We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Legian 191, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The aromas location in legian. Many shop, restaurant, mini market, cafe and pub near in hotel. You gonna very satisfied with all the thing near in hotel but the servive in hotel totally poor. The first day, my balcony cant opened so hotel staf come to my room to fixed it and noisy enough to wake me up. And my friend ask for more pillow, and the pillow is come on the third day. And the water is die when i was on shower. So i cant wash my hair. The room is smell terrible, seriously. And the air condioner is broker, many water out from air conditioner so my room is slippery because of that, my friends room is like that too. But location is good. Average!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    16
    9
    14
See reviews for
11
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First the positive (the only one) - Location: very near to the busy Legian St. where you can get almost anything you want. Within 15mins short cut walk to Kuta beach. It is not advisable to use the short cut late at night though, it can be very dark and quiet. But then again, there are many other hotels located along Legian St.

Now, the negatives. We checked in at 2pm, and was brought to our room, when we found that the glass door to the balcony was not functioning, it could not be locked. And there were no towels and toiletries. As there was no telephone in the room, we had to walk all the way back to the reception area to tell them. The front desk staff told us that he will send someone in 15mins. We waited for an hour and yet there was no one. We met a staff on the way to the lobby and conveyed our message to her, and was promised that someone will be attending to us in 15mins. We waited again, and this time we decided to take our luggages and went to the front desk to ask for a room change. The front desk staff was not apologetic, offered no reasons for not sending anyone. We were so tired and hungry after our flight and wasted all in all more than an hour for a service they could not delivered. We asked to see the manager, was told that he/she was on the weekend break, and never got to see him/her for the whole five days we were there.

They provide safe, but never bothered to make sure that it was functioning. And with no telephone, it was a hassle to request any help at all. The hot water worked for 2mins, and then you get cold shower.

For most mornings, we could get a table for breakfast but the first morning it was so crowded we couldn't get a table. Staff was not helpful. Food selection was horrible, almost the same for all five days. Every morning you see empty packets of sugar floating in the pool, as the restaurant was nearby, and they must have been blown in by the strong wind. Very dirty.

There was stove in the room but no gas, pots or cooking utensils. Strangely, they provide plates and cutleries. But what for? We managed to loan a pot from the kitchen who told us the stove should work, but we found out later there was no gas!

All the time we walked by the front desk, no one really cared. Staff were not friendly. You see the welcome drink glasses lying on the table at the lobby all the time, and for a long time, not being cleared, a sore to the eyes. A lot of times we could also hear staff playing and shouting especially from the restaurant in the afternoon. (The restaurant is only used for breakfast.)

A very disappointing stay here, would NOT recommend to anyone at all.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERAK MALAYSIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

the hotel has a very big swimming pool with a great surrounding ambiance.
it's quiet and peaceful although it is situated in the middle of the busiest road in Kuta, the Legian Street. when i first booked the hotel through booking.com, it stated that there is a working stove for the studio room. But when i checked in, the hotel staff told us that booking.com gave the wrong information, we could not use the stove for studio type rooms. it was a bit frustrating but the staff was very helpful. we wanted to change room since the room given to us was full of mosquito and the hotel staff attended to our request quite well. although the free breakfast is just basic juice, fruits and a simple rice but we didn't mind but the hotel should improve on that. overall the hotel is worth what we paid for. cheap and simple.

Room Tip: choose the suite if you want to cook. get the higher floor to avoid mosquito. ask for the free air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Would definitley NOT recomend to anyone. Not clean, smelly and really really noisy guests. Was supposed to stay four nights but could only manage one night. Receptionist wasn't interested in why we were leaving early. Dont bother getting breakfast included becuase its inedible. No restaurant!

Room Tip: Pay an extra $10 and go somewhere decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 6, aged between 23 and 30 years old, staying in three separate rooms. We were on working holidays in perth australia, when we found cheap flights to bali we booked a four-night stay at this hotel.

Firstly, the hotel is great value for money, very cheap compared to anything we've booked before. We emailed to ask for the free airport transfer which was very handy and the driver pleasant despite the language barrier. Upon arrival we were greeted with orange juice.

All of us were expecting very basic accomodation so were pleasantly surprised with the standard of our rooms. The best thing was the air conditioning as it was quite humid outside it was so good to have the brilliant air-con. The rooms were all really nice, the bathroom inside my bedroom didnt have a door - just a curtain - but the others had doors. I just locked my bedroom door when i showered.

Cant say anything else negative about the rooms. It was handy to have a little kitchen etc although we didnt use them as we ate out each day.

Location was perfect for us, quiet so no problem with sleeping yet it is right on legion street and metres away from the nightlife, we walked everywhere and stopped for a few bargains in the shops (haggling necessary!) and went to watch the sunset at the beach. We drank in sky gardens (i think thats what it was called) which has a few different floors so really big, good place to go for a night out.

I stayed in one night while the rest went out and i felt safe, there are security guards outside by reception i think all day and night. We had a few drinks on a couch opposite reception and the hotel manager actually popped down for a chat (although the language barrier made it a brief chat!) he sat down with us and brought us steamed peas which was really nice and made us feel really welcome.

None of us seen any bugs in the rooms, i got a few mosquito bites from sitting outside drinking for a couple of hours so i used mosquito repellant after that. We went in the pool and lazed beside it before a night out. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Overall, i'd recommend this hotel, we all said we'd go back. I loved bali and recommend doing a volcano trek and white water rafting.. we tipped the drivers/guides. Oh one last thing, we got a taxi from hard rock cafe back to the hotel which isnt necessary but i was wearing heels so..! The taxi was overpriced so just watch out for that.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We were suppose to stay here for 10 days! But only managed one nite!! We are a family of four with two teenagers..we thought we had booked the studio but it only had three beds?? The toilet seat was so cracked it was disgusting!! They really need too clean up there act!! I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is located at Legion street side by side with Harmon Hotel. We a family of three adults and we booked a studio suite which allows up to 3 person to sleep in without having to pay for extra bed. However, you would only get 2 breakfast which is okay because Legian street has many mini marts similar to those of 7-eleven. The room is comfortable furnished with a built in stove and fridge. Toiletries like toothbrush, soap, shampos, etc are provided. Our room is located on the ground floor with the balcony right in front of the swimming pool which means we have to pull the blinds to have some privacy. Simple buffet breakfast is served at the restaurant located next to the swimming pool. Overall this hotel is quite okay value for money.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the 1st floor facing the pool. This will give you a nice view at the same time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl Legian 191, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aroma`s Of Bali Hotel And Residence
The Aroma's Of Bali Hotel & Residence Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aroma's of Bali Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.