We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
#savetember30
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
PERTH WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Have just returned from 7 day stay at Mandira. Our first visit to Bali. Our family and friends (there to celebrate my birthday )found the resort great. Wonderful location, beautiful gardens, adult only pool, friendly staff. Upgrade on arrival to deluxe cottage as we needed two adjoining rooms, downside- they couldn'y supply a double bed which is quite common in Asia. Only complaint, a couple of afternoons one bathroom had a smell of sewerage but was fixed when we complained. (Bali infrastructure struggling to cope with so many visitors. It is a third world country after all which people can forget or don't know! Best not to look for everything to be perfect. ) We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    531
    129
    38
    27
See reviews for
469
624
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Well located hotel. Comfortable rooms. Upgraded to deluxe room, however didn't include freebies club lounge with upgrade. WIFI, only a slow connection. Very attractive gardens. Pool food service attendant needed more training in understanding and writing English. Hot water disappeared after a couple of days, but I didn't chase it up. I am sure it would have been fixed promptly. Overall, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have been to Mandira on many occasions before and enjoyed our experience - leading us to recommend it to friends etc. We have just finished a seven night stay and I was somewhat dissappointed with the experience. Pros first - great location and on beach. Cons - pay for entire stay upfront, had to wait till 4:30pm to get into rooms, even numbered rooms in tower are very poor standard (stains on walls and ceiling) - we insisted on move to a balcony room, breakfast is rather boring and pool area is in need of upgrading. Still ok for a stay but not really good value for $200 US per night in Bali - there must be better options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at the Bali Mandira for 2 weeks and was happy overall. The room we received only had 1 bed but our request for a room with 2 twin beds was granted as soon as one came available (4 days later).

The grounds and gardens were well maintained and a credit to the gardening staff. the rooms were clean and tidy - my only complaint was that I could feel the springs of the matress when in bed. We had a room in the block at the back of the complex and it was spacious, clean and had a large balcony, Sat TV, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities.

The Spa at the hotel is very overpriced. There are hundreds of massage salons etc offering massage, facials, manicure and pedicure but most of them are dirty, unprofessional and complete amateurs. I recommend "Pampering in Paradise" on Jl. Melasti, where you pay 70,000 IRP for a 1 hour Balinese massage and approx 50,000 IRP for a pedicure.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety and a mixture of continental and indonesian dishes. There were fresh juices, 4 types of cereal, 3 types of Joghurt, bacon, sausages, egg and pancake station (where eggs are freshly made on order), fresh fruits, pastries and breads and a toast machine. I can recommend the french toast with cinammon sugar, which was very tasty. One small tip - don't use the milk in the little jugs on the table because these will have been on the table since 7am and if you are having breakfast at 9.30 am, you are asking for a bout of Bali Belly!!!

I found the drinks prices at the hotel rather expensive for Bali - you paid about €2 for a can of coke. However, there are a number of supermarkets and shops right outside the complex and so we bought our drinks there and kept them in the Minibar in our room.

There are lots of restaurants nearby and here are my personal favourites:
Legian Snack Bar on Jl. Padma Utara (exit hotel via main entrance, turn right and then first left and the snack bar is on the right after about 50m). They have a good mixture of western, Indonesian, Chinese etc and the prices are very reasonable (Sweet and Sour Chicken with rice for about 30,000 IRP = €2,70. The Lori supermarket just opposite the snack bar is the cheapest around.

For fresh seafood I would recommend going to Jimbaran where you can eat fresh snapper at a table directly on the beach whilst watching the sun set. We ate at Cafe Manega and were very impressed. You pay 70,000 IRP for each kg the fish weighs and rice and vegetables are included in the price. For good seafood in the Legian / Kuta region I recommend Warung Malang on Patimura Street (15 min walk from hotel). The food is fresh and tasted excellent and the prices are very cheap (25,000 IRP for a hot plate with snapper, calamari and prawns and only 3,000 IRP for boiled rice).

One negative point is the number of locals trying to tout for business. As soon as you leave the hotel you are constantly asked whether you need transport, want to hire a motorbike, look at the local stalls, have a massage, manicure, pedicure etc. A simple "no thanks" suffices but it does get a bit annoying after a couple of days.

The walk to Kuta takes about 15 - 20 Mins and you can wall either along the beach (exit hotel at beach and turn left) or walk along the main street, however you will be asked to hire motorbikes, look at shops every 10 metres.

Seminyak is a 15 - 20 Min walk in the opposite direction and here you will find the renowned Warung Made II, which is a good place to eat, even though the prices are a lot more than at a traditional Warung.

We often ate at the local stalls at the side of the road and we found the food fresh and delicious. One tip though - ask the price before you buy and be willing to barter otherwise you will probably pay 3 times as much as the locals pay.

If you want to make a day trip it is reasonable to hire a car and driver, who will take you wherever you want for about 400,000 IRP per day. I recommend a local guy called Putu Rai, who speaks good engligh and was passionate about his country and enjoyed explaining to us about the culture, religion, customs etc rather than just chauffering us about. His phone number is 081 338 592 319 or you can get in touch with him via Legian snack bar (mentioned earlier).

There is a large shopping mall in Kuta called "Discovery Mall", which is air conditioned and has a number of brand stores. If you wear glasses, you can get new glasses or lenses for about a third of the price of what you would pay in the UK.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just returned from a 10 day trip - Stayed in a premier room in the main building which was very nice - quiet, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable - haven't slept that well in years !!! Premier rooms have a balcony, dvd player and bathrobes whereas friends who stayed in a superior room opposite ours didn't have any of these - not really a great problem though as we didn't spend all that much time in our rooms. The breakfast buffet was fine ( typical hotel fare) but always plenty of food that staff replenished as needed. LOVED the adults only infinity pool !! The gardens were magnificent, the staff were very accomodating and helpful ( I find that if you treat them well and with respect, they will bend over backwards for you ). The Barong Bar was a great place to have a drink or two and the bar staff are very friendly...cocktails were delicious !!! A gym would be a good addition to the facilities at the hotel-they do have yoga for the guests but it is outside and I would prefer to exercise in air-conditioned comfort. The location is ideal - on the beach and close to Legian St...and only a shortish taxi /motorbike ride from Kuta or Seminyak.. overall, we enjoyed our stay there - not the best 4 star hotel I've stayed at in Asia, but certainly not the worst either.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this resort which was better than expected after reading some previous reviews.
The gardens are beautiful and every corner reveals a tranquil pathway. The rooftop infinity pool is a great adult area. The rooms.. we were upgraded to a cottage with lovely outdoor shower.. were clean and comfortable. Our only gripe was having to pay for ice.The staff were great, so friendly and charming, without being intrusive. It had been over 25yrs since last visit to Bali.. this resort was a great retreat to start our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

i have been trying to book a twin room for the past week and still havent managed to do so.
At first they told me that they couldnt guarantee me a twin. As this seems so unlikely as every hotel either can or cant i thought there maybe a language problem so explained in detail what i needed. A twin room has 2 beds. i need to guarantee this as i am travelling with a friend and do not want to share a bed etc.
I got the same reply back..how frustrating. thinking there was still alanguage issue i tried to book the hotel through a recognised booking site and they said the same, the hotel won't guarantee a twin room...how ridiculous is that...obviously customer satisfaction isnt priority at this place. I can only assume then that i would get a twin only if they could be bothered?? Odd!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 67 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 3,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#24 of 67 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.