We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Beach Shack, WHAT a FIND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Beach Shack

Bali Beach Shack
Jl Sahadewa 7, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+6281936222010
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 116 restaurants in Legian
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bali Beach Shack, WHAT a FIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I were wishing for one of mum's roast dinners back home in Australia.

A friend had been talking about going to see a lady boy show. We had no idea what great value for money the Bali Beach Shack would be until we arrived.

Our large group of family and friends went together. We ate an amazing smorgasbord roast whilst drinking, chatting, laughing and singing along to the DJ's excellent music choices.

And then........the lady boy show. How entertaining was that. Such diversity and great entertainment through interaction with the audience. Thanks to my mates who set me up for a 50th surprise up on stage with Jeff and the Lady Boys helping to celebrate my 50th birthday.

Nothing was too much trouble for Robyn, Jeff and the staff. What a MEMORABLE evening. THANKS sooooo much xxxx Mary

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachshack, Owner at Bali Beach Shack, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Ballybum,

Thank you so much for writing a review for BBS! I must say we love doing birthdays at BBS, what a great way to celebrate being in Bali! Always a lot of fun getting birthday guests up on stage, we do this to our staff also lol!

I have mentioned before, that even though we have been operating for more than 5 years, our guests are our number one priority! We love seeing the enjoyment on everyone faces, and giving everyone a positive experience in Bali!

Thanks again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    193
    66
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MUST GO!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Aussie owned, Bali Beach Shack is one of my favourite places to go in Bali.
Have been to Bali 5 times now, and have enjoyed the show and dinner three times.

This week we went on a Sunday for the Aussie Roast.
I got in touch with Robby through her email which I got off the website, she called me straight away regarding my booking for 25 people.
We all enjoyed the amazing range of home cooked veggies and imported Aussie meat.
And the drag show, you have not lived until you've seen it.

Amazing food, roast and menu, very cheap, fantastic customer service and wait staff.

10/10

Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachshack, Owner at Bali Beach Shack, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Stakacs90

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! Even after being business for more than 5 years here in Bali, it is still very important for all the staff at BBS to provide the best service and entertainment possible. We do not get it right all of the time, however, that is our main objective!

Our roast dinner, I agree is fantastic and of the past weeks I have missed out lol since we have introduced one drag show on the night we have been full every week!

Many of our entertainers have been at BBS for years, and the improvement and dedication continues! They are true performers and really enjoy giving our guest a fantastic night!

Thanks again, and I do hope you come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent aussie owned venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We went for the roast dinner on Sunday night even though we got there late and they had packed a few things away to get ready for the show they brought it back out for us so we could have our meal from the moment we walked in we were looked after impeccably the roast was awesome and the show was great.Thanks Bali Beach Shack for a great night out

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachshack, Owner at Bali Beach Shack, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi ReesJanine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our number one priority is our guests! We know you are on holidays and we try to give everyone a fun night!

I am also glad you enjoyed our show, even after seeing so many, I still get a great laugh out of it!

Hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great Australian pub, I had the roast buffet and couldn't ask for a better meal after a week of Indonesian. The staff were also fabulous helping when they could :) would strongly recommend to support this Aussie family business!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachshack, Owner at Bali Beach Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Josh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for BBS! So glad you enjoyed our roast dinner and I must say I do look forward to it every week myself! After living here so long I still love my Indonesian food, however, I really enjoy a taste of home!

I do hope you will visit us again and thank you for supporting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only went for drag show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I haven't eaten in this pub, however go for the drag show. Yes jeff can be a little over the top on the mike, but I have seen much worse warm up acts in performances by huge celebrities in concert. If he is your biggest complaint you need to loosen up!!!!

The drag show is brilliant, yes you buy a drink, I would rather that than pay the cover charge, usually I end up buying 10. I haven't tried the Aussie drink specials as I don't like the sweetness. Service is great and quick.

Now the show the "girls" don't force you to do anything and although I have never got up, I think most people who 'don't' ant to get up is just an act for their mates.

I will continue to attend while i

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachshack, Owner at Bali Beach Shack, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Todd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for BBS! I wasn't sure if you were happy with Jeff or not lol!

Yes, we do not have a cover charge, and we do ask our guest to be just one drink of their choice, this is to cover the cost of the entertainment!

I am glad you enjoyed the drag shows, a lot of work goes into producing these shows that to ensure that all of our guests are entertained!

Audience participation, well that is all part of the fun. Thank you mentioning that no one is forced to go on stage! The reasons for why people get involved is an individual choice, however, it always gives our guests a great laugh and funny to view!

Hope can come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.