We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sara Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sara Residence to your Saves list
Sara Residence
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jalan Nakula 9 | Legian Bali, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Offer up to 40% Off!
Ranked #19 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

By looking at the previous review, we didn't expect much of this hotel. And I am glad that what we got was way beyond our expectation.

We chose ground level room with a direct access to the pool, which was fantastic.. Feels like our own private pool, just a step away. Not a big pool, though.. But its just nice for my son to swim alone while i was watching him from the room with no worry that he will out of my sight.

The hotel location is very convenient.. A lot of restaurant and eating places near by, mini market, even 24hrs McDonald just around the corner. You cant see the beaches, though.. But its only about 5mins drive you can get to the beautiful 66 beach area.

Breakfast was not so fantastic, but they can deliver to our room which i find it very efficient, the staff were friendly and professional.

And about the clinic surgery that the previous review talked about, it was nothing.. I didnt even see any patient around, it didnt bother us at all..

Overall, the hotel quality, the sevices we got, with the price that we paid, was really beyond our expectation. We will definitely come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay as was clean and tidy with good service. Nothing was a problem for staff to help. Breakfast with a drifference but overall not to bad.Two bedroom apartment very comfortable good sleep.Need transport but everything not that far away grab a scooter lots of fun.
Have been to bali a few times now and paid lot higher prices for accomodation that were nice but service was very poor .
One down side was mini bar not refilled
So overall stay very happy and will return and stay at sara residence again.:)

Room Tip: Rooms A/C and very cool. Apartment style acc great for sharing or children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights - kinda outta the way of shops and restaurants, although there is a supermarket afew doors down which is handy. Located on a busy road and a bit noisy, hotel is next door to vacant land which is full of rubble and rubbish.

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was lovely, very modern and spacious - no bath tho. So if your happy to get away outta the main areas of Kuta and Seminyak this would suit. A taxis would only be two minutes to theses destinations.

Complaints:

Room keys not working - had to ask someone to let us in each time we wanted to get back in our room, which was made difficult as the staff didn't speak english well.

The safe in our our room went off at 7:30am one morning which woke us up. Annoying as we hadn't touch the safe on our stay.

Breakfast was disorganised but tasty.

Customer service seemed lacking somewhat considering how many staff were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian s, Manager at Sara Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Sara Residence.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

this place is quite good with some conditions.
Location
Using a rent car is a must since the location of the hotel is a very far from beach and a quite far from main seminyak road.
Room
I spent 5 nights here with 3 friends of mine at 2 bedrooms type. it's quite good and very clean.
Staff
They were very nice and friendly
Amenities
Don't expect to much at this place, only standard things you will get here. Yet, it's enough.
Foods
Only tried 1-2 times for the breakfast since most of us tend to have breakfast outside. So, it's okay and not so special.

Overall
I would say this place is not a very good hotel but if you are looking for a place just to sleep, store your luggage and spend most of the time outside or in other places, this place is good enough. I heard that the suite has 3 bedrooms (twin size) and cost USD 180 per night which if you spend with at least 6 people, the price is good bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian s, Manager at Sara Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Sara Residence.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This place is look more like rent apartment than hotel .. its very clean and suits or group .. I went there on 22nd-27th dec 2010 with singaporean friends and we enjoyed our stay here... on 2nd floor is the beauty surgery area .. and it was closed that time ... the pool just ok .. better rent car if stay here ... not far rom legian seminyak ...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian s, Manager at Sara Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Sara Residence.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Having read the first 2 reviews on this hotel, I did lower my expectations before leaving Jakarta for Bali. However, when I arrived at Sara Residence, I felt that it was so much better than what I expected. The rooms were clean, service was good and we didn't have to wait long everytime we needed things in our room.

I went to Bali with 3 friends, and we stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apt which costed us IDR 3 million (eq USD 300) which includes breakfast for 4 persons and 1 extrabed. We stayed in apt #101 (which is the most conveniently situated apt in the entire building if I may add). Bathroom is clean an nice, though there is only 1 shared in our apt. There's a fridge, a microwave, and LCD TV with cable. Free internet wi-fi.

