We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar

Zanzibar
Jalan Double Six, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali, Indonesia
(0361) 733529
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 147 Restaurants in Legian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Years eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Thank you to the Zanzibar maitre de for a fantastic New Year's Eve your effort to cater for all patrons was absolutely brilliant fantastic work under very difficult wet conditions
Well done!
To the owners who arrogantly sat and watched from the best table in the restaurant
Without showing any consideration to others Totally discussed.
wished our money could have gone to your staff
They deserved all our credit not you

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    153
    49
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great beachfront location ensures pleasant breeze, seafood was very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had "Fishermen's dream" - which is grilled tuna stake, 3 prawns + grilled squid - which comes with very nicely seasoned salad. We ordered some chips on the side - and it was all delicious.
One of the best European-type dishes that we had there this year. Deserts were not that great this year: they used to have delicious creme brulee last year, but that was just barely adequate this year. So we did not have a desert second time we went there.
Also nice place to sit outside - sea breeze feels great at night.
Not good for late dinners: kitchen closes at 10 PM.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food! Great service! Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been here on several occasions, my husband and I have always been happy with the food it's simple, clean and well presented. It's not expensive and the staff are wonderful nothing is to much trouble.. We ordered a carafe of white wine, not many restaurants have this ($20) unfortunately it's never cold enough so we asked for a bucket filled with ice, so we could put the carafe in to cool it. Not a problem they are always happy to please. Give it go....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

this use to be a Bali Favourite, gone down hill service still good ,but meals are shrinking in seafood , no fans to circulate air wont be going back witch is sad as it use to be great

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Like somebody else said, this place is a tourist trap. The location and setting is very nice but the food and service is average. I asked the waiter what was their specialty and he recommended the mixed grill. It was basically three different types of meats thrown on the BBQ without any seasoning or marinade. Very bland and boring. When somebody asked the waiter for a minor alteration on one of their dishes he simply said no which is usually not a problem at any other restaurant in Bali. Out of 8 people on the table two were happy with their meal.
There are way better restaurants in Bali at that price range.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar also viewed

 

Been to Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.