We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anakula Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anakula Villas to your Saves list
Anakula Villas
GG. Baik Baik, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

One word - RATS. The villas had a few of the delightful little creatures!! The staff tried their best to resolve the situation by laying some medieval traps, but to no avail. Wasn't nice. The staff were excellent, very helpful and the best thing about the villas. Location wasn't bad for exploring Legian and Seminyak. The top end of Seminyak is a taxi ride away, Double Six beach is about 15/ 20min walk and all the main shops are about 10mins away. The main problem with the location is the dirt track the villas are on. The slighest bit of rain and you need to don your wellington boots to get out of the villa! The smell of sewage after the track gets flooded is not good either. The villas themselves are in need of a lick of paint at least, they are looking a little worn.
All in all I wouldn't go back. If it wasn't for the rats, dirt track and tiredness off the villa it wouldn't be a bad place to stay.
Forgot to say - if you're looking for a massage of the happy type then you will pass a few as soon as you come out of you're villa!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have been to Bali 10 or more times. we loved the villas. we decided to have my 50th birthday there and it was great. there are small problems but this is Bali and there are problems everywhere!!!!! we covered the vent in bathroom so the smell went from drain! dodgy doors not such an issue. we loved the hot/cold water machine. staff excellent and helpful. we were careful to cover food at night and put in cupboard but this is Bali and same everywhere. pool great. great for a family as two seperate bedrooms which are large. My sisters stayed in other villa so great for families together. our party was fantastic and there was plenty of room and relaxing. we loved the location. it is on a dirt road and we did have rain so can be a pain but no real problem. We loved the walk to the supermarket or Jl Legian, Seminyak. Bintang and Bali Deli, Seminyak Bakery so close. Felt away from the noise and sellers but so close. will go back for sure! after staying at some dodgy Bali places this is one of the better ones. We started at Three Brother and they put us in a US $70 room but had no hot water or toilet that worked and they knew it!! so loved moving to the villa! Over slack or no service at Three Brothers in Legian.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here for 8 days in July, mailny because place offers 2 bedrooms with 2 separate bathrooms and a private pool. And also high speed internet and a satelite TV. We arrived at 1am, and everything was ok and ready, airport transfer was there and delivered us to our villa, which is in the middle of a dirt road, that conncets to another road in very very bad shape. In the morning we ordered a breakfast, that arrived 1,5 hours later (staff did apologise for that, it wasnt really their fault), and half of stuff that supposed to be included in a breakfast wasnt included. But ok, we never ordered another thing. Pool was ok, a bit small, somebody came every once in a while and throw chlorine in a pool (you couldnt swim after that...). The main disadvantage of this villas are: "high speed" internet, which is extremly SLOW (and in the evening often totally unresponsive); satelite TV, which has no english speaking chanells (beside BBC news and Australia network); location (dirt puddle road, 20 minutes to the "beach", that is SO dirty); neighbours that can be very loud (there are three villas, and one night we were sudenly awaken at 3.30am by loud shouting comming from the pool next door), and someone should really do some maintenance in the villas (door closing, fans...)... These are more budget villas than anything else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

umm, at first i was quite worried about the reviews that i saw about Anakula Villas, because it was our first time to stay on a villa in Bali. but when we stayed there we found no problems at all. Our holiday was fantastic. The staffs are great and really helpful, my mom even wanted to take the housekeeping staff to our home!! We spent much of our time in the villa. The villa is really beautiful, especially at night. We definitely will come back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We have been to Bali many times over the last few years and this is the first time we have had problems with the quality of the accommodation. Anakula Villas is in the Budget category with a capital “B”. It is located half way along a dirt track, which ends up being a mud track in the wet season, and is surrounded by fields and local houses that seem to be being used as motorcycle maintenance places.

The problem with the location is that the Villa attracts “wildlife”, not of the partying sort, but of the four legged kind. We were there for four nights and the first morning when we woke up, a brand new bar of soap placed by the kitchen sink the night before, had teeth marks in it. The picture is attached and they are from the kind of animal that has two sharp long front teeth. We suspected a rat.

Later that day, I had to chase a frog out of the bedroom and later that night, had to avoid a lizard above the bedroom door – now Gecko’s are cute you may think, but not when they are over 12 inches long.

There is absolutely nothing provided for in the Villa, so as soon as you get there you need to venture out to the local supermarket, a 10 to 15 minute walk away. We even had to buy our own can of Baygon to get rid of the ant problem in the lounge.

We chose this Villa because the pictures on the internet looked good and we thought it was relatively new, which was confirmed when we made enquiries before booking the place. In reality, it looks worn and tired. The bedroom window was cracked, there were cigarette burns on the bedside table and the bedroom doors do not close properly. The one bedroom door frequently comes off the rail at the bottom and sort of just hangs there flapping in the breeze.

Now, some of these issues were attended to during our stay, the staff being friendly and helpful, but there is just no care or attention to detail. We should have recognized what we were in for very early on when, on arrival at the airport, the Airport Transfer Driver failed to materialise and we had to negotiate with taxi drivers to take us to the Villa. But at least it was paid for by the Anakula agent.

And in case you were wondering, yes it was a rat, the size of a small house. On the last night, returning home late we turned the light on and there it was moving like a rat out of hell across the floor, disappearing behind the fridge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We have stayed in various villas in the Seminyak area, but I can say that anakula was our most pleasant stay. The villa itself is very spacious with two large bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms, one half open livingroom with kitchen and a big swimming pool. And also important, the garden isnt very enclosed, so you get sun for a large part of the day.

Since Anakula only has 3 villas you dont have the feeling that you are closed in on a holiday park. Note; there is no 'room service. Also no official' reception area (only a guards house), so if you are looking for contact with other tourists, this isnt a pro, I guess. But most people who rent a villa, do it also because of privacy.

Staff is very helpful; when our bag (with passport) was stolen in the shopping street of Seminyak, the manager went with us to the police station, even though it was a very important religious holiday. Without her, we couldnt have made our return flight).

The cleanliness is very good as is the location (quite near to double six beach). Only thing about the location is the dirt road outside the villa (when it rains, it gets muddy), but this wasnt a problem for us, since we rented a motor bike.

Also very pleasant was the price; compared to other villas we stayed in, Anakula is excellent value for money.

We will definitively return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

we really enjoyed staying in Anakula Villas. the location is on a nice place around 5min by motobike from double six. there is a mini market (open 24h) about 2min by motobike. the villa itself is nice, clean and the rooms are huge. the pool is big enough to swim.

we had only one an electricity problem and nobody couldn't help us. but i have to say, that the blackout was over all seminyak.

i really would like going again to villa anakula

one last tipp: the staff of villa anakula will organize a motobike for you. i recommend having a motobike in bali. it's very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anakula Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakula Villas

Address: GG. Baik Baik, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anakula Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anakula Villas Hotel Legian
Anakula Villas Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anakula Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.