We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - best Margheritas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanai Beach Bar and Grill

Lanai Beach Bar and Grill
Jl Pantai Blue Ocean, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 138 Restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: Indonesian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service - best Margheritas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We ate at Lanai 4 or 5 times during our 9 day trip recently. That's a lot of visits for one restaurant in such a short space of time!!!!! We were travelling with our coeliac daughter and on our first night we went to Lanai (we've been there many times before on prevoius trips and always loved the food and the service). Our son ordered The Burger and claimed it to be the best burger he'd ever had....our daughter asked for nasi goreng without soy - we had special translation cards with us that we showed the waiter requesting the meal be prepared without any gluten - the waiter took the card to the chef and then came back to say 'no problem'. Thankfully Jess enjoyed her Nasi Goreng and couldn't wait to order it again!

So, we headed back to Lanai the next night - this time Jess took along her own gluten free bread roll that we'd brought from home and asked for 'The Burger' to be made up for her - again, this was no problem and over the next few days the staff came to recognise 'the special bread'. Jess too claimed 'The Burger' to be the best she had ever had, and wants to go back to Bali already just to have another 'The Burger'.

For mine, the frozen strawberry margheritas are to die for! Aside from the great seafood that Lanai always offers, I would go there for the margheritas alone! Excellent! And strong!

Thanks to Lanai for making our first overseas trip with our kids a very positive dining experience, especially for our nervous, fussy eating 16 year old coeliac!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    92
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A1 food at a good price - go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I went to Lanai 3 times in September 2011. Exceptionaly clean, friendly staff, excellent prices, food was to die for. Nothing was over cooked and I ordered fish every time it was so yummy. I will definatly go there again when I'm back in Bali.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average for me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

We ate here a few nights ago, there were four of us and everyone else enjoyed there food.
Unfortunately I must have ordered the wrong thing, don't get the chicken skewers they were dry and tasteless with not much else on the plate.

The tuna starter, fish dishes & pizza that the rest had was however all very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“perfect casual beach diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

Nothing here to blow you away but a great place for beach lunches and family dinners without blowing the budget. enjoyed salads, sates here throughout our week. drinks cheap and desserts good - try fried banana. pizzas looked good, too. most meals about 40,000 rupiah up to 120,000 for lovely eye fillet.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We went 3 times!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Lanai is just a few doors down from Kumala Pantai, where we stayed and is across from the beach. Last year we went to Lanai and found it a great lunch spot with lovely views of busy Legian beach but this year went for dinner 3 times. It’s quite a busy restaurant but the service is good and everyone enjoyed their meals here and each time we sat upstairs. It’s very pretty up there with all the lights wrapped around the trees. My husband had a steak here one night, first one he had ever ordered in Bali and it was cooked perfectly and just melted in his mouth! The meals are reasonably priced and we would definitely return here again next trip.

This is what we ordered and prices ( 5 people)

1st visit - 1 crispy spring rolls 26,000, 1 french fries 20,000, 1 fettucini carbonara 54,000, 1 mie goreng 54,000, 1 fried calamari 54,000, 1 balinese prawn laska 64,000, 1 balinese snapper 64,000, 1 strawberry smoothie 21,000, 1 fanta 13,000, 2 bintang large 60,000, 1 gin & tonic 55,000 plus govt tax & service charge total 544,170.

2nd visit - 1 crispy spring roll 26,000, 1 french fries 20,000, 1 lasagna al forna 54,000, 1 mie goreng 54,000, 1 nasi goreng 54,000, 1 fish & chips 56,000, 1 seafood risotto 68,000, 2 fanta 26,000, 2 small bintang 36,000, 1 large bintang 30,000, 2 tunjung hatten sparkling wine 128,000 plus govt tax & service charge total 619,344.

3rd visit - 1 hawaiian pizza 56,000, 1 fried calamari 54,000, 1 balinses prawn laska 64,000, 1 tenderloin steak 200gr 95,000, 1 grilled mahi mahi 64,000, 1 kids chicken schnitzel 32,000, 2 fanta 26,000, 3 small bintang 54,000, 1 tunjung hatten sparling wine 64,000 plus govt tax & service charge total 571,098.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanai Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.