for hotels like this; cheap and watery.

3. Location
Off a busy road at least 20 mins from the beach. You nee to rent a bike to stay at this place, unless you don't mind walking along a pot-holed pavement for 20 mins. Renting a bike is fairly cheap anyway, so this isn't such a big deal.

The staff are very pleasant both in reception and in the restaurant, and I can understand that it's not an easy thing for them to cater to the needs of one grouchy tourist (me) in terms of the noise level of the other guests.

Sorry Bliss Wayan, not for me. I'm still here by the way :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniM263, General Manager at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Bliss Wayan Hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience while your stay. We fully understand your frustration and your concern for the discomfort of your neighbors.

It is feedback to us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon Bliss Wayan Hotel.


Sincerely yours,
Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    203
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
71
182
69
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Victoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Bliss! The rooms, pool and grounds are kept spotless, it always looked so pretty. The pool is fairly small but nice temp (not cold at all!), and loved the loungers in the pool! The left side of the pool has sun pretty much all day. Staff are very friendly and happy to help you with anything. Breakfast is not the most extensive we have seen, but can't complain for the price - and we always got offered eggs and bacon if there was none out. Definately recommend the Mi goreng! Yes it's a bit of a walk to the beach (about 10 mins/4 blocks), but it's actually nice to stay on a quieter street where you don't get hassled immediately after you leave the hotel. Also the spa was great value. We will come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well where do we start, My girlfriend and I were told about Bliss Wayan by a friend who had just got back from a trip to Bali. We looked it up, liked what we saw and then a few weeks later we arrived. This was our first trip to Bali and we LOVED IT!!! We were greeted by the most friendly staff and immaculate venue. The Bliss Wayan is a new building (just had it's 1 year celebration) and is with in walking distance to EVERYTHING! It is far enough out of the noise of Kuta but only a 5 min WALK or for those who don't like walking the most you will pay for a taxi (Blue Bird) is a total of $1.50 AUD or $15,000 RUP (close to $2.00 AUD if it's really busy on the roads)

The Bliss has a number of free shuttles to Kuta throughout the day and they can arrange activities etc for you at the front desk.

Your best bet for ANY information is to speak to the staff at the Restaurant at the Bliss Wayan. Noel (no oil) and Nyoman (no man) are the most friendly and generous people we have meet on this trip. They really know how to look after the customers. Just by talking to Noel and Nyoman we managed to save ourselves money and time. Asked them questions about how much to pay for things etc, or where to get something and they will be most helpful to get you the answer. Example: We arrived very late and were after some smokes (I know it's bad) spoke to Noel and 3 min later he had gotten them from god knows where.

All in all we traveled for 2 weeks across Bali and Lombok and decided to come back to the Bliss Wayan to spend our last nights cause we LOVED it SO much, the pool is great (very clean) the deluxe hotel rooms are perfect for couples of any age and for those after a bigger room the Junior Suite was perfect (we stayed in both).

Not to mention the price! Best Value for you MONEY!!! Great deals on Agoda etc!

Be sure to leave a Hat at the bar after your stay, you'll see when you get there. =D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want a budget hotel with clean rooms then this hotel is for you. However, do not let your expectations get to high. The selection at breakfast is ok but the quality is poor. Bread and pastries were stale each day. Eggs are prepared a number of different ways, but come hard fried. The juice is good, but the coffee is not great. We ate at the restaurant once. It is better to eat elsewhere. The staff is very friendly and the service is quite good. It is a short walk to Legian. Not so good at night. The sidewalk is full of holes. The hotel is quiet when awy from the restaurant area. This place is good for a young budget traveller, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

2 times i comeback for stay in this hotel.. good room , and also fantastic SPA !! near legian street.. u can walking to legian street, but i prefer by taxi ..hehehee.. , have a complete menu for breakfast .. pastry section , indonesian breakfast, american breakfast, egg corner, etc .. the restaurant is side of pool.. cooll !! just wanna back to this hotel again :)

Room Tip: when night, lift in near pool is off
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

In our six years of traveling in Asia this is The Best hotel we have stayed at from customer service point of view. All the staff starting from the cleaners to the reception,to the breakfast staff to the general managers gave us a 5 star + service,any requests were dealt with promptly with a smile.
It is in a great location where everything was close by, it was very sad to leave this wonderful hotel.Once again thanks to Shanty and the rest of team for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the room was great the it was clean and suitable but the breakfast was just average and the pool was average the prices were a little high service was ok. But the staff need alot more training as they cannot understand simple requests from guests and mucked up many bills while we were there... NEVER SIGN a bill always say no and pay everything in cash as they got us to sign a bill then we paid cash for it then they tried hitting us up again as they had the signature on the bill and hadnt stamped it paid... the drama went on for hours until we said we wanted to call the owner within a minute they said oh its ok sorted out.... Not good enough i feel very dissapointed....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bliss Surfer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Surfer Hotel

Address: Jl. Sriwijaya, No. 88, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bliss Wayan Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Best Value Hotel in Legian
#7 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#7 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bliss Surfer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located, close to major business destination in Legian area in Jalan Sriwijaya where the location nearby Kuta, Seminyak and also the Sunset Road through Jl. Dewi Sri. Inside of the hotel, you’ll find a restaurant named Bombura resto n bar with beach ambiance and facing the swimming pool, serving variety of food & beverages with special colorful table set and cutleries and paper napkin.Lifestyle features includes art in the lobby and in each room featuring art works that represent “Colorful Bliss”, which we also called this hotel as a Surfing Hotel Concept as the main concept in the interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bliss Surfer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bliss Surfer Hotel Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bliss Surfer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.