We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali to your Saves list
Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Legian
Singapore
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I just stayed for 2 nights at this hotel on 15/4/2012. Room size is ok, bathroom ok, but no door lock. No additional extra bed for 3rd person. A bit smelly for bedsheets. Aircon function is weak when weather outside is high temperature. Free wifi service. Depend signal weak or not. Overall still can acceptable. Our room (no. 317) had a balcony and we are facing the pool view. It's feel lovely. If you need hot / cold water, you need to go outside and get from water dispenser machine. Everyday provide 2 free mini bottles mineral water. Breakfast is simple not many choices. But food a bit salty.

Hotel staffs are friendly, but lack interact in english. Opposite Amaris hotel have one massage parlor, very reasonable price. Foot / Hand massage for 30min only rp30,000 and aromatheraphy full body scrub massage only rp130,000. One highly recommend places is the Legian beach. around 5 - 10min walking distance to there.

During my stayed, is non peak season in Legian area. So seldom peoples hang out & shopping till late. Pub or restaurant are a bit high price. We had arranged day tour everyday, so we only expect this hotel as a rest places.

Room Tip: Pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    86
    49
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
43
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you want to stay busy Legian hotel is good budget choice.

Room and hotel were clean and breakfast was good when thinking about price.

But within our staying there were many downsides. There was really bad smell in our first room and I couldn't stay there because I started cough when we enter to the room. Luckily we got new room. In new room there was one bad smelling pillow which was moldy but we got new pillow.

When we were packing we noticed that cleaning lady has token one of our mini grip plastic bag and hotel staff couldn't help because their lack of english skills.

Overall good budget hotel but remember if you need help staff can't help enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Last September I went to Bali with a group of friends for 5 days, who were all first time visiting this island filled with Gods and Temples.
We stayed at Amaris Hotel Legian near the Legian Beach, which was strategically located on Padma Utara Road of Legian, a short fifteen minutes’ drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport (though the jam took us half an hour to get to the hotel) and ten minutes’ walk from Legian Beach. The hotel has 115 rooms, each with LCD TV, in-room safe, restaurant, swimming pool and free WiFi internet access.
The hotel was really simple, nothing fancy, clean and functional. For about MYR170 per night, it was quite alright sharing among 2 person.
The location of the hotel is quite good, with lots of shops, eateries and massage parlours around the hotel. Also you can walk to the famous Double Six road where the happening clubs like Cocoon, Double Six Club and more are located in about 20 minutes.
Overall, it's a alright hotel to stay with a group of friends, simple and no fuss since we didn't spend much time in it anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Overall it was a pleasant experience, my friends and I went with pretty low expectations when we heard it was just a 3 star hotel. We picked it for the great location. However, we were happy that the rooms were clean and furnished with the very basic amenities ( no hot water jug, no fridge, limited cable channels). Each room had a balcony and the pool was quite lovely even if it was relatively smaller. The regular staff were affable and accommodating. Breakfast was decent. Do not expect a varied fare. The Indonesian average breakfast but it was decent. If there were complaints it would be that the wifi service was faulty and the place was swarming with trainees who were not really equipped to handle querries from guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of 4. Booked 2 rooms.

THe rooms were clean, though I have seen cleaner. For me, the price was the only main reason why we chose this place. Rooms are minimalist, with a tv, and 2 bottles of water. Shower is ok, the beds are firm, but the pillows smell old. Sheets are not changed despite staying for so many days and leaving a sign for them to change it. Towels changed everyday.

Breakfast is simple but it does the job. Not great, but then again, I can't hold it against them at this price point.

Do note that this part of legian is about 5 minutes walk from the beach. Around the hotel, the area looks a bit seedy, partly cause its poorly lit up, and has lousy dated bars / restaurants.

I guess its ok to stay here if you plan to head out everyday for a full day of excursion, and use this place a a base to rest.

Will I come back here? Maybe not, next time I'm gonna splurge a bit more and stay in a villa>

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I checked in in the afternoon, no bell man assist me to the room, we have to search our room by ourselves, and when we entered the room, the room still dirty from previous guest. Not cleaned yet. I called housekeeping myself to have the room cleaned.

The room very simple, no fridge in room, no waterjug, only 2 mug on the table, limited chennel on TV, bathroom very small and it was very-very basic room. Breakfast was ok, but the restaurant area cannot hold lots of guest, we have to seats at pool side on sun-chair to eat. No restaurant and no room service.

I feel like the room price is expensive compare of what we've got in the hotel.

Room Tip: Better to have upper level room, below level will be noisy, because all rooms facing to the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Not so many to review, just some pluses and minuses...
PLUSES +
1) Location. Nearby to legian beach, you can go to the beach by foot. The road access is easy to find, but need some hotel signs on Seminyak St. because we don't find any signs.
2) Design. Minimalist hotel "on the go", from the room till the pool. But, loved the pool.
3) Breakfast. Quite complete for "medium-budget hotel".
MINUSES -
1) It's an "open hotel". Along the corridor to our room, there's no window, so when the rain pour so hard, it's wet to your room door. So, housekeeping put a towel on your door step.
2) Some "dirty-dozen". We found our pillow got 'blood-stain' on it, and (used to be) leak water on the AC.
3) Water. The water is a bit 'sticky', maybe it's because the hotel near to the beach. Maybe...
4) "Outdoor sink". It's a bit weird for me, usually the sink is inside the bathroom, but it's outside. A bit awkward (for me).
5) Bel boy. There's no bell boy to help you carry some luggage to the room. Only security that help us.

Overall, it's nice "medium-budget hotel" to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the room that faces outside view, and choose near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaris Hotel Legian - Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.