We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed 2nd visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana to your Saves list
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Jalan Melasti, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Win!
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed 2nd visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Pullman and had a 10 night stay. Whilst the location is excellent across from the beach, and restaurants and shops up the road. The quality and service of the Pullman fall well below an expected 5 star standard, this time around it was more like a 3 star Hotel.

The welcome staff on check-in were disinterested, rude and abrupt. The maintenance and cleanliness of the room needs severe attention ie balcony light not working for entire 10 night stay, balcony wooden rail missing, shower ran out of hot water 1 night, access to room malfunction with swipe access, phone call to our room at 11.10pm at night by staff (miscommunication), noise of other guests using pool at well after 10 pm... Very disappointed would probably recommend to stay somewhere else in Bali next visit.

Although the Assitant Manager Didi did offer us a 1 hour massage on check-out day, it was a bit late as these problems should have been rectified earlier and general maintenance of hotel is lacking for a Hotel which is rated as 5 star.

Room Tip: Rooms back from the Ocean View, overlooking the pool may be a bit quieter although not necessarily s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    582
    273
    105
    68
See reviews for
466
687
104
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2012 and while I had heard a lot of great things about the new Pullman and the photos looked amazing, it was quite a disappointment. I really wanted to love this place, and the hotel does have a lot to love about it, but unfortunately the bad parts really overshadowed the good. So here goes.

The good
1. The infinity pool. Amazing! No other words for it, and it's the best position on Legian Beach to watch a sunset. Pool bar staff were also lovely and there were sufficient amount of bleachers that you didn't have to fight for them. There is also a kiddie pool downstair which meant you got to sunbake in peace.
2. Lobby and reception staff - lovely and friendly.
3. The rooms are really modern, large, clean bed is comfortable and has all the mod cons.

The bad:
1. When we checked into our room after a long afternoon boat trip, the air con was not working. No air at all. I called reception immediately and they sort of passed me around a bit then sent up an engineer to test it out. An HOUR later he arrives, as soon as he walked in he confirms it's not working (oh duh). Then I had to call reception again to confirm this, and then they said they would move us, but please wait in the room. Half an hour later, and sweating like hell, we are moved to the new room. However, they didn't reprogramme our TV when we moved rooms, so we had to call back downstairs to reprogramme our room profile so that the TV would work. The operator refused to transfer me to reception, even though they were the ONLY ones that could reset the profile. They had to call an IT technician to help (??). You might wonder why the hell I was so annoyed about the TV not working. Well the thing is at The Pullman, the room service menu is on the TV and nowhere else. All the hotel info is on the TV and no where else. So you HAVE to get your TV working to access this. And we had not eaten all day, sweating and now very annoyed. The same thing for the free WIFI. You have to have your TV synched to your profile to work. Frightfully annoying 4 hrs checking in!
2. Renovations and building banging starts at 9am! Now I am know that in order to improve a hotel there needs to be work (as the sign next to our bed told us) but this is a BRAND new hotel. Why does there need to be renos already. Plus to start at 9am when people want to sleep in and on holiday is a bit early!!
3. The room key card de-magnitised one day and we couldn't get into our room.The receptionist claimed it was because we put it too near mobile phones (!!!) I had no answer to this. This would not have been too bad, except that the hotel is MASSIVE and to walk from our room to reception took about 7 mins and then to walk back and up again on hot afternoon was just nearly the last straw.

4.It didn't happen to us, but our friend had a room on the pool level, and it smelt like surridge for 2 days. She asked them to fix it but it was looked at but never fixed. Not pleasent.

5. It's massive! Not tall, but ridiculously spread out. If you are travelling with elderly, do not stay here. You will be up for a lot of walking. And there's not a great deal of atmosphere either. And for a hotel that is only a year old, it's already starting to age.

6. And lastly, and while I know this is technically not the hotel's fault, the hotel is located on a corner of a one way street. So if you are coming back from Seminyak, your taxi needs to make one big (slow) round Kuta beach in order to get to the Pullman. Some cabbies downright refuse to go there, asking us to stop a couple of blocks away and walk. This is perfectly fine in the daytime, but coming home at midnight, it was really dark and unsafe.

