We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one we would recommend!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Padma Utara, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Legian
Traveston, Australia
1 review
“Not one we would recommend!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our 4th trip to Bali and we have stayed in different places each time from up market to budget and enjoy the whole Bali experience of the cheaper resorts and interaction from other guests you get to meet. We found this resort to have very tired and old buildings and the decor needs to be replaced or updated. They are in the process of building a new dinning room but not sure this will improve on the quality of food! We were a group of 14 and all but a small few got very sick after eating room service food. This happened to individuals on separate occasions not all in the one time. Some people were in bed for 2 days and still not 100% on the 3rd day. Rooms were cleaned everyday to Bali standards as expected but the grounds were a little neglected. There was rubbish outside our room in the garden and stuffed into a broken garden lamp when we arrived and it was still there when we left.We had to change rooms as we had no water pressure on the top floor and you virtually had to run around under the shower to get wet. The room we were put into was not so great either as the staff collected their cleaning equipment on the other side of the wall where our bed was in the early hours of the morning. The staff were friendly when spoken to but other than that not really. The resort is in a great location with the beach out the front (this is where the dinning room is being built) and an easy walk to the main area of Legian out the back. Over all the general consensus was a disappointing stay in this resort and not one we would go back too.

Room Tip: We had a friend who was put into a room above the shop at the rear end of the property and this had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    212
    130
    73
    66
See reviews for
247
136
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Very old hotel that is having renovations, had a excellent cottage suite overlooking the beach just had to tolerate the non stop constuction work. The staff are very friendly and quickly fixed the leaking toilet and broken airconditioner. Room service was excellent with very little wait time. Breakfast plain but ok and when reno's are finished the beach front location will be great. The front reception staff friendly and helpful.
All was well till departure day.

Unfortunately when we departed we had lunch at the Melasti restaurant at the front of the hotel before leaving for the airport with our friends. We told the staff we were leaving for the airport then  ordered lunch and tipped the staff before leaving. Our child and friends two children played pool while waiting to leave. We were about to drive out when security staff refused to let us leave, the manager of the restaurant approached us and said a pool ball was missing and demanded $20AUS to pay for it, we asked the children if they had the ball or had they removed it from the table, they knew nothing about it and we searched the area. Given the pool table is a self capturing for all balls potted there was no way we could check the ball was really missing. The manager then became abusive and aggressive demanding the money, we had no cash left on us and our driver had to pay him as we would miss our check in for our flight. We told the manager to search our children but still would not allow us to leave. We were then very late for our flight and our children distressed and upset on the drive to the airport what a horrible negative  way to finish our stay in Bali. This swearing abusive manager has let the whole hotel down.
We Will look for somewhere else for our next stay as plenty of choice available


Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Have stayed at the Melasti twice before and are going again in November 2013
the people are very friendly and willing to help in any way, when I left my phone in
a taxi they went out of their way to find the taxi and got it back for me. When we got there
last time I asked if the room was available that we had last time, no worries we got it
straight away. The lad that cleaned our room was very good, he even put flowers on our bed each day. Would definatly recommend staying there, great location, near to plenty of eating
places and the beach.

Room Tip: choose a superior as they are much better than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. While you eat breakfast you can watch the waves.. The rooms are pretty standard and could do with some updating. We stayed here for a few nights and it was good. Breakfast was okay, not the best. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I think the hotel could do with a little updating but overall it was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Home from another relaxing holiday in Bali. Note to myself and anyone thinking of staying at The Melasti Beach Resort in Legian.. DON'T stay there. The one time my daughter didn't lock her suit case and 2 million rupia was stolen from it. We were sun baking near the pool for a few hours enjoying a few cocktails when the staff helped themselves to it. Sneaky buggars must have had one watching us down stairs whilst they search our room. Time to find a new hotel!!
This isnt the first time we lost money either. One time money disappeared from the locked safe, which they have a master key of.

Dont get me wrong, the staff are beautiful , the location is great and the pools have been renovated. It is the stealing and the manager that let the place down.

