We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but DIRTY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gosyen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Gosyen Hotel to your Saves list
Gosyen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Dewi Sri 9, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Legian B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty but DIRTY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine and the location convenient. The garden and pool are lovely and the staff friendly - from there it all goes downhill. They say wifi everywhere but room 201 where they first put me had no signal at all. I had to insist they switch me to another room as I need wifi - finally they moved me to 205 (closer to the garden so better wifi?) In both rooms there was dust and plastic wrappers under the beds and in the second room mosquitoes EVERYWHERE. I don't just mean alive mosquitoes they were also all over the walls mirrors and ceiling - I don't know who squished them and left them but it's ridiculous. The towels in the bathroom were so dirty it was appalling and when I found housekeeping (yes found) they gave me dirty towels again. When I took them back the lady huffed and puffed and gave me ANOTHER dirty towel. At this point I lost my cool and said for gods sake I want a clean towel and finally when I selected it myself I got a clean one. I'm leaving as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Positives ......... This place was great value for money, the bed was an extremely comfortable quality bed. The staff were fresh, friendly and courteous and the location was handy not far from the tourist strip but far enough away. Airconditioning new model split system very good, satllite tv + flat panel, monsoon shower also nice pool.

Negatives......... The breakfast Buffet (typical Indonesian Buffet rice, noodles etc.) Sadly this was served cold daily even after mentioning to staff they seemed to have an aversion to lighting the Metho Burners. Cold water in the shower, yes the Monsoon shower was nice "if and when" the water was not cold. After reporting to staff nothing happened. The pool was nice but it was the coldest pool in Bali which is a refreshing stamina testing experience.

Summary.......... I would stay there again and recommend this Hotel for those looking to be slightly away from the Tourist "Throng" who enjoy good honest value for money and a comfortable night sleep.

Room Tip: I had ground floor adjacent the swimming pool being only 31 rooms it is quite private next time I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have recommendation from a friend of mine, a couple of Canadian who stayed at Gosyen Hotel Bali couples of months ago. I booked this hotel and find their recommendation is true. Even when you enter the lobby, the good fragrance of flower will greet you. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is good and challenging, with a choice of spicy food and they serve American breakfast too, with old music playing on the sound system and the screen. Where on earth you could have breakfast with classic footage of The Beatles appear on the screen? And they have good compilation of jazz music. And there's a library too. What a perfect start of the day.
I'd make acquaintance with the friendly general manager, his name is hard to spell.. Ferdyanshah or something like that. But just call him ferdy or fredy. Good conversation and this guy will recommend you good places in bali, with humorous line.
The location is good, not too far from the famous beach, Kuta. the hotel itself is located in Legian, you just walk in 5 minutes and you find every action and the nightlife.
The room is bigger than I expected, with everything you need in it. They don't fill the minibar with everything, just stuff you need. I've got a non smoking room with big window. The room is clean and the staff clean it everyday. The towel is fresh. The bed is very comfortable.
There's a swimming pool with good water, even the sound of running water of the pool make you relax.
I definitely would stay again. Gosyen Hotel is excellent in every aspect. One more thing, the room rate is a very good value for your budget.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, but yet you better have room on the second or third floor. so quiet and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly, however, the room hadca horrible smell like moth balls, I saw 2 rooms and they bigh smelt the same. The bathroom wasn't so clean, nor was under/behind bed. It had good Internet and was good value, good forca short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel for the price it offers. It really became our home away from home, we loved it and highly recommend it.
The staff are friendly and helpful, neither overbearing or awkward, we found this really fantastic after our other hotels we stayed at.
The small restaurant provides a simple Indonesian style breakfast with buckets of toast, that is very delicious. The pool is quite large and undercover. It gets a little sun, but not too much. Most of the sun lies on the pool side lounges and chairs, which is nice since you don't get burnt while swimming.
The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and the air con works a treat!! It is really quite impressive. The fridge is thankfully not stuffed with junk food you have to pay for and fits large water bottles with ease. The in room safe is fantastic and very secure. It allows you to choose your own 6 digit code and is quite large.
The shower is humongous and they provide basic bathroom amenities.
The only improvement, which is really not much of a bother at all, is the shower only heats up to luke warm. We thought this was good since Legian is so gosh darn hot!!
Loved it, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

For the price it offers, please be reasonably expectant :) The room we got was very gloomy and not too clean (dusty and sticky floors) with musty smell. We got a room with no window, and the one situated directly in front of the mini pool that they had. The lobby is clean and cozy. Did not interact much with staff as we only checked in and rested. The distance from Kuta is definitely inconvenient, and I think it won't be so accessible or interesting for first-time travelers to Bali. We wanted something fuss-free for 1 day before going home, after staying in North Bali for the majority of our trip there.
All in all, an acceptable lodging for quick stays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I just stayed again for my business trip, and end up having more time here. Love the library at the corner of the restaurants with novels and magazines. Now they have old classic video clips on the plasma TV. The hotel manager is very friendly, funny and helpful. I feel like at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the south wing, bigger than the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gosyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosyen Hotel

Address: Jl. Dewi Sri 9, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gosyen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gosyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosyen Hotel Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gosyen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.