We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal & Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar

Zanzibar
Jalan Double Six, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali, Indonesia
(0361) 733529
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 138 Restaurants in Legian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Dined here 10th Feb with another couple. Service was prompt and efficient and friendly. Three pasta meals were thoroughly e joyed as was my grilled vegetable couscous. Excellent coffee as well. Bathrooms spotlessly clean! Great value for money and great food. Definitely will be back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    139
    42
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Listen to the bad reviews, wish we did”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

One of friends fell ill from the fish and chips for 5 days, the rest of us ordered parmas and they also made us sick but not to the same extent. Go up the road to The deck! Soooo much better. We looked at the bad reviews and thought people were overreacting but we should have listened.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketumbar, Owner at Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
we apologize that you fell ill after eating fish at our restaurant. our chef will be investigating this matter. we are very careful in selecting and handling our food, however, especially with seafood, we do not have the capacity to control how the seafood being handled from the sea to the market. we are taking this case very seriously, and given the current cases with fish, we are considering to limit the types of fish that we serve at our restaurant. it would be helpful in finding the cause, had you let us know right away when you fell ill. once again, we do apologize for the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got sick eating here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on our last day on 7 Feb.
We had the chicken satee and nasi goreng. I felt nautious and had stomach ache three hours later. My friend was worse than me she suffered severe vomiting and rest !
Thankfully after 14 days in both Ubud and seminyak this happened on our last day - we were so disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketumbar, Owner at Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
we are sorry to hear that you fell ill after eating at our restaurant. we are very concerned and careful about food handling at our restaurant, and a case like this is very seldom. our chef is investigating this matter to prevent it from happening again. once again we apologize for the inconveniences caused by the illness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still better food than elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Always receive excellent service, the food is reasonably priced, and what's more tasty too. Have eaten at Zanzibar quite a few times and have never been sick from the food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waste of time. Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We caught a taxi down here from Seminyak based on some comments by friends who had been here previously and reading T.A. Should have stayed in Seminyak. This place is old, tired, food is like 1980's family restaurant and priced higher than places in Seminyak which are in a different league. Mei Goreng was 2 min noodles with some tiny dried seafood. Tasteless, unappealing....my heart sank when it was put down in front of me. Not sure what all the positive comments are about. Guess it shows the difference in expectations between TA reviewers. There is a much newer place just down past O-CE-N, didn't write down the name but looks funky, wooden interior, the guy at the door was really helpful and welcoming and the menu was more extensive and cheaper than Zanzibar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar also viewed

 

Been to Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.