We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Hotel... Refused to stay!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting Hotel... Refused to stay!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Mandira was awful..... As soon as we arrived we realized the website was extremely misleading.. the photos on the site are NOTHING like the actually hotel! DO NOT BE FOOLED, very disappointing! The room we were first offers was very old, dirty, smelt like mould and the sheets were covered with stains!! They then offered us a deluxe room, this room also smelt and was very small and in the bathroom the wall was falling down!! The hotel was ridiculously over priced (US$184.00 for the first room, Deluxe US$240.00) and compared to other Bali hotels in this area/ price range it was unacceptable and a complete rip off.
We had already paid for 1 night, but there was no way we were staying there, so we chose to leave and lose our money. Just a really bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    412
    105
    34
    26
See reviews for
331
488
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HAMAMATSU
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in Octomber and had a enjoy time.The staff are so friendly .Our room was clened every day.The swimming pool is so nice with a ocean view and the garden is so lovely.The Spa was so relaxing and excelllent.We return every time at Mandira because is so nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stood at the Mandira Beach Hotel for our honeymoon....what can I say....it was a blessed...it was Paradise for ou 8 days spent in this Resort!!!I warmly recommend Mandira Beach Resort& SPA!!!! In the SPA we took the Romantic Massage for 3 hours...what can I say: chocolate & icecream body cream massage...relaxing& lovely moments and at the and ginger tee&cookies in the flower bath! After that we have a big surprise from the Manager of the Resort, Mr Radu Frentiu and on this occasion we want to send him our best thoughts and warm wishes, a romantic dinner in a place especially arranged for us!!! I have no words to describe what we felt...how we were treated...AMAZING!!!Go there and search for yourself!!!! Next year for sure we'll be again at the MANDIRA BEACH RESORT&SPA!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My sister and I were supposed to stay at the Mandira for 7 nights- we checked out after 4 nights and I really wish we’d left earlier. We stayed in a deluxe room which is not worth the money at all. The first room we were given smelt bad and mould was clearly visible on the bathroom ceiling. The room was freezing and had a totally oldschool air conditioner without a digital thermostat so we couldn’t get the temperature right, I know this isn’t a big deal but for a four star hotel I didn’t think it was good enough. We asked to move and were told the only rooms available were doubles, not twin share. Unhappy with this alternative I asked about the cancellation policy and magically a twin share room became available.

We settled into our new room and it was nicer- however I still felt $200 USD a night was a total rip off. The resort hosted 2 weddings while we were there; the first one was kind of noisy but far enough away from the room not to bother us. The second wedding had to be moved to the restaurant (closer to the rooms) due to rain and we spent the whole evening (until 11:30pm) listening to the likes of Katy Perry and Lady Gaga blaring through the resort. I went over to reception and found out there was another wedding the next night and I was like no way... we are out of here! I don’t want to listen to this again.

When I complained the next morning and asked to check out early, the staff member who helped me was very nice and didn’t charge us the cancellation fee. However, because I had already paid in full for the room on asiarooms.com a refund of the money owed to me would take roughly 2 WEEKS!? So frustrating!! I think that is totally ridiculous, and the manager should have authority to do that sort of thing on the spot.
When we checked out later that day a different staff member was on duty and tried to tell me that I would NOT get a refund at all because I had checked out early...after another series of calls to the manager we established for the 2nd time that I didn’t have to pay the cancellation fee and would be refunded for the nights we didn’t stay.

Also, we made the mistake of using the tour operator outlet at the resort to organise a day trip to Ubud, the driver was nice enough but we had to explain to him were things like the Ubud Botanic gardens and the Kings Palace were...given what we paid and that he is supposed to be a tour guide I thought he might be familiar with these attractions.

Breakfast was fine and the pools are ok too, but not as impressive as other 4 star resorts we’ve stayed at. We used the spa and it was really nice, a little pricey but it was lovely.

The deluxe room benefits are totally rubbish, the internet is free between 11am-11pm but for some stupid reason if you want to use it before 11am you get charged 30 000rp...I was so annoyed by this.

I would NOT recommended this resort at all- we found a lovely 2bd villa in Seminyak with a private pool for $235USD (this was a last minute deal on agoda.com) for the rest of a holiday and were so relieved to be out of Mandira.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the way you feel about your experience at our resort. Although we have a great percentage of our guests in friends’ getaway with great experiences, it saddens us to see you are the exception to the rule but we are glad you found another hotel that made you happy. In good faith we will like to inform you that all rooms at Bali Mandira are undergoing renovations and constant updates. It is hard to pinpoint a room without knowing a room number and an experience without knowing the circumstances for us. You were absolutely right we had weddings, we had quite a few wedding in a row that week; many couples like to celebrate the most important moments of their life here, we do apologize if the noise troubled you, we believed that up to 10::45pm for music is a reasonable curfew time for weddings. As far as any refunds we would be happy always to inform the travel agencies for any refunds there may be needed but we are not the ones manipulating them, it is completely at the discretion of the agency you booked with, to do it according to the flexibility of their policies and rules, but just like in this case we have always informed and provided them any information needed.

Once again our apologies and we hoped the rest of your vacation was a happy one! We do hope to see you one day returning to our hotel when visiting Bali again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Beautiful grounds, great pools. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Stayed in a superior room which was fine. Everything we needed. Location is perfect! Really loved the Mandira!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Bali Mandira with the world. We are looking forward to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosebud
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Upon arrival at The Mandira, I spent the first 4 hours CRYING and trying to find another Hotel, but had No Luck.
The Room is a Premier Room (RUBBISH) say's it is 72sq more like 30
Old, Tired, Mouldy shower, Poor lighting, Even charged for some Ice.
The Reception is old and grotty, staff clothes even grey not white.
Pool and entertainment area look Great, but please beware.
This room cost over $200AUD for one night, it is a disgrace.
Have just had 9 nights at The Padma, but no vacancy for the 10th.
Please reconsider staying here as there are heaps of hotels that are cheap to stay at this is no better than a BUDGET $50 a night hotel
I am a regular traveller, this is the worst I have stayed in

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We went in September and had a great time; staff were the big standout - so friendly and helpful. Plenty of food to choose from on site or easy walk to some good restaurants down the beach; taxis are cheap and easy to get to nearby Kuta. The beach is just over the road. Lovely swimming pools and stunning gardens. Our room was spotless and cleaned everyday. (what more can you ask for?) Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Bali Mandira with the rest of us! We hope to see you again here on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#4 Family Hotel in Legian
#5 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#5 Spa Hotel in Legian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.