We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 5 star hotel at Legian / Kuta beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Legian
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Best 5 star hotel at Legian / Kuta beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great 5 star hotel to stay in Bali located at Legian / Kuta beach , 30 minutes to NgurahRai International airport . From the moment we landed at the airport and hotel airport pick up service met us with care. We loved it, the staff were so friendly and we had a quick check in. The rooms are standard, comfort and big, with a nice walk through the grounds & green garden , so nice. The breakfasts were delicious, most mornings we had freshly made omelettes , bacon , sausages and pancakes, and I had quite a selection of pastries, Indonesian style breakfast also great. But I need to recommend to renovate the main reception area must be bigger & more luxurious Bali style as 5 star resort hotel. ( now looks small and old ) . Highly recommended to stay .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Summy K,

Thank you for taking the time to write review on your recent stay at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa.
I was pleased to learn that all aspects of your stay at Bali Mandira was outstanding, from the moment of arrival picked up by our driver, the seamless check in process, the room décor and amenities, to the breakfast with various selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bali Mandira soon.

Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    395
    104
    35
    25
See reviews for
320
461
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Aust
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the initial booking via the Bali Mandira website to arriving at our room we knew we where at the right place!
We booked a ground floor room for our family of 4 (2 adults, 9yo and 7yo) and so glad that we did. The small terrace was great for drying a couple of things following a surf or a swim in the pool, or just for a quiet beer at the end of the day.
The squirrels kept the kids occupied, and the fish ponds were lovely.
The room was modern, quiet and definitely spacious enough. The bathroom was fine (step into bath/shower) and the room was kept spotless. Beds very comfortable.
The new pool is awesome, slides used constantly by kids having a great time and the beach section a welcome addition!
The birthday cake at breakfast was organised by my wife which was lovely/embarrassing, and the personal card and present from management was a very nice touch.

Simon has a great team across the entire resort, with the Mandira being the best place in my opinion to stay in Bali!
Thanks Team Mandira

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear A7993,

Thank you for staying with us at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, and writing review on TripAdvisor.
It was a great pleasure to read that we were able to exceed your expectation and you nominated us as your new favorite place to stay. The feedback such as yours is truly motivating all of us to deliver our best service at any occasions.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bali Mandira in the near future.

Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A friend and I stayed here last year, unfortunately, just before the new pool area was finished. We loved it! So close to all the laneway shops. The lovely lounges out the front overlooking the sea were a wonderful place to relax after a hard day (and night) shopping. The Club Lounge area is lovely and the service is great. I can't wait to get back to try the new pool, it looks magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sue T,

Thank you for spent your valuable time to providing us feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read that you had a perfect stay at our hotel, and you liked the location of the hotel being right on the beach with shops and restaurants in vicinity.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Bali Mandira in the near future.

Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic,Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staying at the Bali Mandira was a big disappointment for us. When you book a room that promotes itself with "relax in the shooting design of your chic Balinese style cottage", pictures of lovely looking,renovated rooms and pay almost $300 a night, you naturally go into a resort with high expectations.
We paid extra and went for a Deluxe Club Cottage but the room we were given was so far removed from what they show on their website that we were disgusted. Imagine a 1970's style Australian motel and you'll have an idea of what it looked like. We have travelled somewhere in Asia for a winter escape almost every year for the past 30 years and this is the first time we have ever refused to take a room. We went straight back to reception and had to wait ages for a manager to speak to us. Whilst he was very polite, he was adamant that we had received one of their upgraded and renovated rooms. What a joke!! We stood with him in our room and showed him the pictures of the room on their website and compared it to what we could see around us. We asked him how this room was 'renovated' and "shooting design" and all he could give us was that it had been re-painted and that it had a new,outdoor shower.(which I thought was a bit tacky- certainly not 'chic') The bed seemed good but otherwise everything in the room looked old, worn and out-dated, especially all of the fixtures and fittings (particularly in the bathroom which has to be at least 30 years old!!)
As for the claim on their website that "...all Deluxe Club Cottages feature a private terrace with lush garden view..", well, that was a joke. The front patio is tiny, has hardly any garden around it and we were right on the main path that leads to the restaurant,beach and pool. We were also right next to the very busy,noisy, main restaurant. No privacy or peace whatsoever!!!
If you look carefully on their website, amongst the pictures of renovated rooms, there is a picture of an older style room - this is obviously what we got. Makes you wonder how many of their rooms are actually (properly) renovated???
So, after about an hour of discussions, all they could offer us was a down-graded room which turned out to be much better quality. Pay less money, get a nicer room - figure that out??? However, in order to get this room, we had to sign a letter stating that we were not entitled to any refund for taking a cheaper room. We asked if we could have some sort of compensation in the form of a dinner,drinks etc but they wouldn't even give us that. A late check out on departure day? - again "no". Great customer service Mandira!!!
The resort as a whole has pros and cons.
Pros - breakfast was a good standard and lots of variety, location is great (near beach,shopping etc), staff very friendly and the new pool is fantastic if you have kids.
Cons- no matter how neat and tidy they keep grounds there is no hiding the fact that this is an old resort. So much of it is looking dated. It is also a family resort so is very crowded and noisy. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday this is not the place for you.
Our experience at Bali Mandira was a disappointing way to end our holiday, especially after we had such an great time the week before on Lombok.( our resort there, Qunci, was AMAZING and cost far less than the Mandira)
If Bali Mandira charged prices that reflected the true quality of their resort, then I would have been happy staying there. As it is, I can't recommend it and would never stay there again. There are far better and cheaper options around.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that is PROPERLY renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear DMJGJ,

