We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavone

Pavone
JI. Padma Utara no 4, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
(0361) 756030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 135 Restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: Indonesian, Australian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Anglesea, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Well just out the back of the Padma resort is a very clean & fresh little restaurant
Excellent staff & the cleanest toilets we'd ever seen ....
The food is simple & excellent value for money & the beer is very cold
Highly recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find - best Prawns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate here 4 times in recent visit to Bali in May 2013. Had read reviews and wanted to go on previous visits but ran out of time. So glad we did this time. Restaurant is located virtually directly opposite the rear staff entrance to the Padma Hotel in Legian, opposite the CBA ATM and about 6 doors or so along from Posers Bar on the corner. We came here initially for a quick late lunch as had been shopping nearby. Had the coldest Bintang we had all trip and I’m not usually a beer drinker. My husband had the garlic prawns for approx AUD$6 and they were so good that I ordered a plate as well. They were cooked exactly as they should be, BBQ in the shell with garlic & light oil and herb dressing, cooked to perfection and so simple. Could not believe the quality & amount of prawns for the price. They were so fresh. We found out later they have their seafood delivered fresh every day from Jimbaran Bay – an Aussie Guy owns the restaurant. We even left a fine dining restaurant in Seminyak one night after really poor entrees and jumped in a cab back here so we could have the prawns and a bottle of their Rolf Binder Aust Chardonnay which was so reasonably priced by Bali standards and similar price to the local Balinese wine which isn’t great.

One lunch my 10 year old daughter had the ham & cheese baguette – it was great to have a choice of something fresh and healthy with no chips. Both leg ham & cheese were very high quality and the baguette was just perfect.

We also went the night the seafood buffet was on. I didn’t have the buffet but stuck with the garlic prawns – I just couldn’t go past them. My husband had the buffet and said it was fine, nothing sensational although he did like the tuna steaks. The place was packed this night but I’m not a buffet fan, except for breakfast. I think if you order off the menu you won’t be disappointed. I understand menu is to change soon under new Manager but I hope they keep the garlic prawns.

The staff, one waiter in particular was fantastic.

The place is spotless and the toilets, as other reviewers have said, have to be seen to be believed and they even have air con – such a find in Bali and handy to know when shopping locally! We’ll be back for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bad night to go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We possibly chose a bad night to go to this restaurant, however that does not excuse everything! There was a seafood buffet on that night, however because quite a number of other people in there had already ordered that, no one in our party were allowed to order it. the service was slow, a number of the meals were cold and it was generally disappointing. Funny thing was every night after that when we passed, it was empty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nearly walked out due to limited menu but decided to stay and give it a try. We had the seafood pasta and it was delicious. The food was well priced, the place was immaculate and the staff attentive. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best toilets EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

as well as the 5 star Ladies Loo,
the staff are honest & friendly,
the food is great.
and the whole place is super clean.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.