We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, tasty meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smiling Frog

The Smiling Frog
Benesari st No.10, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 3609508
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Great resturant in bali do hope you can do a new listing because it deserve,s te be on the list i think they have a face book site thanks
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big, tasty meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We tried the Smiling Frog after it was reccomended to us by guests at the hotel we were stayng at. They told us about the cocktail happy hour and said the meals were good. They were right.
If you are going there at night, don't worry about ordering entrees. We made that mistake, and were also given a welcome bread, so we had way too much food.
We tried spring rolls and bruschetta for entrees, and a steak and chicken kiev for mains. Everything was delicious, and big servings of food.
The cocktails were cheap. I think happy hour was 7pm-11pm, with 22,000 cocktails. We had loads of these and they also have shisha. We tried the berry flavour which was nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really sweet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Fresh and tasty foods personal smile all the Time. ..nice atmosphere you can eat lot of differents tastes from italy Indonesia .....


  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great Food and Great Staff, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ate hear last week and would highly recommend to anyone passing by, this place is GREAT! We were given cold flannels to wipe face hands, much appreciated. Then came a complimentary bowl of peanuts. Also complimentary garlic bread. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Meals were excellent also. Nothing was too much for them. And to top it off, one of our party had left his wallet on the table, and we were walking down the lane towards Jl legian when he came running up with the wallet for us. Very impressed with this. Will definitely dine here again, next time we are in Bali

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“frog anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the staff so friendly and kindly. and fast service, I like the music in this place, so old but I like it. and u can meet kermit (famous frog character) in hereee LOL :DD

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very bland indonesian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went here based on all the recommendations here, really not sure what this is all about. Everything from the lassi to the gado gado and chicken sate was quite bland. Not bad, but definitely not particularly good either. Everything I'm certain I could have made quite easily at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smiling Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Smiling Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smiling Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.