We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O-CE-N: Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O-CE-N Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added O-CE-N Bali to your Saves list
O-CE-N Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Arjuna 88x, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly O-CE-N Bali by Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Legian
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“O-CE-N: Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

From the moment you arrive, the staff make you feel welcome. The security staff, the reception staff to the cleaners & gardeners strive to make your stay a pleasure. The grounds are clean, fresh & manicured. Each morning you are greated by friendly faces of all the staff, greetings come from each staff member that you see. The cleaning staff are quick & efficient. The dining staff in the bistro are friendly & discrete, making for a pleasureable breakfast. The concierge & reception staff are always on hand to ensure queries/concerns are dealt with quickly.
The 3 bdrm apartment was spacious, clean & well appointed. The bedroom was set up as requested for our needs.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and this Hotel. We are will definately be back.. we have been back home for less than 24 hours and we miss the staff & the O-CE-N already.
The only MINOR issue was that some of the staff had limited english, but when patient this can be overcome with the assistance of another staff member who is never far away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    216
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
199
136
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We booked a one bedroom suite for two nights after a friend recommended the outrigger chain... And we have never been so disappointed!

1. We had to carry our own luggage from the taxi to the lobby whilst 3 bell boys watched on doing nothing
2. Our check-in clerk was rude, he made us feel like he was doing us a favor for booking us in
3. Our shower knob broke and was stuck on hot... It took more than 20mins for staff to come and assess the problem - meanwhile the room was filled with steam
4. There was at least 10 staff on duty at breakfast - however not one offered us a seat or tea/coffee... The selection was small and the quality was so bad we wouldn't feed it to our dog
5. After we returned from a 4 hour shopping trip we come back to find our door was OPENED - the cleaners not only forgot to lock the door it was left opened!!!

After finding the room opened we complained to the manager. He didn't even apologise - instead he said he'd check with housekeeping. We hung up on him. After 30mins the manager came to our room and finall appoloise. The next day, two hours before we were due to check out, we received a half hearted appology letter and a spa voucher each to be used that day... We sealed the vouchers and apology letter along with a comment card saying that we did not want any freebies, we only wanted what we had paid for and we have never been treated so badly in any establishment.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Though the nice pictures of the hotel and it's location may trigger you to book for some night’s at this hotel, you will be facing a big disappointment. The atmosphere inside the hotel is nothing you expect from Bali. There is no garden nor anything green inside the hotel, which has the ambiance of a psychiatric clinic. The only view to the ocean (or outside the hotel’s walls) is once you’re on the balcony of it’s restaurant. The breakfast is very simple and the pool is everything except appealing. Worst of all, the (bath)room was just dirty! And if you’re looking for some good night rest, you need to bring earplugs with you, since the neighborhood bars and clubs are loudly to hear until the sunrise. If you insist to experience it yourself, please listen to my advice and book for one night only. If you like it, which I cannot imagine, you can always extend your stay for a good bargain. If not, the unfriendly staff at the reception will otherwise tell you that it’s not refundable and you’re forced to pay for the entire booking, even if you leave immediately.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

After readind the other reviews, we were slightly concerned about our choice...however no worries...the place was great. Check in was easy, the room on the ground floor was clean and modern, nice kitchen area....we had a two bedroom suite, so plenty of room for 4 people. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was fine...not much variation but the food was all good. the bar area was good for happy hour. We didn't eat at the restuarant, too many good places close by. Beach across the road, plenty of shopping around the cornerMinor issues, probably the pool, it's too deep for some...you really can't stand around in it and chat...and no pool bar, although some will see that as a bonus. Also there was noise from the nearby clubs, but not as bad as it was described by other reveiws. it may have been that we were on the ground floor

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I totally agree with review on 6 January. To walk to your room you need to cross the bridges from the restaurant or the reception. In doing this you walk pass guests at the pool and wet slippery tiles. This is the only way you can get to your room. The resort offers no privacy as rooms need to have their blinds down so other guests cannot see into their rooms. The pool is too small and didn't seem clean. I was also very sick during my stay and spoke to many other guests who were ill. The water from our taps stunk and water gushed through our glass sliding doors when it rainned and we used towels to soak it up as the room would have flooded. The staff were wonderful and checked on my health and the room flooding problem, the transport driver was fantastic. The restaurant food was lovely however there is only 3 unisex toilets for the entire eating and bar area. The resort is the most impractical design I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesmurdie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place 'looks' great but once you get there, it's not.
Firstly, there are stairs EVERYWHERE. From the front reception, you go up stairs, over a bridge across the pool and down the otherside. Not good if you have a wheelchair or pram etc. There are tiles everywhere which are super slippery when it rains or is wet. We nearly had a few accidents. The pool is long and deep, so you can't just stand in the pool and all hang out, you are either in or dangling off the side, hanging on. So people would tend to hang out in the small shallow kids pool. Which is too deep for little ones as most hotels have the 'baby pool'. The wood around the pool was dangerously hot in the heat. They often had no towels at the pool and no service. We too found out they had swarms of bees or wasps which became the afternoon hazard.

We had specifically ordered a ground floor 3 bedroom apartment which we paid $500+ a night and when we got there, we were on the 4th floor. Not good with a two year old, considering the patio balcony had at least a foot space from the floor to the glass balcony so the little one could easily slip underneath and be gone. Inside it too was all tiles and glass doors/windows everywhere. The apartment was 2 storey so not ideal for little ones and the complex didn't have anywhere for them to play or hang out safely. Because of the location and all the glass you have to listen to the club next door booming all night and the fireworks on the beach which can be incredibly loud.

We all got really sick (6 of us) and friends who visited at the same time and others we spoke to there ALL got sick too so we are seriously wondering if there were health issues with the food. Speaking of, Ive been to Bali before and I think this is the smallest breakfast buffet I've seen when it comes to variety.

The location of this place is central, the staff are amazing and great with the kids but the place itself just doesn't work. Worst of all, no swim up bar! :)
We will go back to the Sofitel instead!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We booked this hotel after walking past it in December 2009 - thought it would be amazing to stay at for New Years Eve as it overlooks the beach.

Location in relation to the beach is amazing, the Flying Fish restaurant does amazing food & so does their take away fish and chips shop downstairs (street front). It's close to a Special K, shopping, local restaurants & getting a taxi into Kuta is quite easily arranged.

The pool isn't really what you would call a pool, quite small in comparison to the rest of the complex, there is a shallower top level for the kids.

Location was great apart from it's surrounded by bars and clubs which don't close until the early hours. All you can hear is the bass from the club adjacent to the hotel. So be prepared not to get much sleep until 4am when they finally close.

We found all the staff very nice, our 2 bedroom room was lovely, bed was comfortable, kids had their own tv as well, room service was amazing (quick and delicious).

If you want clubs and bars then this hotel is for you .... however if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing break then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O-CE-N Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O-CE-N Bali

Address: Jalan Arjuna 88x, Legian, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly O-CE-N Bali by Outrigger)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#14 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#15 Family Hotel in Legian
#16 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — O-CE-N Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located between Seminyak and Legian Beach, the resort is unrivaled in style, design and beachfront location. O-CE-N Bali features lavishly appointed deluxe suites and elegant split-level penthouses with large private balconies. State-of-the-art entertainment systems, including flat-panel televisions, and high-speed internet access add to the resort's contemporary style. Be spoilt for choice with two swimming pools, beachfront fine dining, bistro and tapas bar, business centre, O-CE-N day spa and 24-hour concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O-CE-N Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o-Ce-n Bali By Outrigger Hotel Legian
Legian Outrigger
O-CE-N Bali Legian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O-CE-N Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.