We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 101 Legian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The 101 Legian to your Saves list
The 101 Legian
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Legian
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good experience and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had the room on the 2nd floor and the beds and pillows were comfy. The breakfast was quite good as well with a combination of indonesian and western food to cater to your palette. Try not to have the rooms on the 3rd floor as it can get abit noisy during the night when the party is going on at the pool. Service was excellent as the staff were attentive and polite. Highly reccomended

Room Tip: choose a lower floor , less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    354
    161
    49
    41
See reviews for
70
251
93
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel has a spacious lobby, but it ends there. I shared a room with my friend and we had no room to move in our small twin room. The bathroom size was terrible, no room in there to dry off or get dressed. We were on the 3rd floor, which has the pool, that was always noisy with music way too loud. The room fee didn't include breakfast, so we paid $6 US the first day, but ate out after that as wasn't impressed with the food on offer.
Best thing about this hotel is the location and the attentive staff. For the price you can get much bigger rooms in an older hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor with the pool as noisy ALL the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was much better than we expected. Every night the rooftop bar has a dj and drink specials. It is definitely for people who are looking to party, it is walking distance from the main nightlife district. The staff were friendly and the security at the door made us feel very safe!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Here's the lowdown, excellent location on a busy road with all the bars, beach is a 10 min walk away. I suggest when you get out of hotel walk right the beach is cleaner.
We stayed in room 258
hotel spa is ridiculously expensive for kuta area you can leave hotel and get a massage next door for about 50,000 IDR drinks too are not worth it as any bar on the drag has 2 for 1 specials. If you like to party the hotel offers a pool party daily with good music until about 10pm.
As far as the room goes the Walls are thin you can hear people coming in early in the middle of night, rooms had a moldy smell but after a day you don't notice it. There is no place to really store luggage and rooms are small. In the bathroom we tried using the body soap and instantly regretted it. The soap smelled leathal and tampered with! also wifi was as annoying because we had to keep asking for the password because it only lasted a few hours at a time. Overall the location is great but that's it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england ex ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed with a friend in August 2012. The only reason it has dropped a star is the size of the room but lets face it you don't go to Bali to stay in your hotel room! Everything else was perfect. The rooftop bar/pool was perfect. It was a stone's throw away from good restaurants and shops. The staff were friendly. It was secure (there was a security guard and a metal detector as you entered the place). I'd definitely go back. We had breakfast included and got it delivered to our room at no extra cost (at about 4am one night).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

(Dates of Stay: 5 Feb - 13 Feb 2013 in a Superior Room, 109)

PROS: Amazing location! Close to everything you would want to see in Kuta. I cannot stress enough how amazing the cushions/pillows in the rooms are after a long day of walking around Kuta. Air conditioning was wonderful, room service too. Reception was always helpful and I highly recommend a trip to the spa! The rooftop pool is perfect for lazing around with a cocktail & you can even look over the edge, down into the street below. If you get tired walking around Kuta, the rooftop bar and pool is a perfect place to escape to and relax. Great vibe and staff are always happy and friendly. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. Breakfast is good and they cook your eggs to order right in front of you, any way you like!

CONS: There are only cons to this hotel if you are bothered by these particular things I am about to list, as I was completely happy with my stay, and would go back again. There are pool parties quite often and you could hear the loud music from the room I was in. Sound travels quite far in this hotel and I was occasionally woken up at night by people yelling out and banging on doors whilst they were returning from a night out in Kuta. This is definitely a party hotel at times, with quite a majority of young people staying here. I personally would not recommend it for young families and senior travelers. Occasionally I noticed that dirty hand towels I had placed on the floor to be replaced by the daily room cleaning service, had simply been refolded and placed back on the towel rack. Also our linen wasn't changed, but I'm sure it would have been if we asked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was here last year with my family total 3 rooms, everything was prefect but this year i came back with group of friends total 3 rooms also. Checking in was late, waiting until 3.30pm only we managed to get our rooms. Rooms a bit run down compare last trip, and there is no kettle in the room to boil water means no tea coffee facilities, its trouble me because i need to make oat drink every morning. 2nd day morning at 8am, the renovation work started, we all woke up by the sound of drilling. Breakfast is good, only that egg section a bit slow and always long q. on the check out day, i was late for check out, at aroung 12.10 my room phone ring non stop, after i pick up, actually is computer generated of wake up call, and it ring every 5 minutes until i left the room and check out at 12.25pm, why the hotel don't want to just telling me i am late instead of put this wake up call every 5 minutes, i feel that this is not the way for a pro hotelier to act.
The hotel location, room, breakfast is ok, except the service. Finally i feel embarrassed to recommend this hotel to my friends, i won't go back to this hotel again next year. I hope they really improve their service because few new and nice hotels coming soon same street especially very big Mercure, and already opened The Akmani Legian Hotel is well recommended.

Room Tip: try no to get room on 3rd floor because 4th floor is for breakfast, moving anything like table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 101 Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 101 Legian

Address: 117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 101 Legian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE 1O1 LEGIAN will be a pioneering CHIC and Trendy lifestyle three stars Hotel which offer a premium meaning of stay, suitable for both Business and Leisure Traveler. THE 1O1 LEGIAN offers convenience access and escapade of Life Stressors to most Legendary Urban area of BALI. The 1O1 will be “the Heaven” for the active and young spirit travelers who wish to be part of every "happenings." The Brand promises a Smart-Stylish Value for Money as one of each signature in terms of Product, Services and Commitment towards Saving Energy for the Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The 101 Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 101 Legian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.