All in all, it's a decent enough new hotel, but I think they are trying to be 'too forward' with the technology and just not getting it right. Too much realiance on computers, profiles and the staff are just not completely equipped when something goes wrong. May need to bring it back to basics and get things like air-con and surridge right first. Sorry. It's such a pity, because all the other Accor hotels we have stayed at in Bali have been great! For a massive international chain, The Pullman really lets the team down. And it is not super cheap and there are 100s of other options in Bali.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool level and ask for the front part of the building or else you will be up for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_c0mmerce, Manager at Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear kermi78,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us.
I am sorry to note that parts of your experience did not meet with your expectations, and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Pullman we strive to provide every guest with a memorable experience and this is why every guest’s feedback is valuable to us. Those feedbacks are the very reason why we are conducting some works in rooms at the moment, so we can make sure we address any hardware defects previously mentioned by our guests to prevent any future occurrence.
We thank you again for sharing your concern, and we hope we will have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Aline Marty
Executive Manager Welcomer Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have just returned from a short but very enjoyable 4 night trip there. The hotel is in a perfect location with a small walk into the town full of great restaurants and bars and a 10 min taxi ride from Seminyak. The hotel infinity pool overlooking the beach was fantastic and provided a great location for in pool sun downers. The pool side service was attentive and the menu was more than adequate and not priced out like so many hotels. The staff were courteous and polite and helpful when needed and the rooms were spacious and well kept. The breakfast was endless for choice and again service was great. We tried the BBQ buffet one night and again fantastic. All around a very pleasant stay. Thank you very much. In the words of Arnie I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have just spent the week at the Pullman, travelling to ref at the Bali 10's Rugby Tournament.
From our arrival to the time we left, I have to say a big thank you to Luke and his staff, who were excellent, ensuring we made the most of our stay and got around with ease.
The facilities at the hotel were great, the refurbished pool re opening while we were there, alothough we made use of the infinity roof top pool aswell, the buffet breakfast had a vast choice and the bar staff were friendly and chatty.
The hotel is located right on the beach, with some great waves and close enough to Kuta to walk to the local shops and restaurants.
The room view was across the roof top pool looking out to the beach and surf, great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

So there i was in Bali when i realised that my hotel stay finished a day earlier than my flight departure. And it was peak season !

After calling around several hotels I finally got through to the Pullman, whose staff happily informed me that a last minute cancellation had occurred and that they would be delighted to have me stay!

So off to check in I go and sure enough they are true to their word. I get given a beautiful room in what was a beautiful hotel.

During my stay I had the pleasure to meet their operations director, Luke Benbow, who asked if my stay was up to standard and whether there was anything they could do to make it better!

I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world but the attitude of the staff at The Pullman was as good as you get.

i never write reviews, but given the service, quality of hotel and overall experience i feel that i have to put fingers to keyboard.

