We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa del Sol has now arrived in Bali” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The 101 Legian

Save Saved
You added The 101 Legian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The 101 Legian
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 61 hotels in Legian
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Costa del Sol has now arrived in Bali”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

Having been to Bali on numerous occassions, I now travelled with a friend and we decided to stay close to Kuta. The hotel we found looked very nice on internet and indeed the bar, pool (if you don't mind just a 80 cm depth) etc look all very nice. But the rooms.... I have never seen such small rooms ever in Bali. Really complete lack of taste and allthough the hotel recently opened, they already are very dirty and in desparate need for redoing. Please note that most of the roomd are facing a 3 storey high inside courtyard, no sun etc and the rooms on the outside have a small window, no balcony, and this window cannot be opened. I have never felt this "un-Bali" atmosphere. But then again if you look at the crowd this hotel is attracting, it makes sense. Stag parties of red burned Aussies and the likes. Indeed welcome to the Costa del Sol. I really feel sorry for the staff, they were extremely kind and helpfull. For this rate you can find much nicer hotels on Bali, tradional taste, with pool and other facilities. Allthough the hotel is cheap I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. But this is unfortunately a trend that cannot be stopped. During my stay I saw at least 20 other hotels that were being built in this area. Unlike before they become massive and un-Bali. Only if you go to Seminyak or beyond you can still find some original Bali houses and style.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Mr./ Mrs.MvdK01,

Greeting from The 101 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience...

Thank you very much for your comment and taking the time to give us feedback regarding to your stay at The 101 Legian. We do apologize for all inconvenience experience that you had during your stay with us.

We consider all comments to be an essential and important part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve product and service.

Thank you once again and we do hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards

Management at

The 101 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    293
    130
    41
    32
See reviews for
55
215
81
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Some interesting values :
- brand new hotel
- good location
- nice accommodations
- efficient and friendly service
- daily variable breakfast on the top roof
- top roof swimming pool
- refreshing main lobby with free internet access and live musical entertainment

If the hotel management can maintain the above values I'm sure the 101 Legian could become a successful story !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Mr. Benny L,

Greeting from The 101 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience...

Thank you very much for your comment and taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay at The 101 Legian. We do apologize for all inconvenience experience that you has during your stay as do tour best service for our valued guest.

You feedback to The 101 Legian is highly appreciated and this become one of great opportunity for us to be more advanced in the future.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again to The 101 Legian.

Best regards

Management at

The 101 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great Service and Staff at this Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Great Location - down the road from Kori restaurant in Poppies Lane 2 and not too far from Made's Warung both Fantastic restaurants. Day Spa at hotel was wonderful and reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast was fantastic - very simple but delicious. The Hotel and rooms were very very clean and although the rooms are small they definitely had all the amentities that you would require. I think this hotel is well suited to a single traveller or for a young at heart couple that are looking for cheap but clean rooms. Although they have family rooms this Hotel has a lot of music playing at night at the walls are very thin so I don't think it would be ideal for my family. Having said this if I was travelling back again to Bali by myself I would not hesitate to stay at Legian 101. Staff are wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Mariesfamily,

Greeting from The 101 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience...

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip advisor.

It's our pleasure to have you to stay with us and we looking forward to welcoming you again to The 101 Legian.

Best regards

Management at

The 101 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights and my room was on the 2nd floor.

Check-in : The check-in procedure was quite fast, but I would reccommend that it would be better if the staffs do not talking to each other in front of the guests about irrelevant matters to the guests standing in front of them.

Location : Superb. Walking distance to Kuta beach and surrounded by pubs and bars is perfect for guests looking for lively and vibrant surroundings.

Service : Friendly and helpful. I'll give credits to the Housekeeping Staff for their immaculate cleanliness.

Room : Quite small. Equipped with hair dryer, nightrobe, LCD TV, etc but it could use to have a tea/coffee maker. Water was quite smelly though. And the wall was quite thin and you could hear people talking in the hallway.

Breakfast : Delicious and had wide varieties from international to Indonesian dishes.

Others : Welcome drinks was served in roof top open bar area that has a nice view. The mojitos was refreshing.

Overall, this hotel is a good choice for your stay in Bali.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Mrs. Selina_Tjhin,

Greeting from The 101 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience...

Thank you ver much for your comment and taking the time to give us feedback regarding to your stay at The 101 Legian. We do apologize for all inconvenience experience that you had during your stay with us here at The 101 Legian.

We always do strive to provide the best service to all our guests during their stay at The 101 Legian but there is always a shortage beyond our capabilities and we really appreciate of your constructive feedback which we will use as benchmark in improving our product and service.

We consider all comments to be an essential and important part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve product and service. We do hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best Regards

Management at

The 101 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysian
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights as it was part of a last minute deal. We were slightly concern as it was reported to be noisy but that was not too bad for us. It was noisy on the first night mainly due to some inconsiderate kids that were staying there that were screaming up and down the corridor.

The good things about it are - great location and good value for money based on the deal that we managed to obtain.

The not so great stuff about it are - small washroom with an appalling shower that dribbles, the cleanliness of the room is debatable and bad service at the restaurant at night. The buffet breakfast that was part of the deal had limitted choices and if you ordered half boiled eggs or poached eggs, be ready to wait for about 20 minutes or for it to be forgottened.

I enjoyed Bali but do not think that I would be coming back to stay at 101 Legian in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Travelbug2001

Greeting from The 101 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience...

Thank you for making The 101 Legian as you holiday destination of choice and for spending your time in providing us with feedback regarding your stay here with us.

We do apologize for all of the inconvenience experience that you had during your stay with us and for annoying problem has been noted and we will do more better for the future. Your feedback on these matter is highly appreciated.

We hope you will provide us another opportunity of showing our good service in the future.

Best Regards

Management at

The 101 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Location of hotel was excellent, 10-15 mins walk to kuta beach.

Open pool on the fourth floor was quite spectacular especially at night. If you are there, make sure u try the crushed apple with mint drink. I had 4 of those in one afternoon.

Service staff need to improve. They often avoid eye contact (so that they won't have to "serve you") and checking in was very slow (checking in at 4pm and there was literally no one else checking in).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Mr. Wong,
Greeting from The 1O1 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip Advisor. We do apologies for the inconvenience during your stay caused by several thinks at The 1O1 Legian.

We consider all comments to be an essential and important part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve product and service. We do hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The rooms on the top floor are very very noisey in the mornings from people moving there chairs etc while having breakfast at the restaurant on the roof. It is extremely noisey from 7.30 onwards.The bathrooms do not have bench space for your toiletries.

Room Tip: ASk for room below the third floor and not next to the passage doors that slam everytime people go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The 101 Legian, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs. Holidayhelper297733,

Greeting from The 1O1 Legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip Advisor. We do apologies for the inconvenience during your stay caused by several thinks at The 1O1 Legian.

We consider all comments to be an essential and important part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve product and service. We do hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 101 Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 101 Legian

Address: 117 Jl Raya Legian, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 101 Legian 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE 1O1 LEGIAN will be a pioneering CHIC and Trendy lifestyle three stars Hotel which offer a premium meaning of stay, suitable for both Business and Leisure Traveler. THE 1O1 LEGIAN offers convenience access and escapade of Life Stressors to most Legendary Urban area of BALI. The 1O1 will be “the Heaven” for the active and young spirit travelers who wish to be part of every "happenings." The Brand promises a Smart-Stylish Value for Money as one of each signature in terms of Product, Services and Commitment towards Saving Energy for the Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The 101 Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 101 Legian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.