Thank you for staying with us at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, and providing us feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to read that we were not able to meet your expectation. Your feedback is most valuable for us as this is the way we identify the area of improvement within our hotel.
Please allow me to reply to your feedback. Since its opening in 1981, the Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa has been renovated several times, soft renovations and improvements are going continuously. We have however always maintained the Classic Balinese feel that has become now iconic for us if not the destination, remaining true to our core values and preserving the culture of Bali. In fact we proudly emphasis this on our Website as a classic Balinese property with Modern Facilities. All photography is true and correct of the property including the rooms taken from different angles showcasing facilities, there maybe some slight variations on layout due to construction. All photography is up to date and changed immediately if area’s are enhanced further.
Sorry if you felt misled by the description of the private terrace on deluxe club cottage, with your feedback I and the team will go thru our description to ensure word for word they are true and correct in outlining the description of the various room categories.
We are very flexible with late check out as long as the room is available we will give , on this time around we were running full occupancy during your stay hence we couldn’t provide late check out for you.
Many thanks for the positive comments on our Food & Beverage and new Lagoon Pool facilities. Indeed we are a very busy property and with the addition of the new Lagoon Pool, and children’s Pool facilities we have attracted more families to come stay with us. We have planned for this and do offer an adult only Pool and area away form the hustle and bustle overlooking the property and Indian Ocean, I do hope you where able to experience this during your stay.
Whilst I can’t turn back time, I would very much like to be able redeem ourselves and please if your travels ever bring you this way again, please do reach out to me personally and I will ensure your experience the Bali Mandira is perfect, full of discovery.
Once again, on behalf of the entire team at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, I apologized for the less than satisfactory experience you encountered .


Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We my Elizabeth and me have stayed 4 years ago 2010 on our 30th wedding anniversary with familiy members of around 30 in total,we renewed our wedding vowels with @ typical Balinese style wedding ceremony ,dinner,Balinese dancing as well ,very well organised by resorts internal office personnel,we returned 2011,2013,2014 on vacation once again as the service we very good ,this is typically @ Balinese resort it's not @ hotel at all,it's clean on the surrounding grounds always gardeners there every day cleaning,trimming,maintenance people are sometimes digging up fitting pipes with minimal disruptions to guests,in fact we offered the workers cold drinks as the weather is generally around 30 degrees most days,the resort staff are always 100%very attentative will give additional pillows,water,toilet paper ect without questions ,the service is there always,beware you will need mozzie spray as in the night as the bites start sooner than later,when dinning outside,the pool is brand new and very inviting with swim out bar,sandy shore,lots of outdoor sun chairs,spa upstairs area pool is @ little run down decking needs renovation small bar man there to serve drinks,the beach is only fair as the rubbish drained out to the sea comes back to the shoreline ,downfall is racked up to the shore and left there for maybe someone to clean up one fine day,or maybe never,not sure why the piles are left there,I did take photos to maybe pass onto the right personnel,one fine day.Overall rating is great resort location Central,food is ample buffet breakfast same,cocktails,relaxing,riding ,surfing ,walking,sun baking ,dining,massages shopping,,taxi to nearby other places via this resort as they call up taxi for you it's always better safer,bluebird taxi is the only way to go,not bali taxi,watch the money changers as they can be a little short of correct change from Australian to rupiah............................we have stayed to other resorts as well in nusa dua,seminyak kuta,lots of choices all around,peaceful country all around.

Room Tip: We have stayed in higher level rooms ,also villa low ground level all same ,generally safe and sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Superior family room with a queen and 2 singles as per my request ( my boys 17yrs and 15yrs are way past sharing a bed). The room was clean, spacious, with a modern bathroom, comfortable beds too, as I struggle with hard mattresses. No balcony, but we were hardly in our room as the facilities and location were fantastic. Bali Mandira is a well set out establishment; don't be put off by reviews that may indicate one room is better located than another. Seriously I'm the biggest couch potato and could easily stroll from my room located at the 'back' of the resort, to the pool/beach/bar in the time it took me to think of what cocktail I was going to order.
My airline lost our luggage and the hotel staff were so helpful, phoning the airport multiple times on my behalf to enquire. We breakfasted in the Celagi restaurant and couldn't fault the variety and service. There are heaps of great places to eat nearby, the beach is only 15m from the front of the resort and the hotel drinks/snacks/meals were really well priced for a resort. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Delanie G,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family at Bali Mandira, and thank you for sharing your experience to others on Tripadvisor.
We were so happy to learn that your stay with us was perfect, and all aspects of the hotel surpass your expectation. The entire staff, in particularly the front desk staffs was thrilled to hear that you appreciated their little effort in assisting you to get back your lost luggage.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bali Mandira on your next visit to Bali.

Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A great hotel to stay in with assurances that the staff will look after all your holiday requirements with true professionalism and a genuine warmth. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts and dinners are good quality and not at all overpriced. Always something going on in the evenings whether it be the outdoor cinema or various theme dinners with entertainment. We recommend staying in a Deluxe Cottage and joining the Suling club for afternoon tea as well as happy hour for free cocktails, wine and other drinks with snacks. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: A Deluxe cottage is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMandiraGM, General Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Leona528,

Thank you for choosing Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write review on Tripadvisor.
It was delighted to learn that the overall of your stay was perfect, and you appreciated the unpretentious and professional services rendered by the staff. I assured your recommendation to stay in Deluxe Club Cottage is truly worth for other travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa in the future.

Kindest regards
Simon Dornan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#5 Spa Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#5 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Family Hotel in Legian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.