The next time i go to Bali i know where i will be staying. Again a huge thanks to Luke and his team for treating a customer like a regular, if only for one night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed in the Pullman Hotel Bail for the final week of what was a fantastic month long holiday. Over the month we stayed in three other great hotels/villas varying from 3 star to 5 star, the Pullman was in comparison to all 3 very disappointing! Of all the times we have been to Bali this is the only hotel we would never return to.
**Firstly though credit where credit is due - The Indonesian staff at the hotel are fantastic, extremely friendly and welcoming! And it is in a good central location.**
Aside from the staff & location there is not a lot else to praise... We requested to be moved from the first room we were allocated as it was not clean at all, other rooms on the same floor were being renovated (even though the hotel is only new) and the floor boards creaked a lot etc... We were then moved to another room with the same problems only it was a smaller room than what we had paid for and smelt strongly of paint fumes! Hense we refused the second room and were finally allocated a third room, although it was not alot better then the first. The air conditioning in the room didnt work, we notified the front desk twice however nothing was done. After putting our passports, money etc in the safe in the room we could not reopen it and again had to waste time waiting for maintance staff to open and then replace with a new safe.
The main pool is being renovated (which we were not advised of when booking) so the rooftop pool is very busy and has no shade of any sort available. The breakfast at the hotel was horrible to say the least - we only ate once. The list goes but I'm sure you get the drift.
There are plenty of other fantstic accomodation options in the immeadiate vicinty of this hotel where your money would be much better spent.
Ps. It is also worth adding that I am not normally one to take the time to write a review however I felt it was necessary after our unfortunate stay here!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here be sure to request a room in the front building containing the rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_c0mmerce, Manager at Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear SurfTraveller2012,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum following your stay with us.
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to highlight the great service you received from our employees despite the inconveniences you faced.
As previously mentioned we are still carry on improvements in some rooms in order to fix the issues you are mentioning, in order to prevent future disappointment for our future guests. Our Garden Pool was previously mentioned as an area that would need to be done over by previous guests hence the reason why we decided to have it renovated as soon as possible, to ensure we maintain our guests satisfaction and their perception of the hotel's value at the highest level. Rest assured we kept our guests well being in mind and that we speed up the whole process to have it finally completed a week ahead of schedule.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we may have the chance to better serve you in the near future, where you would be able to enjoy all the benefits of the works we are currently doing.

Sincerely,

Aline Marty
Executive Manager Welcomer Department
Pullman Legian Bali Nirwana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very slick and professional brand are Pullman Hotels. This one, facing the beach is in an excellent location for beach activities, dining, drinking and shopping. It's noisy outside of course - this is beachfront Bali - and the hotel does take tour groups and conference attendees as well so the pool and facilities are often full of holidaymakers and children. It's not a honeymoon getaway place.

Service is very professional - the naturally friendly and genuinely warm locals are keen to engage you and cater to your needs. They're backed up by a skeleton crew of aloof French staff (it's part of the Accor group) who seem to be there to handle the occasional greater challenges.

I stayed on the fifth (top) floor with a nice sized room and a king size bed. Everything was clean and well maintained, although drainage from the shower and sink was a little slow and inclined to flooding the bathroom. I got a separate bath and walk-in cubicle shower. The room also featured a small sofa, desk and chair and a balcony with chairs. And - delightfully for a frequent traveler - you can turn off ALL the room lights from the bed! There's also reliable free wi-fi throughout the premises, with a password advised to you upon check-in.

So some pointers - try and get an interior facing room - the view is pretty impressive (see my pictures). The beach facing rooms are wonderful but there's constant vehicle traffic and loud people outside 24/7. The hotel breakfast is comprehensive and good although at peak times it's a bit of a zoo. Strange to see a chocolate fountain machine at breakfast time, but certainly welcome! Don't bother with the place for lunch or dinner - head out instead of course! The rooftop infinity pool is warm in the mornings so dive in and enjoy. I was there running a training course, but it felt more like a holiday. I can certainly recommend the Pullman Bali.

Room Tip: Get an interior facing room if you want a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_c0mmerce, Manager at Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear SingaporeBizTravel,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us at Pullman Bali.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location and facilities on your business trip. Thank you also for highlighting some areas of improvements as it is always the best way for ensure to ensure we carrying on matching all of our guest’s expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope we may have the chance to welcome you back in the near future, maybe for a longer holiday this time.

Sincerely,

Aline Marty
Executive Manager Welcomer Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana

Address: 1 Jalan Melasti, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#8 Family Hotel in Legian
#9 Spa Hotel in Legian
#9 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#10 Business Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana 5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most popular beach front in Bali welcomes a prestigious new addition. Set in tranquil surroundings opposite the famous Legian Beach. Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana is the newest 5-star hotel in Kuta. Close to the airport, this hotel offers easy access to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Its 353 impeccable rooms and suites feature modern design inspired by the frangipani tree, and Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana boast superior leisure facilities for a truly sophisticated resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana Hotel Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.