We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time to bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Kuta, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Legian
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“first time to bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time in Bali - stayed at the Bali Mandira. This resort helped us fall in love with Bali. The hotel is fantastic, great location & friendly, helpful staff.
LOCATION: Situated on the "closed off" beach road of Legian allows access to the beach, just across the road, and removes of the traffic noise, allowing you to relax and enjoy the beautiful garden setting
AMENITIES: We stayed in a Deluxe Club Cottage room and can highly recommend this style of room, great size, nice little courtyard and we loved the outdoor shower.
This accommodation give you access to the Club Lounge facilities, well worth a visit, especially at cocktail hour.
The new pool is amazing- everything has been thought of to keep both the kids and adults happy- sandy beach area, water slides, swim up bar and spas. There is also an adults only pool upstairs.
All of the restaurants were great- good variety of food on offer, especially for breakfast and dinners were tasty and reasonably priced.
STAFF: Every member of staff at the Mandira were helpful and friendly , could not do enough for you , making the entire experience of visiting Bali a memorable one.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a basic room if possible - Deluxe Cottage quite, spacious, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    293
    83
    28
    25
See reviews for
213
353
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Ok, the location of this hotel is good, right on the beach. Legian is a bit of a dump full of bars and tacky shops selling fake Australian rugby league jerseys. The real Bali it certainly is not.

If you like beaches full of parasols, loud music at the bars and tourist shops you will like the place but it wasn't for me.

The hotel itself is ok. The grounds are very nicely tended and the staff are excellent. Room walls are very thin so it sounds like your neighbours are in the room with you, not ideal if your neighbours are a noisy family (which in fairness, most families are).

It is probably more 3 - 3.5 star them 4. The grounds are nice, rooms very average and bathrooms more like 2 star.

If you are coming from Europe think tacky Spanish resorts, America tacky Mexican resorts and Oz.....well I think this is the Australian tacky resort.

For Australians, you will be disappointed by the beaches, ones in oz are much nicer.

We checked out after 2 nights (supposed to stay 8) and headed inland to see some of the real Bali. Much nicer.

All in all, very average.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Bali and we were feeling a little nervous but from the moment we arrived at Mandira we felt at ease. Everything about Bali mandira is fantastic from the location to the beautiful gardens and amazing pools. The staff are wonderful and could not do enough for us with special mention to Candra, we will definatley be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our first time over to Bali, we stayed 10 nights at Mandira & loved every moment.
Great location, staff very friendly & even better was the pool had just re-opened. What a great set up they have now.
We went looking for a place to get married next year & booked at Mandira.
Food was great, rooms had everything you need. Sercuirity where brilliant also.
we cant say enough great things about this hotel. Cant wait to be back next August for our wedding :)

Room Tip: we moved to a room with a balcony as we like sitting outside to relax also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after a trip to Jimburan. We chose this hotel for 2 main reasons:

Location - after a quiet time in Jimburan we wanted to see some hustle and bustle which made this a perfect location. You can walk to Padma street which is the Main Street and here there are a flurry of restaurants, places to shop for fakes and spas.

Value - this is one of the nicest places in Legihan and half the price. The Padma was double and residence from the hotel wished they chose the mandira.

On arrival we were told to wait for 1 hour as the room was late! We were given lunch and drinks to make up for it (nothing special as all guest were given this as the pool wasn't ready)

We had to move rooms however - the first room was a standard room and the bathroom was old, falling apart and smelt! I spoke to Maria who was lovley and we had an upgrade to a cottage which was lovely.

The adult pool is great, prime location for sun just need to be quick to get seats. The new pool is more for kids but a good feature.

The options to eat are good and the food isn't too bad for snacking.

Wifi is a bit temperamental. Short walk to the beach which is nice (50k for a sun bed all day).

Pros - location, price, space, adult pool, overall staff.

Cons - busy hotel, basic rooms are not as good as I hoped, Mosquitos everywhere!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just got back from an absolutely wonderful stay at this hotel. I highly recommend it.

The location is amazing as it's right between Kuta and Seminyak. Gives you access to both within walking distance. The beach behind the hotel (30 second walk) is the same beach as Kuta/Seminyak and is amazing. Crazy waves just 10 meters from shore, great sun.

The service of the hotel staff was outstanding as well. We had multiple strange requests due to items we didn't have (such as nail polish remover) and in every instance the hotel staff found the item we wanted and gave it to us for free.

We also needed a late check out because we had a flight at 9pm. The staff simply asked us "how late do you want to check out" and accommodated a very late check out for us at no additional charge.

We enjoyed a multi-hour spa treatment as well while at the hotel, and while I must say it's much more expensive than spa treatments just outside the hotel (I saw $4 an hour massages), however the quality is VERY high and the price still lower than any massage you can get in America or Europe.

The one downside is I would describe the food at the hotel as average. Since the pool was being renovated, dinner was served free of charge to all. This was a nice gesture to make up for the pool being down, however the food was nothing special. Was it horrible? No. However it is significantly below the flavor you can get at good restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As first time travellers to Bali, my husband and I had a great time staying at the Bali Mandira. The new pool wasn't finished but we knew that when we booked - no drama, there were two other pools to enjoy. The gardens are lovely and the rooms spacious. The staff are wonderful and looked after our every need, nothing was too much trouble. The location was great and we look forward to returning with our children!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian
Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Kuta, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.