We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl French Restaurant

Pearl French Restaurant
Jalan Arjuna (In Bali Hotel Pearl), Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 732743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A young and dynamic team waits to enthuse you with their passion for French cuisine.Their style is fresh and innovative.Their tasting plates around a theme allow you to try a variety of entrees and desserts: "foie gras", salmon and above all - chocolate. The specially air-conditioned pastry lounge allows them to work the chocolate and other products difficult to manage in a tropical climate. Relax and enjoy this unique gastronomic experience and let yourself feaston the fine attention to detail of both cuisine and surroundings.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a outstanding meal and will go back. The chef is amazing - excellent presentation and wow the taste -thank you !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    494
    88
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxed Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pearl is a special restaurant.
We went one Saturday night all the tables were occupied and well spaced in a lovely garden setting.
We were shown to our table by a rather handsome French man.
The service was great. The food divine. Try the dessert tasting plate...yum.
The chef comes out to ask if your meal was ok.
The house Bunny (there is only one left now ) hops by.
It really is a special quiet relaxed meal.


Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was one of the top dinner in Bali. The interior is elegant, modern and the garden is exactly what you are looking for when dining in Bali, relaxing and peaceful. The staff are very friendly and more attentive than average for Bali. They explain and describe each dish as it's presented, but in a subtle and non-intrusive way. The entree, tuna tartar was tasty and delicate. The main was a special for that night. Purple sweet potato mash with scallop and crispy Parma ham, it was one of the single best dishes I ever ate!
My friend had the duck breast which looked also amazing. [She said was perfectly cooked] . We thought that we had to taste the desserts after this exciting dishes!!. So we tried the Ginger bread fondant. This is a must try! Absolutely incredible dessert with its rosemary touch and passion fruit ice cream.
Pearl offers a very high standard french cuisine for really reasonable prices. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“MOST DISAPPOINTING MEAL EVER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We dined at this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews. From the time we arrived we were amazed at the ambiance, it was lovely with the fairy lights in the tree and the outdoor setting, having the rabbit hip hopping around was a delight. Staff were very attentive and very proficient.
We ordered the tasting plate which was very nice and gave us a small sample of a few dishes. We ordered mains, I ordered the lobster ravioli and my husband ordered the duck breast, thats were it all went downhill massively. They are the worst meals we have ever eating in a restaurant let alone a french restaurant of this standing supposedly. The ravioli was an open ravioli and instead of being on a base of mashed turnip it had one piece of ravioli on the bottom and then masses of mashed turnip with lobster mixed in it then topped off with a piece of ravioli on the top. It was tasteless and just a pile of mashed slop. My husband had the duck breast and it came with these tiny square extremely oily baked potatoes. The duck breast had no ooomph what so ever and he felt he could have got better in a pub not a french restaurant.

I know it sounds harsh but we love french restaurants and their food, maybe we just ordered the wrong dish on the night because we saw other meals coming out and they looked really nice. The tuna caparcio was exceptional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Pearl in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pearl is just getting better and better. While our holidays in Bali we decided to book a table at Pearl [the restaurant was quite full actually] . This was our second time at Pearl and we couldn't expect a better experience. The food was absolutely delicious. Excellent combinations of flavors combining with good wine. We ended our dinner with a chocolate fondant which was cooked at perfection . The taste was just to die for.
We went home full and happy. Will go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pearl French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl French Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.