Room Tip: Only accept a ground room as they have one door, no one can be sneaking in through the back door whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just arrived home from another wonderful holiday at the Melasti Hotel...Me, hubby, 4 children and Grandma! On arrival nothing had changed, grounds still lovely, security guards at front gate smiling (even remembered us from last year), check in staff were lovely, kind and accomodating. Welcome drink was cold and staff very helpful. We had requested ground floor for my mother and she was given ground floor, we requested adjoining rooms but unfortunately were told that this was not possible immediately but they would change us in two days. We understand that probably many request adjoining so we were fine with it not happening straight away.. unlike other people who for some reason thing that any request they have should be met. We were shown to our cottages and were delighted with both of them. Rooms are huge and very accomodating for families. After two days we were offered a choice of rooms so we moved to a ground floor directly opp the other cottage,this was wonderful. Our room was renovated so we had a lovely bathroom with granite bench tops, and a new toilet and huge mirror and great lighting. Now when I say renovated it is not straight out of belle magazine but it is new and clean. our air conditioner was fine but not wonderful so we just mentioned it to reception and 5 minutes later we had an airconditioner man have a look at it and noticed it needed re gassing....after that it was so cold we needed light jackets on. I heard rude people complain about their air conditioners, or taps leaking, or toilets not flushing and couldnt help myself but later in the day would simply ask them "did you get the problem with your room fixed", everyone of them replied YES! (rude pigs they were to the staff, you dont get fixed at home that quickly for free and done by someone with a smile on their face)...so yes there are things that need fixing but if you tell them they will do their best to fix it and promptly! To winge about the breakfast area is ridiculous, one minute people say it needs fixing and then when the hotel is under any sort of reno people complain. There is absolutely no disruption or disturbance caused by the renovation....the breakfast area has been moved above reception to the conference room and is perfectly fine. I dont know what some of you piggies expect for breakfast but the omlettes, poached or boiled eggs we had every day were hot and delicious. There was a choice of white or brown bread, sausages, rice, banana or pineapple or plain pancakes, crossaints, fruit, bacon, juices, tea and coffee.....is this not enough for some????
Our sheets would have been changed everyday if we wanted but I found this ridiculous as we all showered before bed so we were happy to just get fresh towels, soap and shampoo, and water bottles everyday and the sheets changed every few days. I heard someone mention that the sheets that they got on one particular day were grey.....omg...grey sheets, can you imagine.......get a life...bet your washing is not always perfect at least they were clean!!!!
As for the theft well dont get me started......we left jewellery out, money lying around, nintendos, iphones charging etc etc, nothing was ever stollen....but by the pool my daughter had a phone taken, my husband a top and me a dress.......stop blaming the staff, who for you information are searched when they finish work and have their bags checked....its the bloody tourists that are the thieves..... I can not fault the melasti,,,,,yes the hotel is run down but they are improving it but is traditional bali, we are all starting to expect too much........the towels around the pool have had it but so had the ones we used at the five star Pullman!!! The hotel is used by hundreds of people every day of the year I think we should be a little more understanding that we are going to come across a grey sheet, a worn out towel or even a broken banana lounge. sit back enjoy the holiday with your friends or family and stop worrying about the materialistic things that arent that important, the memories you create at this wonderful hotel are far more important.........See you again Melasti!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney aust
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just came back from two fantastic weeks at the Melasti. Was concerned regarding the negative comments but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a Cottage Suite closer to the beach but not too far away from the pool. The rooms are huge and clean. The staff were some of the most friendliest and courteous I have come across in Bali. Only downside was the renovations to the beachfront restaurant, (due to finish around August) as breakfast was served in the ballroom upstairs. Breakfast was good everything you could want, bacon, ham, sausages, cereal, pastries, rice & vegies, eggs anyway you wanted them, toast, tea/coffee and juices. Although the Melasti is one of the older resorts in the area and is in need of a reno, it had everything we needed. The location is excellent with great restaurants along the beachfront path. After speaking with one of the staff, they said they are slowly renovating but it is hard as the resort always full. I would highly recommend the Cottage suites as they are really spacious and would be perfect for families especially with small children.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a cottage suite even it is for only two people you might pay a little extra b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Padma Utara, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#20 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Legian Beach Resort And Spa
Melasti Legian Beach Hotel Legian
Hotel Melasti Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.