The swimming pool is not very large, but since we stayed during a slow season, we did feel like we could use the pool anytime we like.

We were not disturbed at all with the fact that there's a plastic surgery clinic in the building.

We didn't order in room dining (yes, it's true that the minimum order is IDR 150K or USD 15), but we can have the breakfast delivered to our room. There were only 3 choices of breakfast: toast with eggs and jam, fried rice, fried noodle. Fresh juices available. Coffee and tea served in sachets.

I don't recommend walking to the main street, so it would be best if you could rent a motorcycle or a car to get around. However, there is a minimart and a spa located nearby, and an ATM too, all within walking distance. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive to Legian or Seminyak, and is near Sunset Road which has lots of souvenirs/Bali snacks shops (near 'Krisna' souvenir shop which is one of the largest souvenir shops).

One drawback though, when we were settling the bills, the credit card machine did not work for some reason, but it may be just a network issue. We finally settled the bills using BCA (Bank Central Asia) debit card (which is the only debit card that they accept). So you might want to make sure to bring cash, just in case.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there, and this place is recommended for friends travelling together, or a small family, who are looking for a convenient place to stay, value for money.

This place is probably NOT suitable for couples looking for a romantic place, or someone who is looking to just relax in the hotel during the entire stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian s, Manager at Sara Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Sara Residence.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I wish I read the trip advisor review before we checked in here. It's just as the 1st reviewer describes.

It is a plastic surgery clinic located on 2nd floor and the rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floor.

This "hotel" would like to mislead you calling itself a "modern style hotel & residence"
I can assure you it is in no way a hotel. One morning, on our way down to breakfast we found ourselves sharing the hospital style elevator (stainless steel and deep enough to fit a gurney) with clinic patients. Breakfast was included in the rate, and as soon as we seated ourselves they asked what we would like. They didn't even have menus. They offered toast and eggs and fruit. We asked for coffee and were brought a pot of hot water to use with the instant coffee packs on the table.

Also the 'room service' is a minimum order of 150 000 rupiah and we later figured out it's because this so-called hotel doesn't have a restaurant on site, the room service is brought in from elsewhere.

If you want to use the phone supplied in the room for local calls, or any calls, don't bother because it's only used for calling the front desk. To make a phone call at Sara Residence you must go downstairs to their front desk and ask to use their personal business line.

As for location, in their brochures we saw at the front desk, it says 10 minutes walk to beach. This is false. It's maybe a 10 min taxi ride and more like 1/2 hour walk to beach.

The two positives of this plastic surgery clinic/hotel is that the rooms were clean and in good shape and it had WiFi.

We paid about $95usd/ night which is way too much for Bali considering this is not a proper hotel and the place lacks any proper services, including a sub-par breakfast.

I would not recommend this place at all. It's really frustrating because the marketing and advertising of this place as a hotel is extremely misleading. You can do a lot better in Bali for $95usd / night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian s, Manager at Sara Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Sara Residence.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Residence

Address: Jalan Nakula 9 | Legian Bali, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sara Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on the Seminyak area, home to sun, beautiful beach, and, serious fun; location is truly everything. This iconic area adjacent to the island’s chicest shops, irresistible gourmet foods, and Asia’s most stylish nightlife is merely the irresistible beginning of what sets this restful sanctuary apart from Bali’s pack.Rest assured knowing your stay at Sara Residence would be a complete retreat into the calming and an incredible peaceful escape. Indulge yourself in our 3-Bedrooms 95sqm penthouse where each room has its own private balcony with view to the hotel’s garden and swimming pool and designed as your restful sanctuary ideal for your family vacation trip or simply stay at our 45 sqm 2-Bedrooms suites where our main swimming pool is just an open door away. This ultimate comfort all are traditionally designed with exquisite residential comfort where all accommodations feature Indonesian fabrics and art pieces as well furnished in soft earth tones.So indulge yourself, shop with friends, devour exquisite gourmet food with your family, indulge your private moments having spa’s, spend some serious fun at the stylish nightlife or simply feel at home in this incredibly peaceful escape, here at Sara Residence you will never run out options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sara Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara Residence Hotel Legian
Sara Residence Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.