We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable 3 star accommodation in Legian.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 101 Legian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The 101 Legian to your Saves list
The 101 Legian
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable 3 star accommodation in Legian.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Accommodation in Bali is becoming more costly, 101 Legian is good value for money. It is quite new, clean and comfortable. Ask for a room away from the club if you want to sleep peacefully at night. Buffet breakfast selection is good. Free wifi available in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    356
    162
    49
    41
See reviews for
70
252
93
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Maybe it's because I had just finished one week at a Villa for complete R&R, so I wasn't exactly in the mindset for club music blaring in the lobby and outside the hotel.

It's a fine hotel, not dirty or anything by any means. It's in a great location. Just a stones throw away from shopping, bars and clubs. The Memorial to the victims of the bombing from a few years back is just a short walk away. Location is good.

However, if you are not seeking wild nights to get drunk and get your party on, this is probably NOT the place for you. Even through the hotel hallways, techno music plays. I was really thrown off by the "party ambience" of the Hotel since I wasn't expecting it, and i didn't see it advertised that way on their tripadvisor page... maybe I hadn't read enough reviews though.

Now, if you ARE looking for a fun time, and you want to be able to walk out of the hotel, get crazy at the bars/clubs, and stroll back to your hotel room, this place is probably more than suitable for you! Maybe if I was still single and in my 20s I'd be totally down for that too :) But i'm old(er), taken, and like to have a quiet night's sleep.

Basically, if you want to party, this is a great hotel for you.

But, if you want a quiet evening, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Legian 101 in September and absolutely loved it! It's in the best location and although it's just off the main street of Kuta, it was very quiet inside the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were happy to answer any questions we had. The rooms were very clean and modern and the food provided at breakfast was fantastic.

The facilities were also great - the rooftop pool was clean, every afternoon a DJ would play good music...great drinks and food were available by the pool at any time. When we arrived, a new restaurant had opened under the hotel which was the best restaurant we went to during our trip.

We walked past so many hotels on the main street of Kuta, and 101 Legian was the best by far.
We would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on level three which is away from the street to avoid traffic noise. It is also the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

this newly built hotel is in the main shopping area of Kuta Beach in Bali and this Hotel serves very good buffet Breakfast and the staff is very courteous. Since this is main shopping street and close to all night out places, becomes more convenient

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Room wasn't ready upon our arrival. Apart from this, the hotel is amazing. Great staff, nice breakfast, clean well maintained rooms. Everything is new. Made my holiday pleasant and relaxed. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are looking for a place to head straight from the airport for a night or two then The 101 in Legian is a great pit stop whilst getting your bearings in Bali. The hotel is still relatively new and this shows, the design and decor of The 101 is great, it could easily pass as 5 star complex. We could not fault our room either - we stayed in a Superior Double which we booked through Expedia whilst it was on offer (roughly £33 per room per night), really great value. The staff are very eager to please and you do not get the sense that everything they do is only for a tip like at other places I have visited. There is also full security on the door which gives those a bit wary of staying so close to Bali bombing location added piece of mind.

The Sky Pool is gorgeous too, a real sun trap and not over crowded with non-residents.

Breakfast, which was included within the price, was very good - a selection of hot and cold foods and lots of fruit and cereal.

The only down side of this is the location - I had been told that Kuta and Legian were very commercialised and full of seedy bars and unfortunately I found this to be the case. We only left the hotel one night out of the two we stayed as the strip that runs through Legian reminded me very much of Koh San Road in Bangkok and as a young woman with my boyfriend I did not feel comfortable at all.

We are in Bali for a month and so were in no rush having left the airport and The 101 is perfect for travellers like us who just want somewhere to head for after leaving the airport to re-coup from a long flight and plan their trip ahead. The 101 has got a really plush feel about and it is a shame that it is located in such a horrible area of Bali which really does not do it's quality justice.

We had a fabulous time here and whilst we would not go back in order to visit Kuta or Legian we would go back to stay the night before we are due to fly on to Sydney - it is a real gem for those who just want a bit of luxury space!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we went to the gili islands. Was close to kuta nightlife and many restaurants little markets and massage places. Hotel is safe with a metal detector when u walk in. Free wifi and breakfast was good. Rooms basic but great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 101 Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 101 Legian

Address: 117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 101 Legian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE 1O1 LEGIAN will be a pioneering CHIC and Trendy lifestyle three stars Hotel which offer a premium meaning of stay, suitable for both Business and Leisure Traveler. THE 1O1 LEGIAN offers convenience access and escapade of Life Stressors to most Legendary Urban area of BALI. The 1O1 will be “the Heaven” for the active and young spirit travelers who wish to be part of every "happenings." The Brand promises a Smart-Stylish Value for Money as one of each signature in terms of Product, Services and Commitment towards Saving Energy for the Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The 101 Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 101 Legian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.