We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i thought it was quite good, cheap, hot showers, air conditioning, tv, dvd, defernantly would stay there again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suriwathi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Suriwathi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Suriwathi Beach Hotel
12 Sahadewa Street, Legian, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Legian
sunshine coast
1 review
“i thought it was quite good, cheap, hot showers, air conditioning, tv, dvd, defernantly would stay there again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

i dont no what people are complaining about i thought it was pretty good compaired to some of the other places we looked at. they had hot showers, air conditioning, tv, dvd, a nice pool, the staff came in every morning to clean your room and change out sheets and gave us new towels. a very good hotel for the price they are charging.
x

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed 8 nights at the Suriwathi. We found it just walking around Legian and it was cheaper than most of the surrounding places. Since we stayed so long we talked them down to 180,000 rupiah per night.

The room had two small beds and you could really feel how worn they were because springs were poking our backs. The bathroom was in decent shape and there was a wardrobe and counter to put bags. We asked to move rooms to try for more comfortable beds but they said that all the beds at the lower price level would probably be that bad. We moved anyways and they were moderately better. We had a/c and local tv.

The hotel is far back from the street so you don't get much noise at night (except other guests) which is nice. The pool area is great and usually there would be enough chairs (there were only about 6 out there). The staff were friendly in general but it did take us 3 separate attempts to change rooms because they would always tell us there were no others but we wouldn't see anyone beside us.

The price included a choice of four small breakfasts. One morning I had a heap of ants cooked into the fried egg and we sent it back and I asked for a pancake instead and there were still a few ants cooked into it. So that can't speak well for the kitchen's cleanliness. We went elsewhere and paid for breakfast a couple times. We never ate there for lunch or dinner but we weren't even sure if they served lunch and dinner as we never saw anyone eating there outside of breakfast hours.

The cleaning staff didn't pay much attention to detail but this hotel felt cleaner than the two other places we stayed in the Kuta Beach area. We had laundry done at the hotel and it came back short one item (which they did locate) and one shirt was dirtier than when I sent it out. Maybe try your luck with a laundry shop.

The on-site spa was ok, not great but not bad. We got a back massage and a foot massage.

With this place, you really felt that you got what you paid for but in the Legian area, it was a good deal. You could walk down to the beach in about 5-10 minutes. There were tons of restaurants and shops in the area too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Well this place is moderately cheap. I found the room (the standard) to be dank and dingy and everything was kind of run down. The worst is that they had some guys banging away with hammers on a Saturday morning at eight am! They must be doing some construction, but it was going on right behind my room. This was after I had gotten to sleep only around 5:00 am from being out in Kuta.

They have Internet at a cost and breakfast is included and there is a pool too. The staff, in my opinion, were not that friendly. Kinda weird. Maybe it's because I was only there for one night. They seem to treat the long-timers with more respect and friendliness. I guess if you want to stay in this part of Legian (pretty messy with shop hawkers in your face everywhere) then this hotel is cheap and tucked back in a back alley, which is pretty quiet (except in my case). Otherwise pay a little more and stay with more comfort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Booked in April 20th, 2009 for 3 nights in the Delux room. The bed was so comfortable and huge! The room was exceptionally clean and extremely spacious. I have lost count the number of times I have been to Bali, probably over 50 times but this hotel will stick in my mind as being top of the list. The brilliant location is certainly a bonus. From the moment we checked it I noticed how relaxed and friendly the other guest were. Everybody was really enjoying their stay there. I loved the icy airconditioner and the comforts of a fridge having come from a hotel in Ubud without one, this was a treat. The beauty treatments attached to the hotel were wonderful especially the 60000 massage. Both girls are excellent and I can say that from experience! Great facials, pedicure, manicure and footbath too! Very friendly staff, great room rates and overall a wonderful discovery. For years I have been staying at the hotel directly behind and always knew that Suriwathi was being renovated but was too lazy to take a look..the effort was worthwhile and I will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Small family-owned hotel in great location. Stayed in Deluxe Room for A$45
a night (including breakfast). Huge room. Nice and clean. Few of the mod cons missing e.g. room service, telephone in the room, but at this price who cares. Very friendly staff and beautiful gardens. Only criticisms being lack of lounges around the pool, no towel racks, but nothing major. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suriwathi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwathi Beach Hotel

Address: 12 Sahadewa Street, Legian, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Legian
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Suriwathi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwathi Beach Hotel Bali/Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suriwathi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.